Skip to Main Content

MyLibraryAccount Email myWestfield PLATO/Online

Political Science

Executive

The White House
Official site of the President of the United States
more...less...
The official White House website contains videos of President Obama's speeches and weekly addresses as well as general information about current issues, legislation, and public policy.
Presidential Documents
This compilation of presidential documents is published and updated weekly by the U.S. Government Printing Office.

Legislature

Congress.gov This link opens in a new window
Information from the U.S. Congress. Includes bills, resolutions, votes, the Congressional Record, and calendars.

The General Court of the Commonwealth of Massachusetts (the legislature)
Includes the Constitution, laws, bills, and information on legislators and districts.

Judiciary

Historic Supreme Court Decisions
From Cornell University's Legal Information Institute.
Great American Court Cases
From Credo Reference
Collins Dictionary of Law
The Supreme Judicial Court of Massachusetts
Includes decisions, docket search, statistics, and more.

International

World Factbook This link opens in a new window
Provides basic reference information for all countries on form of government, branches of government, political parties, pressure groups, as well as economic, military, and transnational issues.

General Reference Sources

Blackwell's Dictionary of Political Science

Government Documents

USA.gov
Search engine retrieving documents and websites from all government sites

U.S. Government Publishing Office
Links to collections as well as FDSYS, a search engine for government publications