Skip to main content

Ely Library at Westfield State University

Academic CalendarA-Z Offices & ServicesClass cancellationsBookstoreTechnology supportMy WestfieldEmail - studentsEmail - Faculty & staffPlato - Online learningEmloyee self-serviceReserve spaceLibrary homeWestfield State University home pageImage Map

Collection Guides: Westfield State University Student Government Association, 1925 - Present

Westfield State University Student Government Association, 1925 - Present

 

Westfield State University Archives

Student Government Association Collection

1925 – Present

­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­

Historical Sketch

The Student Government Association has a long standing tradition at Westfield State University, officially forming in September of 1925. The establishment of the first organization, which was called The Student Council, began after the third semester in 1925 when teacher supervision in the study hall was eliminated. Prior to this time there was no student  self-government.

With the guidance of Dr. Charles Russell, principal of the Westfield Normal School from 1925 - 1938, students began working to form a student government. Early in the fall of 1925, students Grace Soule and Rena Boush visited the Framingham Normal School to observe the workings and organization of their student government in order to have a framework to The Student Council.

 Shortly after Thanksgiving break in 1925 students elected members for a council which would propose a plan regarding membership for The Student Council. Class officers were elected before winter break and balloting for the other officers began as soon as students returned. Once all members were elected, the first officers of The Student Council were installed in an official ceremony held on March 23, 1926.

In the 1950's the group's name changed to the Student Senate, although the group's previous name was still widely used by students and faculty. In 1992 advisor Barbara Hand made the suggestion that the name be changed to the Student Government Association. This name change brought the Westfield State College group in line with the same groups at other state colleges.

Since the beginning of The Student Council the group has always provided a voice to students. They have had weekly meetings since 1926. Today's Student Government Association has evolved in a way that now allows students direct input into policy-making on our campus. Currently the organization has a role in over 40 committees on campus and members meet every Tuesday at 5:30 p.m.

Description

The collection includes minutes for the Student Senate, minutes for the Student Government Association, Student Senate Bulletins, handbooks, the Tabula Nova, and photographs. Included in this collection are newspaper clippings about various campus events that were sponsored by The Student Council, The Student Senate, and the Student Government Association.

Student Senate Bulletins from 1972 – 1973 (?) as well as the Tabula Nova which was a handbook published by the Student Senate during the 1975 – 1976 school year are included in this collection. The photographs in this collection were used in past yearbooks.

The minutes for the Student Senate and later the Student Government Association span the meetings held from the fall of 1990 and continue into the present. These documents are photocopies of the originals which are located in the Student Government Association office. These documents were photocopied and added to the archive in 2006. Starting in 2007 the minutes were put on the Student Government web site. The minutes are now printed from this web site.

Thank you to Timothy J. Schreiner for help with research this collection guide.

Arrangement

This collection is in various locations and is filed primarily by date.

Restrictions

Access must be in compliance with the Family Educational Rights and Privacy Act (FERPA).

Container List

Student Council, 1933 (photograph)

Student Senate (1970 – 1973)

 Student Senate (1970 primarily)

Tabula Nova 1975 – 1976 (handbook)

Student Senate Minutes, Fall 1990 - May 1998 (10 boxes of documents) note: These are copies of the documents that are in the Student Government Office.   

Student Senate Minutes, September 1998 - May 2007 (9 boxes of documents) note: These are copies of the documents that are in the Student Government Office.   

Tabula Nova, 1972 – 1973 (handbook)

Tabula Nova, 1973 – 1974

Related

WSC History 1950 – 1951 (announcement for Student Council President)

Triennials (postcard mailed to alumna)

Westfield Historical (Dance Card for Student Council Ball, June 3, 1955)

WSC Historical (Directory of Officers of Student Organizations)

Student Newspapers, Yearbooks, etc. (photograph of Student Council in 1938)

Photographs 1935 (Student Council 1935)

Scrapbook Number 2 - Photographs, 1926-1941

Photograph of Student Council, 1927

Photograph of Jeanette Rosengren Rep. to Student Council

Clipping about Student Council activities, 1928

Invitation to a dance with proceeds going to furnish the Student   Council  Room

Clipping about Student Council Activities

Invitation to Student Council Promenade, 1928

Scrapbook Number 5 - 1928-1931

Invitation to Student Council Promenade, 1930

Newspaper clipping about Student Council Election

Newspaper clipping about officers of the Student Council (2)

Invitation and dance card to the Student Council Promenade, 1932

Newspaper clipping about Student Council Promenade, 1932 (?)

Invitation to a “Get Acquainted Party” 1932

Scrapbook Number 8

Invitation to Miss Pratt (Librarian) from Student Council Treasurer to Halloween Masquerade, 1932 (?)

Program from Student Council Promenade, 1933

Invitation to Miss Pratt for Student Council Prom, 1934

Newspaper clipping, 1934 (Hospitality for Student Council Prom)

Newspaper clipping, 1934 (Student Council Prom)

Invitation to Miss Pratt for Student Council Prom, 1935

Program for Student Council Prom, 1935

Newspaper clipping, 1935 (Student Council Prom)

Scrapbook Number 10 - Training School Clippings, 1935-1940

Scrapbook Number 11 - 1936-1946

AFT (American Federation of Teachers) Local 2167 Newsletter Jan.,    1971 - Dec. 1973 (some Student Senate Bulletins, minutes and various memos)

 American Association of University Professors (A.A.U.P.) 1970 (Some Student Senate minutes)

 ACC Fall 1990 - Sp. 91 (All College Committee) (some correspondence)

 Faculty Papers 1990's (some correspondence)

Letters to the Faculty 1980's (some correspondence)

Non-Official Notices to Campus (most fac.) 1960's 1970's (correspondence, notice)

Salvidio 9/79 - 1/86 (some correspondence)

Memorandum 1972 - 1973, Harry Becker (some correspondence)

College Bulletins 1972-1973 (press release, some correspondence, Student Senate Bulletin number 1)

Memorandum (1975-1977) - Sept. 1973 - 1978, Randolph

Newspaper Clippings - Robert L. Randolph

Newspaper Clippings - Robert L. Randolph

Pilecki - January 1979 - January 1986

(Various Documents) (correspondence regarding faculty strike in 1970’s)

Inaugural Planning Committee – Buchen

Thank you to Irving Buchen from Student Senate

Photograph of Student Senate standing on Ely front steps

Correspondence about abolishing physical education requirement 1972.

Westfield State College 150th Anniversary and President Vicky Carwein - Installation, 2004 (Student Senate award to commend and thank the Westfield State College Board of Trustees for outstanding service

given to the students. April 28, 1987)

Thank you to Westfield State College Board of Trustees from the Westfield State College Student Senate, 1985-1986

Trustee Minutes, Agendas, etc. May 1990 (Student Senate Minutes, 1988 (one copy), Student Life Committee agenda, May 7, 1990, voting results )

 

Karen Canary

Page updated on June 20, 2018

577 Western Ave, Westfield, MA 01086

https://lib.westfield.ma.edu/home

Contact Us