Reports from the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency's "ongoing comprehensive evaluation of air toxics in the U.S." Contains the results of an assessment of 2005 air toxics emissions, and earlier reports on toxic air pollutants. The 2005 assessment includes a summary of the findings, a FAQ on air toxics, a list of the over 170 air pollutants in the report, a glossary, data tables, maps, and tools to analyze the data.

This web site provides first hand information about the current state of the Global Biodiversity Information Facility (GBIF), an international initiative to be implemented during the course of this year. The GBIF will be an interoperable network of biodiversity databases and information technology tools that will enable users to navigate and put to use the world’s vast quantities of biodiversity information to produce national economic, environmental and social benefits.

Describes the ecosystem geography of the U.S. including individual maps for ecosystem subdivisions such as Domains, Divisions, and Provinces.

Searches the consolidated contents of OSTI's Information Bridge and Energy Citations Database.

Identifies Endangered or threatened species that are listed as endangered or threatened under Section 4 of the Endangered_Species Act. These species have been determined to be at risk for extinction if measures are not taken to protect them. Includes list of endangered species by state and by country. Maintained by the U.S. Fish & Wildlife Service.

"DSIRE is a comprehensive source of information on state, local, utility, and federal incentives that promote renewable energy and energy efficiency." Includes summary maps (showing contractor license requirements, income tax incentives, property tax exemptions, rebate programs, and other topics), summary tables, reports and presentations, a glossary, and link to related sites. A project of the North Carolina Solar Center, North Carolina State University, and the Interstate Renewable Energy Council (IREC).

The latest edition of the biennial FAO overview of the State of the World's Forests. Presents information on the current status of the world's forests, major developments over the reporting period (1999-2001), and recent trends and future directions in the forestry sector. Inlcudes links to prior editions.

Pronounced "nessie," provides technical assistance and information about drinking water, wastewater, environmental training, and solid waste management to communities serving fewer than 10,000 individuals. Links to National Small Flows Clearinghouse (NSFC)--wastewater; National Drinking Water Clearinghouse (NDWC)--drinking water; National Environmental Training Center for Small Communities (NETCSC)--training; and National Onsite Demonstration Program (NODP)--wastewater projects.

Readers interested in the natural sciences may like to explore the online home of the United States Geological Survey's Wetland and Aquatic Research Center (WARC). Based in the southeastern U.S., WARC was formed in 2015 through the merger of two science centers, the National Wetlands Research Center in Louisiana and the Southeast Ecological Science Center in Florida. Here, readers can access a vast array of information about WARC's work with wetlands and coastal ecosystems. While the main page highlights the Center's most recent news and publications, visitors can navigate WARC's website via the menu on the left to examine it further. A good place for all visitors to start is the Science section, which provides an overview of WARC's work and is organized into themes such as Species Biology, Priority Landscapes, and Invasive Species. Choosing a theme leads to summaries of WARC's relevant research projects and links to each project's scientific publications. Visitors can also browse the Data and Tools section, where they will find more than 1,000 scientific datasets, APIs, and other resources available to download. Under Publications, readers will find WARC's more than 2,200 scientific articles, reports, books, and other publications, many of which can be downloaded for free. [AL]

Collecting and sharing information and mobilizing communities against environmental injustice, the Environmental Justice Atlas is a "virtual space" for ecological advocates. Readers may want to begin on the About page (under the EJAtlas tab). Here, visitors will find background information on the project, as well as environmental justice, generally. As the About section notes, the Atlas "maps conflicts across 10 main categories," with more than 3,000 cases of ecological conflict included in the database. The Legend section of the Home page explains what each pinpoint signifies (for example, the green leaf is used for "biodiversity conservation conflicts," and the blue icon represents "water management"). Readers may elect to browse the map freely or use the right-hand panel to sort by country, company, commodity, and type. Users can also apply one of the many filters (for example, "impacts" or "outcomes"). Clicking on each pinpoint, users will find information about the conflict, including "the investors ... and their impacts," and "basic data ... [with] project details." Have an idea for a site not yet included? Register an account or fill out a brief survey to contribute. The Atlas is available in seven languages (Arabic, English, French, Italian, Madarin, Spanish, and Turkish). It was created by researchers at the Institute of Environmental Science and Technology at the Universitat Autonoma de Barcelona, with support from the ENVJUST project, the Academic-Activist Co-Production of Knowledge for Environmental Justice, and the Transformations to Sustainability Programme. [EMB]

Nature is the world's most highly cited interdisciplinary science journal. Toolbox, which is hosted in the News & Comment section of Nature's website, reports on the software and websites that make research easier for investigators engaged in science and technology subjects, from molecular biology to astrophysics, and beyond. Readers will find articles here about software, such as Excel, ChemDraw, and MATLAB, and the programming languages that are used to build that software, including Python, R, and SQL. From The Scout Report, Copyright Internet Scout 1994-2015. https://www.scout.wisc.edu

The EPI is a project of the World Economic Forum's Global Leaders for Tomorrow Environment Task Force in collaboration with CIESIN and the Yale Center for Environmental Law and Policy. The 2010 EPI centers on two broad environmental protection objectives: (1) reducing environmental stresses on human health, and (2) promoting ecosystem vitality and sound natural resource management. These are gauged using 25 indicators tracked in 10 policy categories/

The RReDC provides information on several types of renewable energy resources in the United States, in the form of publications, data, and maps. An extensive dictionary of renewable energy related terms is also provided. The News section announces new products on the RReDC. Links to other sources of renewable resource and related information on Biomass, Geothermal, Solar, Ultraviolet Solar Radiation, and Wind Energy.

Provides information services on conservation and sustainable use of the world's living resources,. This site contains five searchable databases. users can search by country for threatened animals and plants (plants are available for Europe only), protected areas of the world, forest statistics and maps, marine statistics and maps, and national biodiversity profiles (twelves countries to date).

Provides current environmental news coverage and green blogs to supply the background information needed to better understand what can sometimes be enormously complicated and controversial environmental issues.

Claims to be "the largest online environmental information resource on the planet". Packed with info.

Besides having what it claims is the "Earth's biggest environment search engine," this site also is a web directory for all things environmental. Thirty categories are available to lead you to sites dealing with the environment.

Complete details on mesothelioma basics, new treatments and financial rights and options for medical expenses for victims, their family and friends

Guide from an advocacy organization dedicated to helping patients diagnosed with asbestos illnesses. Covers Basics, Locating Specialists, Treatment options, Life Prognosis, Veterans' exposure, Financial / legal compensation, and Support Community / Blog.

The entire document and history of the Act online.

United States Environmental Protection Agency's Homepage

Information on Key Issues, Site Cleanups, Clean Air, Clean Water, and other news and events.

This is a good place to see what is going on at the state level in environmental affairs.