Skip to main content

Ely Library at Westfield State University

Academic CalendarA-Z Offices & ServicesClass cancellationsBookstoreTechnology supportMy WestfieldEmail - studentsEmail - Faculty & staffPlato - Online learningEmloyee self-serviceReserve spaceLibrary homeWestfield State University home pageImage Map

Westfield State University Archives: Home

University Archives

 The purpose of the Westfield State University Archives is to actively collect, document and preserve the history of the University.

The scope of the University Archives includes selected University publications, faculty and student publications, institutional and academic documents, University Committee records, Board of Trustee records,  administrative records, photographs, publicity, and student life records.

The Westfield State University Archives was established in 1975 by Dr. Robert T. Brown, Emeritus Professor of History. Together with Raymond G. Patterson, retired chair of the History Department, they created the Archives we know today.

The University Archives contains material that is of use to students, faculty, staff, researchers and alumni. Included in our collections are yearbooks, photographs, clipping files and scrapbooks and other material all related to university life from its beginning to the present day.

Westfield State University Archives

Guidelines for Use

 

As a cultural research repository at a public university, Westfield State University Archives encourages the use of its materials by students, scholars, faculty, staff and members of the public. To protect our materials and ensure their longevity as well as allowing library staff the opportunity to meet user needs equitably, we have developed the following guidelines.

  1. University departments and offices: telephone and e-mail reference service will be provided within reasonable limits. In the case of complicated and/or lengthy requests, Archives staff will provide advice and assistance in identifying appropriate sources and request that departmental staff visit the Archives.
  2. Due to limited staffing Westfield State University Archives staff is unable to assist with production of displays and other types of public exhibits. Please use the Copy Center form for reproduction purposes.  Go to the Copy Center Storefront
  3. We have many digital resources to help you with your search for information about our graduates, past coursework and information about student life:

Our catalogs and bulletins date from 1844 to 2013. Many of the early catalogs have names in them as well as pictures in the later editions. Click here to see the Catalogs and Bulletins, 1844-2013

If you have a person that you are searching for in the early normal school era, the General Catalog 1839 – 1889 is a good place to look. There are names as well as limited information about some individuals here.

Our yearbooks are online and are a good source of information about campus life. To see our yearbooks click here: The Tekoa from 1909 – 2002

  1. Due to limited staffing Westfield State University Archives staff is unable to do genealogical research for patrons. We have some genealogical resources in our collections but they are limited. There are many organizations that can help with genealogy. Please click here to see the Guide for Genealogy
  1. If you want to see all of our holdings, click here to see our Holdings List. Press Control + F to get a search box. Type in your query and hit enter. You may send an email or call to see the material you wish to study.

 

kcanary 11/12/2019

 

Directions

Westfield State University Archives are located on the sixth floor of the Ely Library. Our hours are Monday through Friday from 9:00 a.m. until 5:00 p.m. Please call 413 - 572 - 5281 for an appointment.

For driving directions and a downloadable campus map click here:

https://www.westfield.ma.edu/map-directions

 

Archives Assistant

Karen Canary's picture
Karen Canary
Contact:
Phone: 413-572-5281

Archives Appointment

577 Western Ave, Westfield, MA 01086

https://lib.westfield.ma.edu/home

Contact Us