Science.gov searches over 60 databases and over 2200 selected websites from 15 federal agencies, offering 200 million pages of authoritative U.S. government science information including research and development results.
Provides current and past articles on issues in the news, and includes links to related reports written by committees of volunteers of the nation's top experts at the National Research Council (operating arm of the National Academy of Sciences and National Academy of Engineering) and the Institute of Medicine.
The latest news and press releases from the world of science and engineering are categorized or searchable by keyword terms on this site.
EurekAlert!, a comprehensive Web site about the latest research advances in science, medicine, health, and technology. The site includes news releases, an archive, and links to web sites. EurekAlert! is produced by the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS), with technical support provided by Stanford University.
Nature is the world's most highly cited interdisciplinary science journal. Toolbox, which is hosted in the News & Comment section of Nature's website, reports on the software and websites that make research easier for investigators engaged in science and technology subjects, from molecular biology to astrophysics, and beyond. Readers will find articles here about software, such as Excel, ChemDraw, and MATLAB, and the programming languages that are used to build that software, including Python, R, and SQL. From The Scout Report, Copyright Internet Scout 1994-2015. https://www.scout.wisc.edu
The World Library of Science is a free online resource for a global community. Developed as a partnership between UNESCO and Macmillan Science and Education, this online Library offers quality Nature Education content in short eBooks and articles, serving a mission to equalize access to high quality resources for science education for all communities across the globe. All offerings are digital, allowing easy access to online tools and networks. The content of the World Library of Science is meant to inspire more learning and curiosity, and help train students and teachers alike, both in the content and cultural impacts of scientific discovery. Future plans involve expansion of life and physical science subjects, as well as translation of resources into multiple languages.
arXiv is an e-print service in the fields of physics, mathematics, computer science, quantitative biology, quantitative finance and statistics. Submissions to arXiv should conform to Cornell University academic standards. arXiv is owned and operated by Cornell University, a private not-for-profit educational institution. arXiv is funded by Cornell University Library, the Simons Foundation and by the member institutions.
Crash Course Astronomy is a 46-episode PBS series that educates the public about all things astronomy. Each episode is approximately ten minutes in length and covers topics ranging from Moon Phases to Black Holes to Gamma Ray Bursts. Written and hosted by astronomer and blogger Phil Plait, Crash Course Astronomy features clear, accessible explanations of astronomical phenomena accompanied by engaging (and helpful) images, videos, and animations. Episodes can be enjoyed individually - although many reference previous episodes, which may inspire viewers to explore the series chronologically. Crash Course Astronomy is a great resource to include in any science classroom, and may broadly appeal to anyone looking to make sense of astronomy-related news stories, whether they cover exoplanets or eclipses. [MMB]
Introductory educational materials on fusion energy and the physics of plasmas created by the Fusion and Plasmas Group of the Contemporary Physics Education Project (CPEP), a non-profit organization of teachers, educators and physicists, with substantial student involvement. CPEP creates educational materials on contemporary physics
topics for use in introductory physics classes.
This resource includes news, articles, and a comprehensive annotated index to on-line physics resources; from the Institute of Physics. The Buyer's Guide is a classified business directory with links to suppliers of lab equipment and other materials. Information is also included for conferences, workshops, and worldwide job listings.
Sponsored by the American Physical Society, this site takes readers into dozens of different physics topics, often from unexpected and interesting angles. On the site, the whirling skirts worn by Moslem ascetics serve as fodder for an explanation of the Coriolis Effect; a water slide becomes the example in an article on atomic friction; and the history of batteries may just tell us the energy storage possibilities of the future. The site can be searched by nine different topics, including Chaos, Force & Motion, and Material Science (among others). The entire backlog of articles is also fully accessible under the Archives tab.
Search by registry number, name, molecular formula, structure, physical and toxicological prop
CHEMID is a chemical dictionary file for over 344,000 compounds of biomedical and regulatory interest. Records include CAS Registry Numbers and other identifying numbers, molecular formulae, generic names, trivial names, other synonyms, MeSH headings, and file locators which lead users to other NLM files. In addition, SUPERLIST provides names and other data used to describe chemicals on over 30 key federal and state regulatory lists.
Comprehensive collection of links organized into broad main categories: Chemistry Overview, Periodic Tables and Databases; Chemicals & Biochemical Databases; Analytical Chemistry; and First and Second Year Courses, Tutorials, and Video.
An online encyclopedia created by Eric W. Weisstein, Wolfram Research with entries relating to chemical reactions, experimental chemistry, geology, inorganic chemistry, mineralogy, organic chemistry, petrology, and quantum chemistry. Most of the entries are brief definitions, but some entries are several paragraphs and include charts and equations. The entries are cross referenced.
A collection of categorized links to sites in the field of organic chemistry, including sections for databases, scholarly literature, work-up, structural analysis, chemical reaction instrumentation, set-up, and equipment.
