LibGuides: Theatre Arts: Databases

Theatre Arts & Humanities Specific Databases

These databases cover periodicals and other sources specificially related to theatre arts and the humanities.

Digital Theatre+ This link opens in a new window
A robust streaming video collection of over 900 live full length productions – including Digital Theatre’s own recordings alongside collections from the likes of the BBC, Royal Shakespeare Company, Broadway Digital Archive, Royal Opera House, London Symphony Orchestra, as well as in-depth interviews with industry professionals including actors, directors as well as all backstage staff: lighting technicians, fight coordinators, stage managers et al.
Films On Demand This link opens in a new window
A Web-based digital video delivery service that provides more than 10,000 streaming videos and more than 100,000 video clips anytime, anywhere. The videos provide than 4,800 hours of high-quality educational content in dozens of subject areas. Special features allow users to organize and bookmark clips, create and share playlists, and personalize folders.
Create a playlist: http://sites.google.com/site/filmsondemand/step-by-step-tutorial
Gale Literature Resource Center This link opens in a new window
Provides direct access to biographies, bibliographies and critical analyses of authors from every age and literary discipline in a single Internet-searchable database. Includes more than 38,000 full text critical analyses, 122,000 biographies of novelists, poets, essayists, journalists and other writers, with in-depth coverage of 2,500 of the most-studied authors.
Humanities International Index This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive database covering journals, books and other important reference sources in the humanities. Subjects include: archaeology, classical studies, art, performing arts, philosophy, history, music, linguistics, literature, and religion.
MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
Indexes 4,400 journals and series plus books from 1,000 publishers covering language, literature, and folklore. Includes the MLA Directory of Periodicals which contains information for more than 7,000 language, literature, and folklore journals and series providing addresses, advertising rates, and information about submissions for publication.
Project Muse This link opens in a new window
Access to 223 full-text journals from university press publishers covering multiple topics in the Humanities, Social Sciences, and Sciences.

Multidisciplinary Databases

These databases cover periodicals and other sources from a wide variety of disciplines.

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Biography in Context This link opens in a new window
Combines nearly 80 of the most frequently consulted biographical sources with more than 250 full-text periodicals to provide in-depth, full-text information. This reference database integrates more than one million thumbnail biographies from the Complete Marquis Who's Who®, the Encyclopedia of World Biography, Scribner's Encyclopedia of American Lives, Who's Who Among African Americans, Dictionary of American Biography, and many more sources.
Academic OneFile Select This link opens in a new window
Provides a combination of indexing, abstracts, images, and full-text for scholarly and general interest journals and magazine titles. Covers a broad range of academic disciplines from art and literature and theology to economics and the sciences. Includes vocational and technical titles.
New York Times This link opens in a new window
New York Times content from the following ProQuest collections: New York Times, Late Edition (East Coast) from June 1, 1980, to the present; New York Daily Times (1851 - 1857); New York Times Historical (1851 - 2018); New York Times Book Review; New York Times Español; New York Times Magazine; New York Times (online); New York Times, International Edition (8/1/1992 - Present, some exceptions); The Daily (podcast); New York Times Video
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
A full-text collection in PDF format of retrospective issues from 162 scholarly journals of prime importance in their fields. Subject coverage includes African-American Studies, Anthropology, Asian Studies, Ecology and Botany, Economics, Education, Finance, General Science, History, Literature, Mathematics, Philosophy, Political Science, Population / Demography, Sociology, and Statistics.
ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window
The largest aggregated full-text database with more than 8,400 full-text titles among the 11,500 titles covered. Over 160 subject areas are covered extensively including business and economics, health and medical, news and world affairs, technology, social sciences, sciences, etc.

Journal Titles A-Z

Journal Titles A-Z

Do you have a citation, but want to know if we have access to the full-text? Use the FTPD to find out.