LibGuides: Faculty QuickStart Guide: Streaming Video Collections

Streaming Collection Overview

Streaming Video Collections- Updates for Spring 2024

JoVE, The Journal of Visualized Experiments, has been cancelled effective 12/31/23.

Our unlimited access streaming collections include Digital Theatre+, Films on Demand, Psychotherapy.net, Metropolitan Opera Online, and Counseling & Therapy in Video, as well as any video found within ProQuest or EBSCOHost databases.

Kanopy Streaming Media incurs a $150 charge per video for one year of access, and there is a limited budget for the resource. If you choose to use a Kanopy video in your class, you will need to request it every year. The fastest way to request a film is to fill out the request form from within the Kanopy website. Requests should be made at least 5 business days in advance, as it may take several days to process the request. The library will not automatically renew licenses on the Kanopy platform and will not purchase films licenses based on student request. Kanopy videos are not available by searching the library's catalog; they must be searched directly on the Kanopy website.

New Resources for 2024:

Digital Theatre+ This link opens in a new window

Includes video of over 900 live full length productions – including Digital Theatre’s own recordings alongside collections from the likes of the BBC, Royal Shakespeare Company, Broadway Digital Archive, Royal Opera House, London Symphony Orchestra, as well as in-depth interviews with industry professionals including actors, directors as well as all backstage staff: lighting technicians, fight coordinators, stage managers et al.
Includes video of over 900 live full length productions – including Digital Theatre’s own recordings alongside collections from the likes of the BBC, Royal Shakespeare Company, Broadway Digital Archive, Royal Opera House, London Symphony Orchestra, as well as in-depth interviews with industry professionals including actors, directors as well as all backstage staff: lighting technicians, fight coordinators, stage managers et al.

Films on Demand

Films On Demand This link opens in a new window
A Web-based digital video delivery service that provides more than 10,000 streaming videos and more than 100,000 video clips anytime, anywhere. The videos provide than 4,800 hours of high-quality educational content in dozens of subject areas. Special features allow users to organize and bookmark clips, create and share playlists, and personalize folders.
A Web-based digital video delivery service that provides more than 10,000 streaming videos and more than 100,000 video clips anytime, anywhere. The videos provide than 4,800 hours of high-quality educational content in dozens of subject areas. Special features allow users to organize and bookmark clips, create and share playlists, and personalize folders. A tutorial, including step-by-step instructions on how to Create Playlists, is here.

Kanopy Streaming Video

The Kanopy platform provides access to hundreds of educational videos and feature films through a pay-as-you-go model. Ely Library has a set budget for this service.

Ely Library provides Kanopy video access by faculty request only. This so that the library can provide videos that support faculty teaching while controlling costs and ensuring that access to videos is not shut down abruptly. Due to the costs associated with licensing Kanopy films, the library cannot support requests that primarily serve professional development or other non-instructional uses.

At the beginning of each semester, the library sends out a list of the current Kanopy licenses, along with their expiration dates.
To access a licensed film beyond the expiration date listed, send an e-mail to Becca Brody at rbrody@westfield.ma.edu, indicating which film should be extended. If you will not need the film until a month or more after the expiration, see the next bullet.
For currently unlicensed films, faculty will need to fill out the request form on the Kanopy website for the film 1-2 weeks before the film is needed.
The library will only license films by faculty request. Student requests will be declined with a note to contact their professor.
The library sets a budget for Kanopy Streaming and, if demand outstrips the budget, we may not be able to accommodate all requests.

**If you use Kanopy videos in your classes, you will need to ensure a license is active before assigning videos to students or screening them in class. Ely Library cannot guarantee same-day access to expired videos.

Digital Theatre+

Digital Theatre+ This link opens in a new window
Includes video of over 900 live full length productions – including Digital Theatre’s own recordings alongside collections from the likes of the BBC, Royal Shakespeare Company, Broadway Digital Archive, Royal Opera House, London Symphony Orchestra, as well as in-depth interviews with industry professionals including actors, directors as well as all backstage staff: lighting technicians, fight coordinators, stage managers et al.

Includes video of over 900 live full length productions – including Digital Theatre’s own recordings alongside collections from the likes of the BBC, Royal Shakespeare Company, Broadway Digital Archive, Royal Opera House, London Symphony Orchestra, as well as in-depth interviews with industry professionals including actors, directors as well as all backstage staff: lighting technicians, fight coordinators, stage managers et al.

Psychotherapy.net

We have access to two Psychotherapy.net collections.

Psychotherapy.net Essential Collection This link opens in a new window
Ely Library provides access to a collection of 50 psychotherapy & counseling videos selected based on faculty input and past use. These videos cover a variety of topics, including addiction, anxiety, family therapy, trauma, and more.
Ely Library provides access to a collection of 50 psychotherapy & counseling videos selected based on faculty input and past use. These videos cover a variety of topics, including addiction, anxiety, family therapy, trauma, and more.
Psychotherapy.net Classic Collection on Alexander Street Press This link opens in a new window
Contains 200 classic videos from Psychotherapy.net. These up-to-date applied training and research materials are curated and developed to meet the educational and research needs of a variety of counseling curricula.

Met Opera On Demand

Met Opera On Demand This link opens in a new window
Met Opera on Demand provides unlimited streaming of more than 700 full-length Metropolitan Opera performances.

Alexander Street Press Therapy Video Collections

Counseling and Therapy in Video This link opens in a new window
This series contains more than 2,400 hours of footage from actual therapy sessions, training videos, and reenactments conducted by counseling professionals
More than 350 titles. providing a rich online collection of video available for the study of social work, psychotherapy, psychology, and psychiatric counseling. The collection's wealth of video and multiplicity of perspectives allow students and scholars to see, experience, and study counseling in ways never before possible. The suite of tools—searches and browses powered by Semantic Indexing™ and searchable transcripts synchronized to video—give the ability to drill down in seconds to find the footage of interest from hundreds of hours of video. Video Tutorials
Psychotherapy.net Classic Collection on Alexander Street Press This link opens in a new window
This collection includes 200 classic videos from Psychotherapy.net.
Contains 200 classic videos from Psychotherapy.net. These up-to-date applied training and research materials are curated and developed to meet the educational and research needs of a variety of counseling curricula.

ProQuest Multimedia

Some ProQuest Databases include both audio and video content, including podcasts and excerpts from news and educational programming.

Select "Videos & Audio" on the Basic Search screen, or select "Source Type: Audio & Video Works" from the Advanced Search screen to locate this content.

ProQuest (all databases and Ebooks) This link opens in a new window
This link will search across all ProQuest databases. For links to individual, subject-specific ProQuest databases, please see the Databases A-Z list.
This link will search all ProQuest Collections, including ebook, journal, newspaper, and multimedia content.

Ely Library at Westfield State University

Faculty QuickStart Guide: Streaming Video Collections