This general database is a great place to start. Look for the "full text" and "scholarly journals" check boxes to help limit your search.
The world's largest scholarly, multi-discipline, full text database designed specifically for academic institutions. With a collection of 4,000 peer-reviewed, scholarly full text journals, this database offers critical information from many sources found in no other database. The database includes full-page images as well as color embedded images. Scholarly, full text resources are provided for nearly all academic areas of study: social sciences, humanities, education, computer sciences, engineering, language and linguistics, arts literature, medical sciences, and ethnic studies. Search Guide|Video Tutorial
Covers 1972 to present with references to more than 625,800 journal articles, books, government documents, statistical directories, grey literature, research reports, conference reports, publications of international agencies, microfiche, Internet material, and more. Publications from over 120 countries are included. In addition to English, some of the indexed materials are published in French, German, Italian, Portuguese, Spanish, and other languages. The PAIS Archive database comprises a retrospective conversion of the PAIS Annual Cumulated Bulletin, Volumes 1-62, published 1915-1976. PAIS Archive contains over 1.23 million records. Search Guide
Provides access to backfiles of selected scholarly journals
A full-text collection in PDF format of retrospective issues from 162 scholarly journals of prime importance in their fields. Subject coverage includes African-American Studies, Anthropology, Asian Studies,Ecology and Botany, Economics, Education, Finance, General Science, History, Literature, Mathematics, Philosophy, Political Science, Population/ Demography, Sociology, and Statistics. Dates of coverage: Varies depending on journal title; most have a moving wall that excludes the most recent 2-5 years of coverage. Includes Early Journal Content published prior to 1923 in the United States and prior to 1870 elsewhere - nearly 500,000 articles from 218 journals.
CQ Researcher, published by Sage Press, present reports on important social and political issues. The reports are a good place to familiarize yourself with a topic and find further sources of information.
Provides access to over 460 leading political science and international relations journals including the full-text of 430 core titles, many of which are indexed in Worldwide Political Science Abstracts. Coverage of the literature of political science and international relations includes topics such as comparative politics, political economy, international development, environmental policy, and hundreds of related topics. Search Guide | Video Tutorial
Scholarly journals are written by and for people who have experience and expertise in a discipline or field. The articles in scholarly journals are often peer-reviewed, meaning that other experts in the field review the articles before they are published. Scholarly journals present original research, new theories, and critiques of theories and research. Some articles review the research in a particular field.
How do you know an article is from a peer-reviewed, scholarly journal? Some databases provide you with the choice of limiting your search to such journals - but be careful! Not all articles in a peer-reviewed scholarly journal are peer-reviewed. Some are editorials and book reviews. If you want to include scholarly journal articles in your paper, it is up to you to determine whether they are peer-reviewed. Here are some questions to ask when determining whether an article is from a scholarly journal:
What is the purpose of the publication? Are the articles written by experts, for experts?
Are the authors' names listed along with their degrees, titles, or other credentials along with the names of the institutions with which they are affiliated (particularly colleges, universities, and research institutes)?
Does the article include footnotes, a bibliography, or list of references?
Does an abstract or summary of the article appear before the article itself begins?
Is the periodical published or sponsored by a scholarly society or organization? (for example, the American Political Science Association, the Modern Language Association)
Does the periodical title contain the words Journal, Studies, Research, or Review?
Are there submission guidelines in the journal that describe a peer-review process?
If all of these elements are present, the article is very likely to be from a scholarly journal. If you aren't sure, you can always ask a librarian!