LibGuides: Music Subject Guide: Databases

Music Specific Databases

Fine Arts Collection This link opens in a new window
Gale Fine Arts Collection database contains millions of articles about drama, music, art history, and film-making. Diverse resource for fine arts students.
Met Opera On Demand This link opens in a new window
Access full-length Metropolitan Opera performances, including videos from the Met’s Live in HD series of movie theater transmissions, telecasts from the 1970s, ‘80s, and ‘90s, and radio broadcasts dating back to 1935.

All videos include English subtitles, and recent HD videos include subtitles in French, German, Italian, Portuguese, Russian, Spanish, and/or Swedish. Every opera includes an English synopsis, and synopses in multiple languages are available for many operas. New titles are added every month, with most of the Met’s Live in HD programs coming online a few months after their live transmission date.
Music and Performing Arts This link opens in a new window
Music and Performing Arts is a comprehensive database of streaming audio, video, reference, and scores. Music and Performing Arts database cross-searches multiple music databases published by Alexander Street Press, providing access to audio and visual content that spans all time periods, numerous seminal artists, composers, choreographers, ensembles, and more.
Music Online: African American Music Reference This link opens in a new window
Contains 50,000 pages that offers the first comprehensive coverage of blues, jazz, spirituals, civil rights songs, slave songs, minstrelsy, rhythm and blues, gospel, and other forms of black American musical expression. This release includes 3,171 essays and images from 80 sources.
Music Online: Classical Music Reference Library This link opens in a new window
Integrates more than 30,000 pages of essential reference materials, spanning the entire history of Western classical music, in a unified online database. Included are the authoritative reference titles Baker's Dictionary of Music, Baker's Biographical Dictionary of Musicians, Baker's Student Encyclopedia of Music, and Women Composers which are available for the first time in electronic form. This release includes 26,774 essays and images from 22 sources.
Music Online: Classical Scores Library This link opens in a new window
Contains 209,140 pages of the most important classical scores and manuscripts, allowing for the study and analysis of more than 15,000 scores. This release includes 11,987 scores.
Music Online: Garland Encyclopedia of World Music Online This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive online resource devoted to music research of all the world's peoples. More than 9,000 pages of material, combined with entries by more than 700 expert contributors from all over the world. This release includes 1,210 essays and images from 10 sources and hundreds of streaming audio examples to accompany the text.
Naxos Music Library This link opens in a new window
Offers the complete Naxos, Marco Polo and Da Capo catalogues as well as Jazz and World music and educational products. Naxos has valid licenses with all international public-performance societies allowing Naxos to stream in-copyright musical works. Genres covered include: Classical Music; Contemporary Jazz; Jazz / Folk / Blues Legends; Nostalgia; World / Folk Music; New Age; and Chinese Music.
Additional content includes the lives and works of the greatest composers, classical explained, opera explained, instruments of the Orchestra, history of classical music, history of opera, glossary, pronunciation guide, opera synopses and opera libretti.
Naxos Music Library Jazz This link opens in a new window
One of the most comprehensive collection of Jazz music available online. It offers more than 45,000 tracks of jazz from over 3,800 albums. Over 7,000 jazz artists are represented. Naxos Music Library Jazz comprises Naxos Jazz and the 22 labels of Fantasy Jazz. Naxos Jazz, along with Prophone and Proprius, brings you the world of international Jazz, covering Sweden and Scandinavian jazz artists. US-based Fantasy has the world's deepest jazz catalogue and offers the very best in blues and R&B.

Music Therapy Databases

Music therapy has many uses in medicine, psychology, and education.

Ely Library subscribes to several medical databases, available in the Health Section, Psychology Section, and Nursing Section of the A-Z Database page.

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
The world's largest scholarly, multi-discipline, full text database designed specifically for academic institutions. Contains a robust collection of peer-reviewed, scholarly full text journals, this database offers critical information from many sources found in no other database. The database includes full-page images as well as color embedded images. Scholarly, full text resources are provided for nearly all academic areas of study: social sciences, humanities, education, computer sciences, engineering, language and linguistics, arts literature, medical sciences, and ethnic studies.
APA PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
APA PsycINFO provide abstracts from dissertations, books, book chapters, technical reports, and approximately 2,000 journals on psychology published in 50 countries. Chapter and book coverage includes worldwide English-language material published from 1987 to the present; however, there is a substantial number of records covering books published earlier. PsycArticles contains full text content from the APA and allied organizations.
CINAHL Plus with Full Text This link opens in a new window
CINAHL Plus with Full Text is a robust collection of full text for Nursing & Allied Health journals, providing full text for more than 770 journals indexed in CINAHL. This database contains full-text for many of the most used journals in the CINAHL index, with no embargo. CINAHL Plus with Full Text is a core research tool for all areas of Nursing and Allied Health literature.

