Abstracts and indexes the international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. The database provides abstracts of journal articles and citations to book reviews drawn from over 1,700 serials publications, and also provides abstracts of books, book chapters, dissertations, and conference papers. Records added after 1974 contain in-depth and nonevaluative abstracts of journal articles. Many records from key journals in sociology, published since 2001, also include the references cited in the bibliography of the source article. Each individual reference may also have links to an abstract and/or to other papers that cite that reference; these links increase the possibility of finding more potentially relevant articles. Search Guide
Contains records from more than 450 journal in the fields of social work and human services from 1977 to present. Coverage includes theory and practice, areas of service, social issues,and social problems. Also includes The Register of Clinical Social Workers, a searchable directory of clinical social workers in the United States. Search Guide
ProQuest Sociology provides access to the full-text of more than 310 journals in sociology and social work. This collection provides full-text coverage of many core titles included in Sociological Abstracts and Social Services Abstracts. The coverage of the international literature of sociology and social work includes culture and social structure, history and theory of sociology, social psychology, substance abuse and addiction, and many more topics. Search Guide | Video Tutorial
Offers international viewpoints on a broad spectrum of global issues, topics, and current events. Featured are hundreds of continuously updated issue and country portals that bring together a variety of specially selected, highly relevant sources for analysis of social, political, military, economic, environmental, health, and cultural issues. Each of these gateway pages includes an overview, unique articles written by local experts, reference, periodical, primary source and statistical information. Rich multimedia - including podcasts, video, and interactive graphs - enhance each portal. Use Browse Issues and Topics, Country Finder, Basic Search or Advanced Search to explore the database.
Provides access to a variety of social science journals. The database includes over 510 titles, with more than 280 available in full text. Coverage extends back to the early 1990s. Search Guide | Video Tutorial
Provides bibliographic coverage of current research focused on social work, human services,and related areas, including social welfare, social policy, and community development. The database abstracts and indexes over 1,500 serials publications and includes abstracts of journal articles and dissertations, and citations to book reviews. Search Guide
More than 350 titles. providing a rich online collection of video available for the study of social work, psychotherapy, psychology, and psychiatric counseling. The collection's wealth of video and multiplicity of perspectives allow students and scholars to see, experience, and study counseling in ways never before possible. The suite of tools—searches and browses powered by Semantic Indexing™ and searchable transcripts synchronized to video—give the ability to drill down in seconds to find the footage of interest from hundreds of hours of video.Video Tutorials
An indexing and abstracting tool covering health, social services, psychology, sociology, economics, politics, race relations and education. , ASSIA provides a comprehensive source of social science and health information for the practical and academic professional. ASSIA currently contains over 470,000 records from over 500 journals published in 16 different countries, including the UK and US. Search Guide | Video Tutorial
An essential online resource for social science and interdisciplinary research, IBSS includes over two million bibliographic references to journal articles and to books, reviews and selected chapters dating back to 1951. It provides broad coverage of international material and incorporates over 100 languages and countries. Over 2,800 journals are regularly indexed and some 7,000 books are included each year. Abstracts are provided for half of all current journal articles and full text availability is continually increasing. Search Guide
Provides quick and easy access to modern and historical census data and demographic information. This resource brings together a vast and growing amount of quantitative data with an intuitive visual interface and report-generation tools that make demographic research, the analysis of social trends, and comparison of neighborhoods, communities, counties, and other areas accessible and interactive. Getting Started
The world's largest scholarly, multi-discipline, full text database designed specifically for academic institutions. With a collection of 4,000 peer-reviewed, scholarly full text journals, this database offers critical information from many sources found in no other database. The database includes full-page images as well as color embedded images. Scholarly, full text resources are provided for nearly all academic areas of study: social sciences, humanities, education, computer sciences, engineering, language and linguistics, arts literature, medical sciences, and ethnic studies. Search Guide|Video Tutorial
A full-text collection in PDF format of retrospective issues from 162 scholarly journals of prime importance in their fields. Subject coverage includes African-American Studies, Anthropology, Asian Studies,Ecology and Botany, Economics, Education, Finance, General Science, History, Literature, Mathematics, Philosophy, Political Science, Population/ Demography, Sociology, and Statistics. Dates of coverage: Varies depending on journal title; most have a moving wall that excludes the most recent 2-5 years of coverage. Includes Early Journal Content published prior to 1923 in the United States and prior to 1870 elsewhere - nearly 500,000 articles from 218 journals.
The largest aggregated full-text database with more than 8,400 full-text titles among the 11,500 titles covered. Over 160 subject areas are covered extensively including business and economics, health and medical, news and world affairs, technology, social sciences, sciences, etc. Search Guide | Video Tutorial
A Web-based digital video delivery service that provides more than 10,000 streaming videos and more than 100,000 video clips anytime, anywhere. The videos provide than 4,800 hours of high-quality educational content in dozens of subject areas. Special features allow users to organize and bookmark clips, create and share playlists, and personalize folders. A tutorial, including step-by-step instructions on how to Create Playlists, is here.
Contains more than 3,000 full text journals, including peer-reviewed journals and reference sources with extensive coverage of the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature and other subjects. Includes full-text coverage of the New York Times back to 1995. Search Guide
Provides desktop access to more than 6,000 full text periodical titles including 121 wire services; full indexing of The New York Times, The Wall Street Journal, The Washington Post, The Los Angeles Times, and The Christian Science Monitor newspapers; and a total of more than 10,000 periodical titles with 25 years of backfile coverage from 1980 to present. Search Guide
Searchable database containing bibliographic citations only for over 60,000 documents indexed by the Rutgers University Center of Alcohol Studies since 1987. The primary focus is on research and professional materials dealing with beverage alcohol, its use and related consequences. In addition to the research and professional material, the database also includes a small collection of educational and prevention materials, including audiovisuals, suitable for students and educators K-12, parents, community workers, and the general public. Users may search by authors, keyword(s) in title, or subject headings.