This database details experimental methods, independently checked selected procedures and new reactions, in a standard format for the synthesis of organic compounds. The database is made up of 83 annual volumes and 10 collective volumes. Organic Syntheses procedures may be accessed either via the tables of contents of individual volumes or by conducting structure and keyword searches ("database mode"). Specific individual procedures can be accessed via the table of contents for either the original annual volume or collective volume in which the procedure appeared. Database allows users to simultaneously search all volumes of Organic Syntheses by keywords or by inputting structures and substructures. Structure searching requires the ChemDraw plugin; a free version can be downloaded according to the instructions found in the left margin.
William H. Reusch, emeritus professor at Michigan State University, published his Introduction to Organic Chemistry in 1977. Readers may purchase it for a list price of $137.74; or they may access the Virtual Textbook of Organic Chemistry, which contains nearly the same information online, for free, on this surprisingly comprehensive website. Here readers will find a fully operational organic chemistry textbook, divided into the two overarching topics of General Principles and Functional Group Reactions. Within General Principles, readers will learn the basics of Structure & Bonding, Intermolecular Forces, Chemical Reactivity, Aromaticity, and other subjects. Functional Group Reactions covers Alkanes, Alkenes, Alkynes, Alcohols, and many other subjects. For readers looking for a comprehensive, freely available organic chemistry textbook, this site will be a true boon. [CNH]
From the Scvout Report; copyright Internet Scout Research Group,
A video-based instructional series in chemistry with accompanying web site for high school and college classes. 13 half-hour programs, online text, course guide, interactive lessons, historical timeline and periodic table.
Chemistry: Challenges and Solutions teaches concepts of general chemistry by presenting real challenges in energy production, materials development, biochemistry, and environmental protection. The course zeroes in on core topics taught in introductory chemistry, providing a strong foundation for learners to pursue further study in science, med-tech fields, or a liberal education. Videos include lab demonstrations of key laws and processes, interviews with research scientists and industrial chemists, and explanatory animations. An online text covers science history and major discoveries with clear explanations and graphics. Interactive labs provide hands-on simulations of chemical processes.
Produced by the Harvard-Smithsonian Center for Astrophysics. 2014.
Born at the turn of the twentieth century in a tiny Illinois farming community, Arnold Beckman went on to become an influential chemist, inventor, and philanthropist to whom the National Academy of Science awarded its highest honor: the Public Welfare Medal. Beckman's inventions include the first commercially successful electronic pH meter in 1934. From this, he started Beckman Instruments (now Beckman Coulter, Inc.), which grew to specialize in a wide range of laboratory and biomedical instruments. Beckman's personal papers and the corporate records of Beckman Coulter, Inc., have been made digitally available by the Science History Institute. The Beckman Historical Collection, which currently contains over 2,400 works, includes letters, photographs, business correspondence, advertisements, instrument manuals, patents, internal publications and memos, ephemera, and more. This collection is searchable and can be narrowed by numerous fields, and images can be downloaded as a variety of file types and resolutions. The Science History Institute, which was renamed as such in February 2018 following the 2015 merger of the Chemical Heritage Foundation and the Life Sciences Foundation, is a Philadelphia-based non-profit that "collects and shares the stories of innovators and of discoveries that shape our lives." [JDC]
(University of Maryland) Physics Education Research Group) "This program represents a multi-university collaborative effort by a team of educational reformers to use the outcomes of physics education research along with flexible computer tools to promote activity-based models of physics instruction." This site has a collection of alternative homework assignments, problems, books and papers, talks, and links.
"The National Science Digital Library (NSDL) was created by the National Science Foundation to provide organized access to high quality resources and tools that support innovations in teaching and learning at all levels of science, technology, engineering, and mathematics education." This site collects resources, papers, and newsfeeds of interest to K-12 teachers, librarians, and university faculty.
(Carnegie Mellon University) "The Chemistry Collective is a collection of virtual labs, scenario-based learning activities, and concepts tests which can be incorporated into a variety of teaching approaches as pre-labs, alternatives to textbook homework, and in-class activities for individuals or teams."
A huge collection of resources for science education instructors can be found on this site. Information is included for projects, in-class activities ("snacks"), listings of equipment suppliers, links to online resources, collections of digital images, and more.
For college professors looking for engaging activities that will instill the basic constructs of structural geology, these visualizations will provide welcome sustenance. Topics include Orogeny, Uplift and Erosion, Isostasy, Maps and Mapping, Folds, Faults, and Shear Zones, Sandbox Movies, Microstructures and Fabric, and Stress and Strain. Within each topic area there are a number of visualizations that may be integrated into undergraduate classes and projects. For example, within Uplift and Erosion readers will find a depiction of the Plio-Pleistocene tectonic shortening of the Transverse Ranges in California, as well as a visualization that "shows a cut-globe view of the continental collision between India and Eurasia from 60 million years ago to present." Anyone with an interest in geology and the earth sciences will find much to enjoy on the site. [CNH]