Foreign Affairs Online
Massive site with several thousand links to sites on International law, International Relations, and U.S. Foreign Policy. Sections include: General Reference, Map resources, U.S. Government, Foreign States, U.N. System, NGO & IGOs, International Law, Human Rights, International Relations, Think Tanks, and Media.
Council on Foreign Relations
A non-partisan organization dedicated to the discussion of foreign policy issues. The content includes policy analysis articles, reports, news, interviews, task force reports, and briefings written by Council members. Council members include government officials, members of Congress, and journalists. Publications can be browsed by issue, region, or publication type.
Foreign Relations of the United States
The Foreign Relations of the United States series contains official documents relating to U.S. foreign policy decisions and major diplomatic activity. Some volumes are available online at this web site.
United Nations Audiovisual Library of International Law
From the United Nations, a library of international legal materials, including treaties, lectures, research guides, and more. The Historical Archives has topic categories to browse for historical documets. The Lecture Series includes video and audio files discussing international legal topics such as disaster prevention, international civil aviation, migration law, and armed conflict. The Research Library povide links to treaties, jurisprudence, scholarly reports, and more off-site.
Vincent Ferraro, Resources for the Study of International Relations and Foreign Policy
From Vincent Ferraro, a professor of international politics at Mount Holyoke College, a website featuring content on topics relating to foreign relations. Webpages include primary source documents, reports and speeches by Ferraro, and excerpts from books and journal articles on topics such as Vietnam, NATO, the Cuban Missile Crisis, and more.
The Stanley Foundation
A non-partisan foundation dedicated to discussing global and regional policy issues. The site offers policy briefs, articles, and reports on these issues, as part of initiatives to analyze U.S. policy and potential solutions.
Center for Strategic & International Studies (CSIS)
The CSIS is a bipartisan organization dedicated to analyzing global issues and events. The Center proposes reforms and solutions for U.S. policy regarding security, energy, global health, and international economics and finance. Content includes reports, newsletters, congressional testimony, and audio/video transcripts of speeches and programs.
FIRST: facts on international relations and security trends
A website from the Stockholm International Peace Research Institute providing data and information on the political, economic, and military makeup of countries. The military and security data includes summaries of conflicts, maps, expenditures, and nuclear capability. The information is drawn from a number of international governmental agencies and organizations. Select a country, and then check off a topic "database" below to access documents.
Carnegie Endowment for International Peace
The website for the Carnegie Endowment for International Peace, a non-profit organization dedicated to peace and international relations among nations.
The website features analysis by "experts", including visiting scholars and scholars in residence. Users can browse the resources by topic, expert, or region. The resources include policy briefs, discussion transcripts, video, reports, and editorials.
United States Institute of Peace
A nonpartisan federal organization, the U.S. Institute of Peace was created to "help prevent and resolve violent conflicts, promote post-conflict stability and development, and increase peacebuilding capacity, tools, and intellectual capital worldwide". The website for the Institute features special reports, briefings, working papers, and interviews related to the topic of peace and conflict worldwide. The publications can be browsed by region or searched by a site search engine. Most of these publications are available online from the site, while books are available for purchase.
From the U.S. Department of State, a website featuring snapshot information on the political, economic, and foreign relations of "independent states, some dependencies, and areas of special sovereignty". Browsable by country/state, each webpage contains basic statistics on health, economy, and education, as well as narrative sections on the political conditions and foreign relations of each location.
The WWW Virtual Library: International Affairs Resources
Over 2000 international affairs websites grouped by country, region, organization, and topic.
United Nations Documentation: Research Guide
Guides the researcher working with various types of documents and publications issued by the UN. Describes the different types of documents, symbols used in documents, and the structure of documents.
UNESCO Documents and Publications
Search this database to find full text files and bibliographic records for UNESCO (United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization) documents and publications, and bibliographic records for UNESCO Library acquisitions.
Center for Global Development
The Center for Global Development is "an independent, not-for-profit think tank that is dedicated to reducing global poverty and inequality and to making globalization work for the poor". The Center's website features reports, working papers, data sets, and brief on topics such as Debt Relief, Economic Growth, Governance/Democracy, Migration and Population, Globalization, and more. A search engine is available to find documents on the site. The site also features blogs on topics in Global Development.
Canadian International Council (CIC)
Provides links to numerous sites and focuses on examining global issues through a distinctively Canadian lens, the CIIA contributes a unique perspective on Canada's place in the world.
A website from a global organization dedicated to fighting corruption. The site features reports on the existence of corruption in humanitarian assistance, oil and gas companies, education, and more, as well as a yearly global corruption report.
Global Policy Forum
This organization "monitors the work of the United Nations and global policy-making". The site features policy papers, articles and statement that can be searched or browsed by categories such as Globalization, NGO's, Iraq Conflict, World Food & Hunger, Humanitarian Intervention, and more.
Political Database of the Americas
The database provides documentary and statistical information on Latin American politics. It includes information on constitutions, electoral laws, governing institutions and election data. It is intended to serve as a resource for the study of democracy in Latin America. From the Center for Latin American Studies, Unit for the Promotion of Democracy, a joint operation of Georgetown University, Organization of American States, and Canadian Foundation for the Americas.
Center for World Indigenous Studies
The Center for World Indigenous Studies is an "idependent non-profit research and education dedicated to wider understanding and appreciation of the ideas and knowledge of indigenous peoples and the social, economic and political realities of indigenous nations." The site offers newsletters, research reports, and issues of the Fourth World Journal, a periodical discussing issues such as the environment, social change, political change, the creative arts, and more.
INCORE Internet Country Guides
Information about internet resources on conflict and ethnicity specific to particular countries and regions.