Westfield State University Archives
Collection Guide
All College Committee, 1980 – 1994
Historical Sketch
Westfield State University is one of seven institutions which comprise the former Massachusetts State College System. In October 2010 all Massachusetts State Colleges became universities.
All seven of the State Universities are administered by a Board of Trustees. As a branch of public higher education in Massachusetts, Westfield State University is administered by a local individual Board of Trustees which is authorized by the State Board of Regents, responsible for all components of the public higher education system.
The duties and responsibilities of the Regents are outlined in the general laws of the Commonwealth. Policies and procedures are part of the contractual agreement between the Board of Regents and the Massachusetts State College Association.
Campus administration is organized into two branches: (1) Excluded Employees, responsible to the President; and (2) Unit B-Administrators, responsible to one of the Excluded Employees. Administrative decision making involves these groups meeting with the President who in turn relates to officers of the faculty and student body to consult on mutual interests.
The university has an extensive hierarchical committee system providing governance among the three segments of the Westfield State University community: faculty, administrators, and students. The committee system is detailed and dictated by the Agreement. The All College Committee is the umbrella committee for all governance activities of the college. It is comprised of five students, five administrative and five faculty members. Faculty and student representatives are elected by their sub-groups. Administrators are appointed to the All College Committee by the President. Some of the standing committees of the All College Committee with direct involvement in the self-study area: the College Curriculum Committee, and the Academic Policies Committee.
Departmental administration is detailed by the Agreement. Duties and responsibilities of the department chairpersons and their selection are included in the Agreement. All academic issues and their selection are included in the Agreement. All academic issues and concerns are reported to the Vice President for Academic Affairs and then are forwarded to the appropriate governance committee of the All College Committee. The Vice President for Academic Affairs functions as the Academic Dean of the college and the Office of Academic Affairs is the administrative unit responsible for coordinating all teacher education programs. Department chairpersons, upon recommendation of the faculty advisors, recommend students completing approved programs of study for certification to the State Department of Education. The approval process at Westfield State University is coordinated in the Office of Academic Affairs with input from academic departments, the college registrar, cooperating practitioners and community agency personnel.
Listing of Westfield State College Governance Committees as of October 15, 2010:
Curriculum Committee
All College Committee
Graduate Council
Academic Policies
Student Affairs
Promotions
Teacher Ed. Council
Tenure Committee
WSC Foundation
Ad Hoc Committees:
Academic Dishonesty Committee
Academic Standing Committee
Alcoholic Beverages Review Board
Budget Committee
ROCC
Emeritus Committee
Enrollment Management Committee
Honorary Degree Committee
Honors Advisory Committee
Human Subjects Committee
Institutional Evaluation Committee
IT Steering Committee
Library Archives Committee
Parking Control Board
Parking and Traffic Appeals Board
President’s Council
Public Safety Review Committee
STARS Committee
Strategic Planning Committee
Student Conduct Board
Committee on Sustainability
Writing Liaison Volunteers
Special Committee on International Programs
Description
The All College Committee Collection spans the dates from 1984 – 1994 and 2004 - 2010. The archives staff is presently collecting agenda and minutes from current meetings. The 2004 - 2010 group includes tracking logs that document the new course proposals. These The 1984 – 1994 group includes agendas, minutes, correspondence and meeting packets that contain new course proposals and course changes that took place during this time period.
Arrangement
The collection is arranged by date.
Access Restrictions
None
Subjects
College trustees -- Massachusetts - Westfield State University ; Universities and colleges -- Administration -- Massachusetts -- Westfield State University ;
K. Canary
10/2010
