Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Ely Library at Westfield State University

Academic Calendar Bookstore Class cancellations How do I Registrar Technology support University catalog My Westfield Email Plato - Online learning Emloyee self-service Online service Request space Copy Center Store Library home Westfield State University home page Image Map

Ely Library's Streaming Media Collections: Streaming Video Collections

Streaming Video Collections- Updates for Fall 2022

Our unlimited access streaming collections include Films on Demand, Psychotherapy.net, JoVE, Metropolitan Opera Online, and Counseling & Therapy in Video, as well as any video found within ProQuest or EBSCOHost databases. Kanopy Streaming Media incurs a $150 charge per video for one year of access, and there is a limited budget for the resource. If you choose to use a Kanopy video in your class, you will need to request it every year. The library will not automatically renew licenses on the Kanopy platform.

Kanopy Streaming Media: All Kanopy Films are now by faculty request only. Search for the title on the Kanopy Streaming platform and fill out the request form. Requests should be made 10 business days in advance, as it may take several days to process the request. Kanopy videos are not available by searching the library's catalog; they must be searched directly on the Kanopy website. 
JoVE Science: For the 2022-2023 Academic Year, the library is trialing JoVE Education, which brings together instructional content from many disciplines including biology, neurobiology, health sciences, chemistry, and more.  

Films on Demand

Kanopy Streaming Video

The Kanopy platform provides access to hundreds of educational videos and feature films through a pay-as-you-go model. Ely Library has a set budget for this service.

Ely Library provides Kanopy video access by faculty request only. This so that the library can provide videos that support faculty teaching while controlling costs and ensuring that access to videos is not shut down abruptly. 

  • The library posts updated lists of existing Kanopy video licenses to the Streaming Media LibGuide: https://lib.westfield.ma.edu/streamingmedia . This list will include the video’s title, a link to access, and the expiration date. 
  • To access a licensed film beyond the expiration date listed on the Streaming Video LibGuide, send an e-mail to Becca Brody at rbrody@westfield.ma.edu, indicating which film should be extended. If you will not need the film until a month or more after the expiration, see the next bullet. 
  • For currently unlicensed films, faculty will need to fill out the request form on the Kanopy website for the film 1-2 weeks before the film is needed.  
  • The library will only license films by faculty request. Student requests will be declined with a note to contact their professor.  
  • The library sets a budget for Kanopy Streaming and, if demand outstrips the budget, we may not be able to accommodate all requests. 

 

**If you use Kanopy videos in your classes, you will need to ensure a license is active before assigning videos to students or screening them in class. Ely Library cannot guarantee same-day access to expired videos.

Psychotherapy.net

We have access to two Psychotherapy.net collections.

Met Opera On Demand

Alexander Street Press Therapy Video Collections

ProQuest Multimedia

Some ProQuest Databases include both audio and video content, including podcasts and excerpts from news and educational programming.

Select "Videos & Audio" on the Basic Search screen, or select "Source Type: Audio & Video Works" from the Advanced Search screen to locate this content.

577 Western Ave, Westfield, MA 01086

https://lib.westfield.ma.edu/home

Contact Us