Westfield State University Archives

Collection Guide for

John C. Mortyko Collection, 1982 – 1997

Biographical Sketch

John Mortyko was born in Westfield, Massachusetts on August 20, 1945. He attended Westfield schools and then John worked for his family business, M and M Photography Services in Westfield for 17 years. He did work photographing items for the Caldor and Lechmere Department Stores as his career grew.

*He began his work in the Westfield State College as the Coordinator of Photography in Media Services in 1982. This department was responsible for photographing events held on campus for the college yearbook, Tekoa. John worked with Robert Mailoux and Mickey Curtis to bring the Tekoa to print each year from 1982-1996. Both John and Robert served as advisors for the Tekoa. John also took photographs for many other campus and alumni publications.  He advised the college newspaper, The Campus Voice. In 1987 John won the Administration Merit Award.

John taught classes in photography as an adjunct professor in the Communications Department. He taught the classes with Professor Ed Abar, from the Communications Department, for about six years. He also supervised the college dark room.

The Tekoa was dedicated to John in 1986 and 1993. He wrote a letter of congratulations to graduates in the 1992 Tekoa.

John died on November 12, 1997 and is buried at St. Mary’s Cemetery in Westfield, Massachusetts.

*Campus Voice, November 17, 1997 and November 24, 1997.

Description

This rich collection includes photographs from John’s work as well as older photographs of campus life and events from different eras. There are one carton of photographs and one archival box of photographs.

Provenance

A carton of photographs was donated by David Freid, Campus Photographer in about 2008. Another box of photographs was donated by Professor Pat Conant, in 2009. These photographs were given to Professor Conant by John Mortyko.

Arrangement

This collection is loosely arranged by date. Some of the photographs are undated and unidentified.

Access Restrictions

Access must be in compliance with the Family Educational Rights and Privacy Act (FERPA).

Related

Yearbook Collection, 1983-1997 ; The Voice, 1983-1997

Subject Headings

Mortyko, John C., 1942-1997 – Photographic collections ; Westfield State College – Periodicals ; College yearbooks ; Universities and colleges – Photographic collections

Please Note: Folder titles are available upon request.

k.canary, 08/31/2021