Curt D. Robie Collection, 1941 – 1995
Curt Douglas Robie has been employed by Westfield State University for over 30 years. Dr. Robie graduated from Westfield State College in 1974 with a BA in Music. He began his career at Westfield State in 1981. In 1983 he was asked to serve as the Head of Residential Life. He later served as the Vice President of Facilities and Operations, a position that he holds today. On October 19, 2012 Dr. Robie was awarded the James C. Hagan Award. This award is presented for Dr. Robie’s outstanding service and support to the Westfield State University Athletic Program. Dr. Robie has served on the boards of Gateway Little League and Westfield Babe Ruth programs. Dr. Robie also submitted a grant proposal that resulted in the acquisition of a new weight room for the Westfield High School. Curt Robie lives in the town of Middlefield, Massachusetts where he serves as a reserve police officer.
In 19?? Mr. Robie attended the University of Massachusetts to pursue a Doctorate in Education. This collection of material was given to Curt Robie by the former Dean of Boston State College, Mr. Kermit C. Morrissey??. Mr. Robie and Kermit C. Morrissey were in a class together at the University of Massachusetts. Dr. Robie used some of this material for his doctoral dissertation.
Boston State College merged with the University of Massachusetts, Boston in 1981. The Boston State College campus closed in January 1982.
The University of Massachusetts, Boston designed a Boston State College Room on the second floor of the campus center in 2007. This room is used for meetings and other campus events. The walls are decorated with 5 large, themed collages that incorporate photographs and other memorabilia from Boston State College.
The Boston State College papers are held at the Joseph P. Healey Library, Archives and Special Collections Department at the University of Massachusetts, Boston.
John E. Moon was the Teacher’s Union President at the time of the merger.
The contents of the collection are in five archival cartons. Materials include: newspaper clippings from various sources about the closing of Boston State College, some correspondence from the leadership of the Massachusetts State College Association (MSCA Union) to the faculty and librarians at Boston State College from 1967-1981 concerning various topics; 2 letters from the Massachusetts State Employees Association from 1969; Correspondence from John E. Moon, President of the Boston State College Faculty Association during the merger with the University of Massachusetts, Boston; Report to the Boston State Faculty Association made by the Law Firm of Berlin, Clarey, Cohen and Green; Boston State College Annual Reports, 1976-1981; Boston State College Administrators Assessment Project, 1973; Boston State College Affirmative Action Procedure, 1974; Boston State College Information Services Department (Handbook), 1972; Boston State Coordinating Committee Emergency Bulletin, 1981-1982; Boston State College Catalog, 1966/1967, 1976/1977; 1977/1978; 1980/1982; Proposal for the Restructuring of Higher Education in the Boston Area; Report of the President, Boston State College, 1974; various college newspapers and various other reports and correspondence.
The last three boxes in this collection include additional Boston State College closure materials as well as documents from the statewide change to the professional sequence requirements for educators in the 1980’s. The statewide Plan for Renewal is included in this collection as well as the statewide master plan, 1973 and the campus response to this proposal. There are also materials documenting changes in higher education over the years such as, The Willis - Harrington Legislation Act, 1965; The Dover Project, 1970’s; Senator James E. Kelly’s report on the salaries and teaching loads of faculty in the Massachusetts State College System, 1975; A Faculty Toward Renewal, a faculty guided project aimed at improving the quality of higher education in Massachusetts State Colleges; Long Range planning by the Board of Regents in the 1980’s; Interim Report from the Task Force on Student Achievement and Effective Schools to the Massachusetts State Board of Education, 1982; Foundations for Excellence, by Franklyn G. Jenifer, 1986; The Year Ahead: An Agenda for Excellence, by Franklyn G. Jenifer, 1987; Blue Ribbon Commission Report on Trust Guidelines for College and University Presidents, 1989; Board of Regents Code of Conduct proposals, 1989; A Report Concerning the State Colleges of Massachusetts, Past, Present and Future, 1990; Report of the Commission on the Future of the State and Community College Systems, 1992; Recertification Guide for Massachusetts Educators, 1994; and Governor Weld and Lieutenant Governor Cellucci’s Downsizing Proposal, 1995.
The bulk of this collection’s arrangement has been kept as it was found. The materials were housed in archival cartons, acid free folders and paper clips and staples were removed. Some of this collection was arranged by date.
This collection is open for research and study. Access to this collection must comply with the copyright law of the United States (Title 17, U.S. code). Photocopying of this material is governed under this law and one of the specified conditions is that the photocopy or reproduction is not to be “used for any purpose other than private study, scholarship or research.” Westfield State University reserves the right to reject a copying order, if, in its judgment, fulfillment of the order would involve a violation of copyright law.
Massachusetts – State College, Boston ; Massachusetts State College System ; Education, Higher – Massachusetts – 20th Century ; Universities and colleges – Massachusetts – 20th Century ; Postsecondary education – Massachusetts – 20th Century
Updated September 2021