Full text coverage dates back to 1937.
Counseling and Therapy in Video This link opens in a new window
More than 360 titles providing a comprehensive online video streaming collection to support the study of social work, psychotherapy, psychology, and psychiatric counseling fields. Video content includes counseling sessions and demonstration, consultations, lectures, presentations and interviews, providing students with a first-hand look at the realities of working with clients and the challenges associated with putting theoretical concepts into practice.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Search Google Scholar to find citations or access many of Ely Library's scholarly subscriptions. Check our Google Scholar Guide to learn about how to access Ely Library's Resources using Google Scholar.
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition This link opens in a new window
Find medical and professional periodicals, health and fitness magazines, and reference books and pamphlets. The database is designed for both nursing and allied health students as well as consumer health researchers. The material contained in this database is intended for informational purposes only.
MEDLINE (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
MEDLINE database, produced by the U.S. National Library of Medicine, is widely recognized as the premier source for citations, indexing, and abstracts of biomedical literature. MEDLINE provides information relevant to the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, and veterinary medicine. MEDLINE also covers areas of life sciences, behavioral sciences, chemical sciences, and bio-engineering that are related to health and bio-medicine. The database contains more than 30 million citations from 5,200 biomedical journals published in the United States and many other countries.

It includes the entire MEDLINE collection and uses MeSH (Medical Subject Headings) indexing with tree numbers, tree hierarchy and explosion capabilities to search abstracts from current biomedical journals, citations from Index Medicus, Index to Dental Literature, and International Nursing Index.
ProQuest Nursing Allied Health Source This link opens in a new window
Search full-text journals and dissertations in ProQuest Nursing Allied Health Source alongside Systematic Reviews, Evidence Summaries, and Best Practice Information Sheets from the renowned Joanna Briggs Institute.
Psychology Collection This link opens in a new window
Provides access to authoritative periodical content supporting research in all fields of psychology— abnormal, biological, cognitive, comparative, developmental, personality, quantitative, social and all areas of applied psychology. Researchers, psychologists, counselors, and behavioral scientists will discover relevant information from the thoughts, views, discoveries, and reports found in this comprehensive collection.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
PubMed comprises more than 21 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites. Indexes over 3,500 journals (most with abstracts).
ScienceResearch.com This link opens in a new window
Deep Web Technologies, this is a free, publicly available Internet web portal that searches thousands of high-quality journals and databases and ranks results by relevance on a single results page. Some full text is available but most citations include only a brief abstract.

Subject areas covered include Astronomy, Biology Nature, Chemistry, Computers Technology, Earth Environmental Sciences, Engineering, General Science, Health Medicine, Materials Science, Mathematics, Physics, and Social Sciences.

Multidisciplinary Databases

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
The world's largest scholarly, multi-discipline, full text database designed specifically for academic institutions. Contains a robust collection of peer-reviewed, scholarly full text journals, this database offers critical information from many sources found in no other database. The database includes full-page images as well as color embedded images. Scholarly, full text resources are provided for nearly all academic areas of study: social sciences, humanities, education, computer sciences, engineering, language and linguistics, arts literature, medical sciences, and ethnic studies.
ERIC (EBSCO Version) This link opens in a new window
ERIC: the Educational Resource Information Center, is a national information system supported by the U.S. Department of Education, the National Library of Education, and the Office of Educational Research and Improvement. It provides access to information from journals included in the Current Index of Journals in Education and Resources in Education Index. This version provides access to the full text of articles from more than 540 journals indexed in ERIC plus the full text of more than 2,200 ERIC Digests along with references for additional information and citations and abstracts from over 1,000 educational and education-related journals.
General OneFile This link opens in a new window
Articles from a very wide variety of magazines, trade journals, and scholarly journals, 1980-present.
Humanities International Index This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive database covering journals, books and other important reference sources in the humanities. Subjects include: archaeology, classical studies, art, performing arts, philosophy, history, music, linguistics, literature, and religion.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
A full-text collection in PDF format of retrospective issues from 162 scholarly journals of prime importance in their fields. Subject coverage includes African-American Studies, Anthropology, Asian Studies,Ecology and Botany, Economics, Education, Finance, General Science, History, Literature, Mathematics, Philosophy, Political Science, Population/ Demography, Sociology, and Statistics. Dates of coverage: Varies depending on journal title; most have a moving wall that excludes the most recent 2-5 years of coverage. Includes Early Journal Content published prior to 1923 in the United States and prior to 1870 elsewhere - nearly 500,000 articles from 218 journals.
MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
MLA International Bibliography is an index of scholarship on all aspects of modern languages and literature. It indexes journal articles, series, monographs, dissertations, bibliographies, proceedings, scholarly websites, and other materials.

MLA International Bibliography covers a broad range of humanities subjects, including world languages and literatures, linguistics, dramatic arts, film, folklore, rhetoric, composition and writing studies, teaching of language, radio, television and the history of publishing. Its scope also makes it an excellent resource for research in history, philosophy, communications, and cross-disciplinary subjects such as gender and ethnic studies.

Coverage is international, encompassing scholarly publications in more than 70 languages. Numerous full-text links provide easy access to resources in the library as well as open access publications. This database also includes the MLA Directory of Periodicals and the MLA Bibliography Thesaurus.
ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window
The largest aggregated full-text database with more than 8,400 full-text titles among the 11,500 titles covered. Over 160 subject areas are covered extensively including business and economics, health and medical, news and world affairs, technology, social sciences, sciences, etc.
ProQuest Ebook Central This link opens in a new window
ProQuest Ebook Central contains eBooks from various publishers across a wide range of academic disciplines. The collection includes books from major university presses and other scholarly publishers. Titles are updated regularly.