LibGuides: Movement Science: Databases & Searching Information

Specialized Medical Databases

MEDLINE (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
Medline is the foremost index of scholarly biomedical and life sciences journal articles. Currently indexes articles from 5600 journals! Use MeSH for best results
PubMed This link opens in a new window
Includes Medline database with pre-print article information and book citations. Some full text is available. Used by medical professionals in all fields.

Expert Searching in PubMed [for a literature review or any other type of medical research project]]
From Global Health with Greg Martin

CINAHL Plus with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Use this database for Allied Health topics including Occupational and Physical Therapies.

ProQuest Health and Medical Collection This link opens in a new window
Many therapies related to Sport Medicine can be found here but articles will also include those related to non sport issues such as heart surgery. Limit your searches to specific sport conditions.

Cochrane Reviews By Topic
These broad based topics can help you focus your search. Select a topic or enter a key word in the search bar at the top right of your screen.
Biomedical Reference Collection: Basic
more...less...
Ebsco. Updated Monthly. Provides access to 100 full text journals covering such disciplines as clinical medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system and the preclinical sciences. All 100 full text journals contained in the database are also indexed in MEDLINE. Biomedical Reference Collection: Basic can be searched independently, but also allows users to conveniently link to full text from citations within MEDLINE. Search Guide | Video Tutorial

Subject Specific

These databases cover periodicals and other sources specificially related to Movement Science & Athletic Training.

SPORTDiscus with Full Text This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive, international database covering sport, physical education, and physical fitness literature from 1975 to the present. Indexes scholarly journals, magazines, trade publications, and reference books. Limited full text is available..

Physical Therapy & Sports Medicine Collection
more...less...
Gale - 1980 - .Access to authoritative content that includes over 100 titles covering the fields of physical therapy and sports medicine. It covers a diverse topics in the field, including proven treatment techniques, experimental research theses and many more.

Gale OneFile: Health and Medicine This link opens in a new window
A multi-source database for health and wellness research. This database includes references to medical and consumer periodicals, health newsletters, reference books, referral information, topical overviews, and pamphlets. Some full text included.

Movement Science Databases (All)
Physiotherapy Evidence Database (PEDro)
PEDro is a free database containing randomised trials, systematic reviews and clinical practice guidelines in physiotherapy. Where possible, a link to the full text is available. All trials on PEDro are independently assessed for quality.

Advanced Searching

STROBE Search
This represents an international, collaborative initiative of epidemiologists, methodologists, statisticians, researchers and journal editors involved in the conduct and dissemination of observational studies, with the common aim of STrengthening the Reporting of OBservational studies in Epidemiology.
more...less...
"Observational studies involve the study of participants without any forced change to their circumstances, that is, without any intervention."
STROBE CheckLists
PEDro Scale
"The PEDro scale was developed to help PEDro users to rapidly identify trials that are likely to be internally valid and have sufficient statistical information to guide clinical decision-making."
Observational Studies and Their Utility for Practice
This article contains a table explaining the strengths and limitations of various types of observational studies.
How Do Cross-Sectional Studies Work?
Look here for features and defining characteristics of a cross-sectional study.

Tools

Use the Ely Library QuickSearch to locate journal & magazine articles in our collection and elsewhere. To do so, select the Articles tab from the QuickSearch box and enter keyword, subject, article title (in quotation marks if you know the specific title), or author.

Ely Library QuickSearch
This system is good for beginning searches on a topic
NLM Journal Abbreviations
Use this to decipher the full names of journals indexed in PubMed and Medline.
Medical Dictionary (Medline Plus)
Journal Titles A-Z
Do you have a citation and want to know if we have access to the full-text? Use this link (also available under the QuickSearch box on the Library Home Page) to find out.
Interlibrary Loan (ILL)
Use this to place a request for any book or article that is otherwise not available through the Westfield State University Library.

Dietary Supplements

Dietary Supplement Fact Sheets

Computer Access to Research on Dietary Supplements This link opens in a new window
From the National Institutes of Health. 1999- . A database of current and ongoing dietary supplement research funded by the federal government
PubMed Dietary Supplement Subset This link opens in a new window
Replaces the International Bibliographic Information on Dietary Supplements (IBIDS) database, 1999-2010, which was a collaboration between the two U.S. government agencies, Office of Dietary Supplements (ODS) and United States Department of Agriculture National Agricultural Library. The subset is designed to limit search results to citations from a broad spectrum of dietary supplement literature including vitamin, mineral, phytochemical, ergogenic, botanical, and herbal supplements in human nutrition and animal models.