LibGuides: Chemical & Physical Sciences: Databases

Subject Specific

These databases cover periodicals and other sources specificially related to Physical Sciences.

ProQuest Science This link opens in a new window
Covers both the applied and general sciences. With coverage dating back to 1986, this database features over 490 titles with more than 380 available in full text. Articles include all of the charts, diagrams, graphs, tables, photos, and other graphical elements that are vital to scientific and technical literature.

Science in Context
more...less...
Provides contextual information on hundreds of today's most significant science topics. The new solution merges Gale's authoritative reference content with full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, experiments, images, videos, audio files and links to vetted websites organized into a user-friendly portal experience. Search Guide.

Smithsonian / NASA Astrophysics Data System This link opens in a new window
Computation Facility at the Harvard-Smithsonian Center for Astrophysics.Updated Dail. The Astrophysics Data System (ADS) is a NASA-funded project which maintains three bibliographic databases containing more than 5.9 million records: Astronomy and Astrophysics, Physics, and arXiv e-prints. The main body of data in the ADS consists of bibliographic records, which are searchable through the Abstract Service query forms, and full-text scans of much of the astronomical literature which can be browsed though the Browse interface. Integrated in its databases, the ADS provides access and pointers to a wealth of external resources, including electronic articles, data catalogs and archives. There are currently links to over 6.0 million records maintained by collaborating scientists and organizations. Online
Search Help
PNAS - Proceedings of the National Academy of Sciences This link opens in a new window
PNAS 1915- Updated Weekly. Provides searchable access to the entire full text backfiles of PNAS - one of the world's most-cited multidisciplinary scientific serials. Since its establishment in 1914, PNAS continues to publish cutting-edge research reports, commentaries, reviews, perspectives, colloquium papers, and actions of the Academy. Coverage in PNAS spans the biological, physical, and social sciences.
ChemSpider This link opens in a new window
The Royal Society of Chemistry free chemical structure database providing fast text and structure search access to over 30 million structures from hundreds of data sources.
GeoScience World This link opens in a new window
GeoscienceWorld.org Current File. Updated Monthly.
Provides a searchable database and access to the abstracts for 30 peer-reviewed, high impact geoscience journals from 22 leading societies and institutes from six countries. Extensive backfiles go back as far as 1918 for some journals.

ScienceResearch.com
more...less...
Deep Web Technologies, LLC. Current File. Updated Monthly. A free, publicly available Internet web portal that searches thousands of high-quality journals and databases and ranks results by relevance on a single results page. Some full text is available but most citations include only a brief abstract. Subject areas covered include Astronomy, Biology & Nature, Chemistry, Computers & Technology, Earth & Environmental Sciences, Engineering, General Science, Health & Medicine, Materials Science, Mathematics, Physics, and Social Sciences.
Advanced Technologies & Aerospace Database
more...less...
Includes the renowned Aerospace Database and provides full-text titles from around the world, including scholarly journals, trade and industry journals, magazines, technical reports, conference proceedings, and government publications.
Materials Science Database
more...less...
This database provides unmatched discipline-specific coverage in science and technology spanning thousands of publications, many in full text

Films On Demand This link opens in a new window
A Web-based digital video delivery service that provides more than 10,000 streaming videos and more than 100,000 video clips anytime, anywhere. The videos provide than 4,800 hours of high-quality educational content in dozens of subject areas. Special features allow users to organize and bookmark clips, create and share playlists, and personalize folders.
Create a playlist: http://sites.google.com/site/filmsondemand/step-by-step-tutorial

arXiv
more...less...
arXiv is an e-print service in the fields of physics, mathematics, computer science, quantitative biology, quantitative finance and statistics. Submissions to arXiv should conform to Cornell University academic standards. arXiv is owned and operated by Cornell University, a private not-for-profit educational institution. arXiv is funded by Cornell University Library, the Simons Foundation and by the member institutions.
General Science Collection
more...less...
A collection of over 1,000 peer-reviewed journals, providing researchers with the information needed to stay current on the latest scientific developments.
Nature.com Complete
more...less...
Nature.com User Guide
http://www.nature.com/libraries/account_administration/pdf/gtanature.pd f

