A note about research terms: Library catalogs and databases may use outdated terminology related to race and gender in their item descriptions. In addition, library materials themselves may contain language that some may find offensive or outdated. For assistance with search terms or to discuss approaches to researching these topics, please contact the subject librarian or contact the reference desk.
These databases cover periodicals and other sources specificially related to ethnic and gender studies.
Ethnic Diversity Source covers culture, traditions, social treatment and lived experiences of different ethnic groups in America.
Abstracts and indexes the international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. The database provides abstracts of journal articles and citations to book reviews drawn from over 1,700 serials publications, and also provides abstracts of books, book chapters, dissertations, and conference papers. Records added after 1974 contain in-depth and non-evaluative abstracts of journal articles. Many records from key journals in sociology, published since 2001, also include the references cited in the bibliography of the source article. Each individual reference may also have links to an abstract and/or to other papers that cite that reference; these links increase the possibility of finding more potentially relevant articles.
ProQuest Sociology provides access to the full-text of more than 310 journals in sociology and social work. This collection provides full-text coverage of many core titles included in Sociological Abstracts and Social Services Abstracts. The coverage of the international literature of sociology and social work includes culture and social structure, history and theory of sociology, social psychology, substance abuse and addiction, and many more topics.
Provides access to a variety of social science journals. The database includes over 510 titles, with more than 280 available in full text. Coverage extends back to the early 1990s.
A Web-based digital video delivery service that provides more than 10,000 streaming videos and more than 100,000 video clips anytime, anywhere. The videos provide than 4,800 hours of high-quality educational content in dozens of subject areas. Special features allow users to organize and bookmark clips, create and share playlists, and personalize folders.
Provides a complete overview of U.S. history with comprehensive coverage of the most-studied events, issues and current information. Coverage includes content that is 50% or more from primary source documents, including monographs, pamphlets, first-person accounts, etc. Additional content includes documents from Primary Source Microfilm's digital archives; encyclopedic articles from Macmillan Reference USA and Charles Scribner's Sons references; Gale Group proprietary content such as country and era overview information; 119 full-text periodicals and journals; a historical bibliography; and links to digitized special collections.
These databases cover periodicals and other sources from a wide variety of disciplines.
The world's largest scholarly, multi-discipline, full text database designed specifically for academic institutions. Contains a robust collection of peer-reviewed, scholarly full text journals, this database offers critical information from many sources found in no other database. The database includes full-page images as well as color embedded images. Scholarly, full text resources are provided for nearly all academic areas of study: social sciences, humanities, education, computer sciences, engineering, language and linguistics, arts literature, medical sciences, and ethnic studies.
The largest aggregated full-text database with more than 8,400 full-text titles among the 11,500 titles covered. Over 160 subject areas are covered extensively including business and economics, health and medical, news and world affairs, technology, social sciences, sciences, etc.
Contains peer-reviewed, full-text journals and articles, including reference sources. Extensive coverage of the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature and other subjects. Includes full-text coverage of The New York Times back to 1995.
Quick and access to modern and historical census data and demographic information. This resource brings together a vast and growing amount of quantitative data with an intuitive visual interface and report-generation tools that make demographic research, the analysis of social trends, and comparison of neighborhoods, communities, counties, and other areas accessible and interactive
