Help and Information
Ask a Librarian
Directories of Sociology Websites
This site offers links to online websites and resources related to sociology. Topics covered include: articles and essays, sociological associations, sociological topics, giants of sociology and more.
National Center for Education Statistics (NCES)
The National Center for Educational Statistics is the "primary federal entity for collecting and analyzing data that are related to education in the United States and other nations." This website provides access to a searchable catalog of various studies, publications, and statistics addressing major issues in education.
National Archive of Computerized Data on Aging
The University of Michigan's National Archive of Computerized Data on Aging (NACDA) provides data to support research on aging. This searchable website gives access to various datasets, including polls, census statistics, and studies conducted by such organizations as the National Council on Aging.
Institute for Research on Poverty
IRP, at the UW-Madison, is a center for interdisciplinary research into the causes and consequences of poverty and social inequality in the United States. As one of three National Poverty Research Centers sponsored by the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, IRP has a particular interest in poverty and family welfare in Wisconsin as well as the nation.
Substance Abuse and Mental Health Data Archive
"The Substance Abuse and Mental Health Data Archive (SAMHDA) is an initiative of...the United States Department of Health and Human Services. The goal of the archive is to provide ready access to substance abuse and mental health research data."
WSU Statistics Guide
Locate sources for statistics on a wide variety of topics, including women and gender.
Current Population Survey
"The Current Population Survey (CPS) is a monthly survey of about 50,000 households conducted by the Bureau of the Census for the Bureau of Labor Statistics...The CPS is the primary source of information on the labor force characteristics of the U.S. population."
Houses open data provided by the federal government
The Data Archive and Data Support arm of the Center for Population Studies at the University of Michigan, provides access to a variety of population data, geographical and longitudinal population data in the U.S., and international data.
Massachusetts State Data Center
Find population data, housing data, social and economic data, and thematic maps related to Massachusetts.