Titles Available
http://www.nature.com/content/libraries/nature.com_complete/index.html#close?WT.mc_id=SPG_SLBU_1503_nature.comCompleteLP
Pub CHEM
more...less...
PubChem is an open chemistry database at the National Institutes of Health (NIH). It mostly contains small molecules, but also larger molecules such as nucleotides, carbohydrates, lipids, peptides, and chemically-modified macromolecules. It collects information on chemical structures, identifiers, chemical and physical properties, biological activities, patents, health, safety, toxicity data, and many others.

Tutorial

Multidisciplinary

These databases cover periodicals and other sources from a wide variety of disciplines.

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
A full-text collection in PDF format of retrospective issues from 162 scholarly journals of prime importance in their fields. Subject coverage includes African-American Studies, Anthropology, Asian Studies, Ecology and Botany, Economics, Education, Finance, General Science, History, Literature, Mathematics, Philosophy, Political Science, Population / Demography, Sociology, and Statistics. Dates of coverage: Varies depending on journal title; most have a moving wall that excludes the most recent 2-5 years of coverage. Includes Early Journal Content published prior to 1923 in the United States and prior to 1870 elsewhere - nearly 500,000 articles from 218 journals.
ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window
The largest aggregated full-text database with more than 8,400 full-text titles among the 11,500 titles covered. Over 160 subject areas are covered extensively including business and economics, health and medical, news and world affairs, technology, social sciences, sciences, etc. For information on how to use this database, click the Search Guide ! Video Tutorial
Academic OneFile This link opens in a new window
General OneFile This link opens in a new window
Articles from a very wide variety of magazines, trade journals, and scholarly journals, 1980-present.
Academic OneFile Select This link opens in a new window
Provides a combination of indexing, abstracts, images, and full-text for scholarly and general interest journals and magazine titles. Covers a broad range of academic disciplines from art and literature and theology to economics and the sciences. Includes vocational and technical titles.
Biography in Context This link opens in a new window
Combines nearly 80 of the most frequently consulted biographical sources with more than 250 full-text periodicals to provide in-depth, full-text information. This reference database integrates more than one million thumbnail biographies from the Complete Marquis Who's Who®, the Encyclopedia of World Biography, Scribner's Encyclopedia of American Lives, Who's Who Among African Americans, Dictionary of American Biography, and many more sources. For information on how to use this database, click the Search Guide.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Provides a search of scholarly literature across many disciplines and sources, including abstracts and articles. Access full text articles from Ely Library's online collection.
Guide to Off-Campus access.
ProQuest Ebook Central This link opens in a new window
ProQuest Ebook Central contains eBooks from various publishers across a wide range of academic disciplines. The collection includes books from major university presses and other scholarly publishers. Titles are updated regularly.

Journal List A-Z

Do you have a citation, but want to know if we have access to the full-text? Search the Journal Title directory to find out.

Free Full Text Chemistry & Other Journals

ABC-Chemistry : Directory of Free Full-Text Journals in Chemistry
Chemistry Central Journals
Chemistry Central is an open access chemistry publisher, operated by BioMed Central and owned by Springer Science+Business Media, committed to the free and widespread dissemination of chemical research. All original research articles published by, or in co-operation with, Chemistry Central are made freely and permanently accessible online immediately upon publication.

Journal Tables of Contants

JournalTOCs

The largest, free collection of scholarly journal Tables of Contents (TOCs): 25,034 journals including 8,246 selected Open Access journals and 10,275 Hybrid journals from 2411 publishers. JournalTOCs pulls together a database of Table of Contents (TOCs) from scholarly journals and provides
a convenient single "one stop shop" interface to these TOCs

Related Subjects

Related LibGuides:

Environmental Science

Help and Information

Ask a Librarian

Chat
Email: askus@westfield.ma.edu
Phone: 413-572-5234

More Help