LibGuides: Criminal Justice: Databases

Criminal Justice Databases

These databases cover periodicals and other sources specificially related to Criminal Justice.

Criminal Justice Abstracts with Full Text This link opens in a new window Indexes journals, trade publications, books, reports, and dissertations in the field of Criminal Justice. Some full-text available.
ProQuest Criminal Justice This link opens in a new window Indexes journals, trade publications, magazines and reports in the field of Criminal Justice.
NexisUni This link opens in a new window
Database of news, business, and legal sources, including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790.

Multidisciplinary

These databases cover periodicals and other sources from a wide variety of disciplines.

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window The largest aggregated full-text database with more than 8,400 full-text titles among the 11,500 titles covered. Over 160 subject areas are covered extensively including business and economics, health and medical, news and world affairs, technology, social sciences, sciences, etc. For information on how to use this database, click the Search Guide.

Government Documents/Reports

NCJRS Abstracts Database This link opens in a new window The National Criminal Justice Reference Service Abstracts Database contains summaries of more than 140,000 publications on criminal justice, including Federal, state, and local government reports, books, research reports, journal articles, and unpublished research. Subject areas include corrections, courts, drugs and crime, law enforcement, juvenile justice, crime statistics, and victims of crime. The Abstracts Database is produced by NCJRS, a service of the National Institute of Justice, with the Office of Juvenile Justice and Delinquency Prevention, Office for Victims of Crime, Bureau of Justice Statistics, and Bureau of Justice Assistance, all part of the Office of Justice Programs, U.S. Department of Justice, and the Office of National Drug Control Policy. Global, subject, author, and Boolean searching are supported.

USA.gov
more...less...
Search government websites including agency sites and posted documents.

News Databases

ProQuest U.S. Newsstream This link opens in a new window
Includes a balance of national and regional newspapers chosen for their journalistic excellence and regional representation. All titles are available in full text. Papers include national titles such as The New York Times, The Wall Street Journal and The Washington Post along with a selection of titles from across the U.S. such as the South Florida Sun Sentinel, Minneapolis Star Tribune, Denver Post, The Sacramento Bee and other important U.S. papers.
Newspaper Source This link opens in a new window
Searchable full text to over 170 U.S. newspapers and 20 international newspapers. Also includes 6 newswires, 9 newspaper columns and TV and radio news transcripts.
The database contains selected full text for more than 200 regional (U.S.) newspapers, including The Boston Globe, The Chicago Tribune, The Christian Science Monitor, The Detroit Free Press, The Los Angeles Times, The New York Daily News, The San Jose Mercury News, USA Today, and more. In addition, full-text television and radio news transcripts are provided from CBS News, FOX News, and NPR.
New York Times This link opens in a new window
New York Times content from the following ProQuest collections: New York Times, Late Edition (East Coast) from June 1, 1980, to the present; New York Daily Times (1851 - 1857); New York Times Historical (1851 - 2018); New York Times Book Review; New York Times Español; New York Times Magazine; New York Times (online); New York Times, International Edition (8/1/1992 - Present, some exceptions); The Daily (podcast); New York Times Video

Other Databases

Oxford Bibliographies Online - Criminology This link opens in a new window
Bibliographies of publications related to Criminal Justice topics. The updated lists provide citations and abstracts of each publication.