LibGuides: Education Resources Center: Databases

Databases for Classroom and Children's Use

Databases for Children

Primary

Primary Search Online This link opens in a new window Designed for elementary schools and children's reading rooms, this database includes: searchable full text of articles, reports and special issues from over 50 of the most popular K-12 magazines. All full text articles are assigned a reading level indicator (Lexiles). Full text is available for over 100 pamphlets plus children's encyclopedias and reference resources such as: The Encyclopedia of Animals, Funk Wagnalls New Encyclopedia, American Heritage Children's Dictionary 3rd edition, The World Almanac for Kids, and other resources.
Gale In Context: Elementary This link opens in a new window
Meets the research needs of students in Kindergarten through Grade 5. It provides a developmentally appropriate, visually graphic interface, a subject-based topic tree search, and a 5-year backfile that offers relevant and manageable results lists.
Included are 100 full-text, age-appropriate, curriculum-related magazines, newspapers, over 3,000 searchable, indexed images, and reference content from Blackbirch Press and other publishers that supports the K-5 curriculum including: Kidbits, 2nd Ed., The Blackbirch Encyclopedia of Science and Invention, The Blackbirch Kid's Almanac of Geography, The Blackbirch Kid's Visual Reference of the World, The Blackbirch Kid's Visual Reference of the States, The Columbia Encyclopedia, 6th Edition, and Merriam-Webster's Elementary Dictionary.

Middle School

Middle School (Gale in Context) This link opens in a new window
Gale in Context: Middle School
Funk & Wagnalls New Encyclopedia This link opens in a new window
Funk & Wagnalls New World Encyclopedia database covers an array of topics, meeting the research needs of elementary, middle and high school students. Full text for each record may be easily accessed by double clicking on the topic from the display. The database contains images, brief biographies as well as information in a variety of subject areas.

High School

MAS Ultra: School Edition This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive general reference database designed for high school libraries. All full text articles are assigned a reading level indicator (Lexiles). Database includes full-text biographical, primary documents in American History, pamphlets, and reference resources, and more.
Gale OneFile: High School Edition This link opens in a new window
Now with over 1100 titles, cross searchable with E-Books, this periodical database is designed for high-school students with access to a variety of indexed and full-text magazines, newspapers, podcasts, and reference books for information on current events, the arts, science, popular culture, health, people, government, history, sports and more.

Teaching Resources

TeachingBooks.net This link opens in a new window
Resource includes meet-the-author movies, book readings, and interviews among thousands of resources about fiction and nonfiction books used in the K–12 environment. Every resource has been selected to encourage the integration of multimedia author and book materials into reading and library activities.

The Idea Book for Educators
School Arts
Sign up for free access to this digital magazine of "lessons and articles written for art educators by art educators."
Edutopia: Grades K-2
Edutopia: Grades 3 - 5 (Upper Elementary)
Edutopia: Grades 6 - 8
Edutopia: Grades 9 - 12
Learning for Justice
Created by the Southern Poverty Law Center

Subject Specific

These databases cover magazines and journals specificially related to education theory and research.

ERIC (EBSCO Version) This link opens in a new window
This primary education database provides access to research from journals and unpublished documents, and including some full text of articles, documents and digests.

Using the ERIC Thesaurus

ProQuest Education Journals This link opens in a new window Contains the full text of almost 400 of the leading journals in the education field covering the literature on primary, secondary, and higher education topics. Indexes more than 500 journals.
Professional Development Collection This link opens in a new window Provides a specialized collection designed for professional educators. This collection covers more than 240 full text journals on a broad range of topics, from children's health and development to cutting-edge pedagogical theory and practice. The Professional Development Collection includes back files to 1990 plus abstract and index coverage for over 330 well known professional development titles and searchable full text for over 240 journals covering the most current topics in education.
Teacher Reference Center (TRC) This link opens in a new window Provides indexing and abstracts for more than 270 titles from the most popular teacher and administrator trade journals and periodicals. This database provides coverage on key education topics such as Assessment, Continuing Education, Current Pedagogical Research, Curriculum Development, Instructional Media, Language Arts, Literacy Standards, Science Mathematics, and more for K-12 Teachers Librarians.
NBER Working Papers on Economics of Education This link opens in a new window
Analyzes numerous aspects of the virtual circle between economic analysis and policy innovation because economics is the inspiration for, or intertwined with, many policies: school choice, accountability, savings and aid plans for college, incentive pay for teachers, reducing the barriers of entry into teaching, and so on.
Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
This database will provide background information on many topics related to Education.

Search for Videos

Films On Demand (Education Titles)
more...less...
A Web-based digital video delivery service that provides streaming videos video clips anytime, anywhere. The videos provide high-quality educational content in dozens of subject areas, including Classroom Management, Curriculum, Foundations, Special Education, and more. Special features allow users to organize and bookmark clips, create and share playlists, and personalize folders.