Skip to main content

Ely Library at Westfield State University

Academic CalendarA-Z Offices & ServicesClass cancellationsBookstoreTechnology supportMy WestfieldEmail - studentsEmail - Faculty & staffPlato - Online learningEmloyee self-serviceReserve spaceLibrary homeWestfield State University home pageImage Map

Psychology: 1) Getting There

Where should I go to find empirical literature in Psychology?

PsycINFO is a product of the American Psychological Association (APA) providing indexing to citations and abstracts from books, journals, and dissertations in the field of Psychology. It also includes access to the full text items available in PsycArticles. It is the go-to database for browsing psychological research and publications. 

Is there anything else I can use?

There are other databases that cover the field of Psychology and some that may be appopriate if your topic is more interdisciplinary in nature, but you'll probably always want to do the majority of your searching in PscyINFO. If you'd like to explore other options, take a look at the Databases tab on this guide. 

A word about Google Scholar: Some students prefer the search interface of Google Scholar but it does not have the same indexing or limits that are available in PsycINFO so if you choose to use it, you'll have the extra responsibility of insuring that your sources meet the criteria of your assignment,

You do have the ability to add Ely Library to your Google Scholar so that it will link content you find with those that we have in full text. 

Can I use PsycINFO from off campus?

Yes, you can use all of the library databases from off campus. You will be prompted to login using your network ID and password which are the same ones used to access your email. 

577 Western Ave, Westfield, MA 01086

https://lib.westfield.ma.edu/home

Contact Us