LibGuides: Computer & Information Science: Databases

Subject Specific

These databases cover periodicals and other sources specificially related to Computer Science and Information Science.

ACM Digital Library This link opens in a new window
Citations and full text from Association for Computing Machinery journal and newsletter articles and conference proceedings.
ProQuest Computing This link opens in a new window
Provides comprehensive coverage of computer topics back to the 1990s. The database includes scholarly journals, trade publications, and consumer titles among more than 350 titles, with nearly 300 available in full text. The database includes product reviews, database design and management, software, hardware, e-commerce, Web site development, intranets and extranets, and technology management.
ProQuest Telecommunications This link opens in a new window
Search the full text of top telecommunications industry publications. Includes magazines, journals, and newsletters for the latest in this fast changing industry.

arXiv
more...less...
arXiv is an e-print service in the fields of physics, mathematics, computer science, quantitative biology, quantitative finance and statistics. Submissions to arXiv should conform to Cornell University academic standards. arXiv is owned and operated by Cornell University, a private not-for-profit educational institution. arXiv is funded by Cornell University Library, the Simons Foundation and by the member institutions.

Library, Information Science Technology Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts (LISTA) is an index of scholarship in library and information science. It includes citations, indexing, and abstracts for journal articles, books, research reports, and conference proceedings. Subjects covered include librarianship, classification, cataloging, bibliometrics, information management, online information retrieval, and more.

LISTA is the electronic counterpart and continuation of the print publications Information Science & Technology Abstracts (ISTA) and its predecessor, Information Science Abstracts.
Films On Demand This link opens in a new window
A Web-based digital video delivery service that provides more than 10,000 streaming videos and more than 100,000 video clips anytime, anywhere. The videos provide than 4,800 hours of high-quality educational content in dozens of subject areas. Special features allow users to organize and bookmark clips, create and share playlists, and personalize folders.A tutorial, including step-by-step instructions on how to Create Playlists, is here . Quick Start Guides in PDF are available: Sharing Videos and Organizing Videos.
Create a playlist: http://sites.google.com/site/filmsondemand/step-by-step-tutorial

Information Science and Library Issues Collection
more...less...
This collection, comprised of content from more than 100 leading industry journals, provides current and accurate information for this fast-moving field. Information professionals and other knowledge workers - from the research specialist to the information architect - will find appropriate and useful information in their areas of expertise, including such topics as information infrastructure, data processing techniques, metadata architectures, and more.

Multidisciplinary

These databases cover periodicals and other sources from a wide variety of disciplines.

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
A full-text collection in PDF format of retrospective issues from 162 scholarly journals of prime importance in their fields. Subject coverage includes African-American Studies, Anthropology, Asian Studies, Ecology and Botany, Economics, Education, Finance, General Science, History, Literature, Mathematics, Philosophy, Political Science, Population / Demography, Sociology, and Statistics. Dates of coverage: Varies depending on journal title; most have a moving wall that excludes the most recent 2-5 years of coverage. Includes Early Journal Content published prior to 1923 in the United States and prior to 1870 elsewhere - nearly 500,000 articles from 218 journals. For information on how to use this database, click the Search Guide.
ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window
The largest aggregated full-text database with more than 8,400 full-text titles among the 11,500 titles covered. Over 160 subject areas are covered extensively including business and economics, health and medical, news and world affairs, technology, social sciences, sciences, etc. For information on how to use this database, click the Search Guide ! Video Tutorial
Academic OneFile This link opens in a new window
General OneFile This link opens in a new window
Articles from a very wide variety of magazines, trade journals, and scholarly journals, 1980-present.
Academic OneFile Select This link opens in a new window
Provides a combination of indexing, abstracts, images, and full-text for scholarly and general interest journals and magazine titles. Covers a broad range of academic disciplines from art and literature and theology to economics and the sciences. Includes vocational and technical titles.
Biography in Context This link opens in a new window
Combines nearly 80 of the most frequently consulted biographical sources with more than 250 full-text periodicals to provide in-depth, full-text information. This reference database integrates more than one million thumbnail biographies from the Complete Marquis Who's Who®, the Encyclopedia of World Biography, Scribner's Encyclopedia of American Lives, Who's Who Among African Americans, Dictionary of American Biography, and many more sources. For information on how to use this database, click the Search Guide.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Provides a search of scholarly literature across many disciplines and sources, including abstracts and articles.
Access full text articles from Ely Library's online collection. Guide to Off-Campus access
ProQuest Ebook Central This link opens in a new window
ProQuest Ebook Central contains eBooks from various publishers across a wide range of academic disciplines. The collection includes books from major university presses and other scholarly publishers. Titles are updated regularly.

Journal List A-Z

Do you have a citation, but want to know if we have access to the full-text? Search the Journal Title directory to find out.

Journal Tables of Contants

JournalTOCs

The largest, free collection of scholarly journal Tables of Contents (TOCs): 25,034 journals including 8,246 selected Open Access journals and 10,275 Hybrid journals from 2411 publishers. JournalTOCs pulls together a database of Table of Contents (TOCs) from scholarly journals and provides
a convenient single "one stop shop" interface to these TOCs

Help and Information

Ask a Librarian

Chat
Email: askus@westfield.ma.edu
Phone: 413-572-5234

More Help

BPL eCard

BPL eCard Registration
You may register for a Boston Public Library eCard for online access to numerous databases if you are any of the following:
- a permanent resident of Mass.
- Reside in Mass. because you are attending school here
- Commute to a Mass. employer regularly
- Own property (real estate) in Mass.

OmniFile Full Text, Select Edition- contains the full text only records that are contained in 11 Wilson databases including these three science databases

Applied Science & Technology Full Text
Biological & Agricultural Index Plus
General Science Full Text