Skip to main content

Ely Library at Westfield State University

Academic CalendarA-Z Offices & ServicesClass cancellationsBookstoreTechnology supportMy WestfieldEmail - studentsEmail - Faculty & staffPlato - Online learningEmloyee self-serviceReserve spaceLibrary homeWestfield State University home pageImage Map

Westfield State University Archives: Faculty Guidelines

Faculty guidelines for use with classes.

Faculty Guidelines

Faculty Guidelines for Class Use of the Westfield State University Archives

 

Due to the space and staffing limitations of the University Archives, Ely Library cannot support individual or small group appointments for an entire class.* Physical materials may be brought to a meeting of the whole class following the guidelines below. Digital collections may be used by individuals and small groups, as they can be accessed from anywhere. Class sessions and assignments should be designed with these limitations in mind. Karen Canary’s extension is 5281 and her email is kcanary@westfield.ma.edu.

  • Instructional requests requiring use of the University Archives should be made at least three weeks in advance. Requests should be directed to Karen Canary, the Archives Assistant. The syllabus and assignment must be provided when requesting the session so that staff have enough time to identify and pull materials.
  • If you are unsure what materials will be needed, you will need to discuss this with the Archives Assistant before the class can be scheduled to ensure the request is one staff can reasonably handle.
  • Classes meet in the library classroom on the mezzanine, and archives materials will be brought to the classroom for use
  • It is expected that the faculty member requesting the session will be present for the session. There will also be two library staff members present, including the Archives Assistant, to help ensure proper use of materials. Students must be provided with the Archives Use Requirements before class. This brief document is available from the Archives Assistant. The document will be reviewed in class before students are allowed to handle archival materials.
  • The library seeks to preserve materials by using digital content where possible. Faculty are encouraged to use our digital collections in lieu of the physical materials to preserve the originals for future use.

*This does not preclude individual appointments where the entire class is not expected to make such appointments.

577 Western Ave, Westfield, MA 01086

https://lib.westfield.ma.edu/home

Contact Us