BPL eCard Registration
You may register for a Boston Public Library eCard for online access to numerous databases if you are any of the following:
- a permanent resident of Mass.
- Reside in Mass. because you are attending school here
- Commute to a Mass. employer regularly
- Own property (real estate) in Mass.
OmniFile Full Text, Select Edition- contains the full text only records that are contained in 11 Wilson databases including these three science databases
Applied Science & Technology Full Text
Biological & Agricultural Index Plus
General Science Full Text
These databases cover periodicals and other sources specifically related to Environmental Topics.
Covers both the applied and general sciences. With coverage dating back to 1986, this database features over 490 titles with more than 380 available in full text. Articles include all of the charts, diagrams, graphs, tables, photos, and other graphical elements that are vital to scientific and technical literature. Search Guide | Video Tutorial
A cross-disciplinary resource of full-text content of global literature across this field and related disciplines. It provides the most complete collection of resources available to support research and learning in environmental science and related fields. Content is selected from several specialist topic resources in disciplines such as engineering, biotechnology, bacteriology, atmospheric science, ecology, and biology. Full Text Included - 2,184 titles
A collection of over 800 journals and 6 subject specific Delmar reference titles provide robust coverage of environmental issues and policies, including diverse perspectives from the scientific community, governmental policy makers, as well as corporate interests.
Contains the leading agricultural journals published in North America. ProQuest Agriculture Journals offers the complete text as well as complete images from such journals as Agricultural Research, Forest Products Journal, Journal of Animal Science, Journal of Soil and Water Conservation and Plant Physiology.
A powerful new resource that brings together scholarly content from four celebrated works of ornithology—Birds of North America and Neotropical Birds (originally published by the Cornell Lab) with Handbook of the Birds of the World Alive and Bird Families of the World (originally published by Lynx Edicions)—into one rich and colorful hub where you can find comprehensive, authoritative information on birds. With the integration of millions of bird observations from eBird and images from the Macaulay Library, Birds of the World is the most powerful ornithological resource ever created.
Four volume set providding 575 easy-to-understand essays on all aspects of our natural resources, from their economic applications and benefits to the impact of their extraction. Offers a wide variety of perspectives on both traditional and more recent views of Earth's resources. Print version: Edited by Craig W. Allin. Pasadena, CA: Salem Press, c2010.(REF HC85 .E49 2010)
The Ecology collecion of a free online archive and distribution service for unpublished preprints in the life sciences. It is operated by Cold Spring Harbor Laboratory, a not-for-profit research and educational institution. By posting preprints on bioRxiv, authors are able to make their findings immediately available to the scientific community and receive feedback on draft manuscripts before they are submitted to journals.
Freely accessible research database focusing on the relationship between human beings and the environment. GreenFILE's initial release includes abstracts and indexing for more than 600 titles, including comprehensive coverage from volume 1, issue 1 to present for Bioscience(back to 1964), Conservation Biology (back to 1987), Journal of Ecology (back to 1913).and Journal of Environmental Planning Management (back to 1948). The total number of records is approximately 295,000, and full text is provided for more than 4,600 records from open access titles.
AATA Online provides high quality, peer-reviewed abstracts of the international literature of conservation and heritage management. AATA Online currently includes abstracts of over 100,000 citations, enabling practitioners from many fields of heritage preservation to identify and select resources relevant to their work. New Users must Register, at no charge, to set personal preferences and save searches.
Provides a searchable database and access to the abstracts for 30 peer-reviewed, high impact geoscience journals from 22 leading societies and institutes from six countries. Extensive backfiles go back as far as 1918 for some journals
Provides a searchable database and access to the abstracts for 30 peer-reviewed, high impact geoscience journals from 22 leading societies and institutes from six countries. Extensive backfiles go back as far as 1918 for some journals.
Contains bibliographic records for energy and energy-related scientific and technical information from the Department of Energy (DOE) and its predecessor agencies, the Energy Research & Development Administration (ERDA) and the Atomic Energy Commission (AEC). Energy Citations includes bibliographic records of literature in disciplines of interest to DOE such as chemistry, physics and engineering. It includes citations to report literature, conference papers and journal articles. U.S. Government 1948- Updated Regularly
OSTI.GOV contains over 70 years of energy-related research results and citations collected by the Office of Scientific and Technical Information (OSTI). It includes journal articles/accepted manuscripts and related metadata, technical reports, scientific research datasets and collections, scientific software, patents, conference and workshop papers, books and theses, and multimedia funded by DOE through a grant, contract, cooperative agreement, or similar type of funding mechanism from the 1940s to today. This collection continues to grow as new scientific and technical information resulting from DOE research becomes available.
