LibGuides: Communication: Databases

Communication and Related Subjects Databases

These databases cover periodicals and other sources related to communications.

Communication & Mass Media Complete This link opens in a new window
ProQuest Social Science Journals This link opens in a new window
Provides access to a variety of social science journals. The database includes over 510 titles, with more than 280 available in full text. Coverage extends back to the early 1990s.
Project Muse This link opens in a new window
Access to 223 full-text journals from university press publishers covering multiple topics in the Humanities, Social Sciences, and Sciences.
Ad*Access This link opens in a new window
A searchable and browseable database with access to digitized versions of more than 7,300 advertisements printed between 1911 and 1955. The advertisements are divided into 5 major categories: Beauty and Hygiene, Transportation, Radio, Television, and World War II.
Films On Demand This link opens in a new window
A Web-based digital video delivery service that provides more than 10,000 streaming videos and more than 100,000 video clips anytime, anywhere. The videos provide than 4,800 hours of high-quality educational content in dozens of subject areas. Special features allow users to organize and bookmark clips, create and share playlists, and personalize folders.
Create a playlist: http://sites.google.com/site/filmsondemand/step-by-step-tutorial
NexisUni This link opens in a new window
Database of news, business, and legal sources, including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790.
New York Times Historical Collection - 1851-2020 This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text and full-image articles for newspapers dating back to 1851. The historical collection includes digital reproductions of every page from every issue--cover to cover--in downloadable PDF files.
NYT Historical database is an ongoing project with digitization being done by decade.
NewsBank - Western MA Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Online access the following western Massachusetts newspapers: The Advocate (North Adams); Amherst Bulletin (Amherst); The Berkshire Eagle (Pittsfield); Daily Hampshire Gazette (Northampton); North Adams Transcript (North Adams); The Recorder (Greenfield); The Republican (Springfield); Springfield Advocate (Springfield); Springfield Examiner (Springfield); Valley Advocate (Easthampton)
ProQuest Telecommunications This link opens in a new window
Search the full text of top telecommunications industry publications. Includes magazines, journals, and newsletters for the latest in this fast changing industry.

Multidisciplinary Databases

These databases cover periodicals and other sources from a wide variety of disciplines.

Academic OneFile This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Academic OneFile Select This link opens in a new window
Provides a combination of indexing, abstracts, images, and full-text for scholarly and general interest journals and magazine titles. Covers a broad range of academic disciplines from art and literature and theology to economics and the sciences. Includes vocational and technical titles.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
A full-text collection in PDF format of retrospective issues from 162 scholarly journals of prime importance in their fields. Subject coverage includes African-American Studies, Anthropology, Asian Studies,Ecology and Botany, Economics, Education, Finance, General Science, History, Literature, Mathematics, Philosophy, Political Science, Population/ Demography, Sociology, and Statistics. Dates of coverage: Varies depending on journal title; most have a moving wall that excludes the most recent 2-5 years of coverage. Includes Early Journal Content published prior to 1923 in the United States and prior to 1870 elsewhere - nearly 500,000 articles from 218 journals.
ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window
The largest aggregated full-text database with more than 8,400 full-text titles among the 11,500 titles covered. Over 160 subject areas are covered extensively including business and economics, health and medical, news and world affairs, technology, social sciences, sciences, etc.

Journal Titles A-Z

Do you have a citation, but want to know if we have access to the full-text? Use the Journal Titles A-Z list to find out.

Journal Titles A-Z