Westfield State University

Collection Guide

Theatre Arts Program Mainstage Productions, 1997-2010

Historical Sketch

The Theatre Arts Program at Westfield State University has a rich history. Since Normal School days, plays have been performed. The Westfield State University archives has scrapbooks and ephemera from the early plays that were performed for audiences in the past. This collection contains photographs and posters from the Theatre Arts Program’s more current plays.

Description

This collection contains photographs, posters and playbills from plays performed on campus.

Arrangement

This collection is arranged by date.

Access Restrictions

Access must be in compliance with the Family Educational Rights and Privacy Act (FERPA). The collection is open for study.

Provenance

This collection was donated over time by Megan Halfpenny, Class of 2013 and other performers from 2012-2014.

Subjects

Theatrical posters -- Massachusetts -- Westfield State College ; Theatre programs -- Massachusetts -- Westfield State College

List of Plays in this collection

The Beggar’s Opera — Spring 2010

Tartuffe by Moliere — Fall 2009

Three Sisters by Anton Chekhov, adapted by Brian Friel — Spring 2009

Coast of Utopia: Voyage, Part I by Tom Stoppard —Fall 2008

A Midsummer Night’s Dream by William Shakespeare — Spring 2008

Danton’s Death by Georg Buchner —Fall 2007

Wintertime by Charles L. Mee —Spring 2007

The Crucible by Arthur Miller — Fall 2006

The Cherry Orchard by Anton Chekhov — Spring 2006

The Importance of Being Earnest by Oscar Wilde —Fall 2005

Frankenstein or The Modern Prometheus, adapted from Mary W. Shelley's novel by Jack Shea  — Spring 2005

Life of Galileo by Bertolt Brecht  — Fall 2004

R.U.R. (Rossum's Universal Robots) by Karel Capek  — Spring 2004

Doctor Faustus by Christopher Marlowe  — Fall 2003

Iphengia at Aulis by Euripides —Spring 2003

Trojan Women by Euripides — Spring 2003

Knuckle by David Hare — Fall 2002

Deirdre, adapted from the Celtic myth by Joan Mento  — Spring 2002

Uncle Vanya by Anton Chekhov — Fall 2001

The Devils by John Whiting — Spring 2001

The Visit by Friedrich Duerrenmatt  — Fall 2000

Raised in Captivity by Nicky Silver  — Spring 2000

Simpatico by Sam Shepard  — Fall 1999

Spreading the News by Lady Augusta Gregory — Spring 1999

Riders to the Sea by John Millington Synge  — Spring 1999

The Grapes of Wrath, adapted from John Steinbeck's novel by Frank Galati — Spring 1998

The Dining Room by A.R. Gurney  — Fall 1997

k.canary, 09/01/2020

Updated September 2021