A Web-based digital video delivery service that provides more than 10,000 streaming videos and more than 100,000 video clips anytime, anywhere. The videos provide than 4,800 hours of high-quality educational content in dozens of subject areas. Special features allow users to organize and bookmark clips, create and share playlists, and personalize folders.A tutorial, including step-by-step instructions on how to Create Playlists, is here . Quick Start Guides in PDF are available: Sharing Videos and Organizing Videos.
A Web-based digital video delivery service that provides more than 10,000 streaming videos and more than 100,000 video clips anytime, anywhere. The videos provide than 4,800 hours of high-quality educational content in dozens of subject areas. Special features allow users to organize and bookmark clips, create and share playlists, and personalize folders. A tutorial, including step-by-step instructions on how to Create Playlists, is here.
Provides contextual information on hundreds of today's most significant science topics. The new solution merges Gale's authoritative reference content with full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, experiments, images, videos, audio files and links to vetted websites organized into a user-friendly portal experience. Search Guide.
With broad coverage of agriculture and its related fields, this collection provides a comprehensive view of this growing body of knowledge. Comprised of nearly 200 titles, researchers will have access to current and authoritative content that spans the industry -- from practical aspects of farming to cutting edge scientific research in horticulture.
Farmers, landscape architects, and biotechnologists alike will have their information appetites sated with this collection of nearly 50 journals focused specifically on key issues in gardening, landscaping, and other areas of horticulture. A fertile and growing collection, this collection includes content relating to both the practical aspects as well as the scientific theory of horticulture studies.
These databases cover periodicals and other sources from a wide variety of disciplines.
The world's largest scholarly, multi-discipline, full text database designed specifically for academic institutions. With a collection of 4,000 peer-reviewed, scholarly full text journals, this database offers critical information from many sources found in no other database. The database includes full-page images as well as color embedded images. Scholarly, full text resources are provided for nearly all academic areas of study: social sciences, humanities, education, computer sciences, engineering, language and linguistics, arts literature, medical sciences, and ethnic studies. Search Guide|Video Tutorial
A full-text collection in PDF format of retrospective issues from 162 scholarly journals of prime importance in their fields. Subject coverage includes African-American Studies, Anthropology, Asian Studies,Ecology and Botany, Economics, Education, Finance, General Science, History, Literature, Mathematics, Philosophy, Political Science, Population/ Demography, Sociology, and Statistics. Dates of coverage: Varies depending on journal title; most have a moving wall that excludes the most recent 2-5 years of coverage. Includes Early Journal Content published prior to 1923 in the United States and prior to 1870 elsewhere - nearly 500,000 articles from 218 journals.
The largest aggregated full-text database with more than 8,400 full-text titles among the 11,500 titles covered. Over 160 subject areas are covered extensively including business and economics, health and medical, news and world affairs, technology, social sciences, sciences, etc. For information on how to use this database, click the Search Guide ! Video Tutorial
The largest aggregated full-text database with more than 8,400 full-text titles among the 11,500 titles covered. Over 160 subject areas are covered extensively including business and economics, health and medical, news and world affairs, technology, social sciences, sciences, etc. Search Guide | Video Tutorial
Contains more than 3,000 full text journals, including peer-reviewed journals and reference sources with extensive coverage of the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature and other subjects. Includes full-text coverage of the New York Times back to 1995. Search Guide
Provides desktop access to more than 6,000 full text periodical titles including 121 wire services; full indexing of The New York Times, The Wall Street Journal, The Washington Post, The Los Angeles Times, and The Christian Science Monitor newspapers; and a total of more than 10,000 periodical titles with 25 years of backfile coverage from 1980 to present. Search Guide
Combines nearly 80 of the most frequently consulted biographical sources with more than 250 full-text periodicals to provide in-depth, full-text information. This reference database integrates more than one million thumbnail biographies from the Complete Marquis Who's Who®, the Encyclopedia of World Biography, Scribner's Encyclopedia of American Lives, Who's Who Among African Americans, Dictionary of American Biography, and many more sources. For information on how to use this database, click the Search Guide.
Provides contextual information on the world's most influential people. The new solution merges Gale's authoritative reference content (including Lives Perspectives) with periodicals and multimedia organized into a user-friendly portal experience while also allowing users to search for people based on name, occupation, nationality, ethnicity, birth/death dates and places, or gender as well as keyword and full text. Search Guide | Video Tutorial
Provides a search of scholarly literature across many disciplines and sources, including abstracts and articles.Access full text articles from Ely Library's online collection. Guide to Off-Campus access.
Search Google Scholar to find citations to scholarly literature. See the Google Scholar Guide to find out how to access Ely Library's Resources via Google Scholar.
The largest, free collection of scholarly journal Tables of Contents (TOCs): 25,034 journals including 8,246 selected Open Access journals and 10,275 Hybrid journals from 2411 publishers. JournalTOCs pulls together a database of Table of Contents (TOCs) from scholarly journals and provides a convenient single "one stop shop" interface to these TOCs