"CIESIN was established in 1989 as a non-profit, non-governmental organization to provide information that would help scientists, decision-makers, and the public better understand their changing world." Provides information about geography, environment, demography and population, health and so on. Searchable.

From WSU Geography and Regional Planning Department, provides Links to Information about its programs

"World's leading provider of geospatial information." Includes news, online journals (GIS World, Business Geographics, GIS Europe, Mapping Awareness, etc.) plus other resources, conference information, etc.

"The U.S. Geological Survey provides the Nation with reliable, impartial information to describe and understand the Earth...The USGS Web comprises more than 150 servers distributed nationwide which collectively serve approximately 250,000 web pages. The four major USGS Web servers besides this one are: Biology, Geology, Geography, Geospatial Information, and Water." Browse or search each site for information.

Part of the movement towards Open Education Resources (OER), the site makes peer-reviewed, Creative Commons-licensed geography educational materials available for open access. Visitors can click on "eTextbooks" for links to OER geography and geology textbooks, geography lab manuals, and geospatial technology instructional materials. The books are designed to be readable on smartphones and tablets and for use in face-to-face, hybrid, or entirely online courses. There is also an "Online Resources" page with helpful links to professional organizations, government agencies, private sector institutions, and research centers and projects touching on physical, environmental, and human geography, geographic information systems, remote sensing, and spatial data analysis.

Information about the APA, Job listing, Certification information, the APA National Planning Conference schedule, Press Releases which include "hot topics" and "points of view", and Planning Research which provides links to research of the American Planning Association (e.g. City Parks Forum and Smart Growth Agenda).

Check here for government information on Affordable Housing issues, Block Grants, Community Renewal, Brownfields Economic Development Initiative, Special Needs Assistance, Community Viability, etc.

Look here for information on how urban planning developed. Included are statements about techniques, principles, theories, and practice by those who helped to create [this] new professional specialization.

This resource page includesinfo and publications of all CCPD Centers and Programs: Center for Population Dynamics; Community Planning Program:: Economic Inclusion Program; Housing Policy Research Program

"DSIRE is a comprehensive source of information on state, local, utility, and federal incentives that promote renewable energy and energy efficiency." Includes summary maps (showing contractor license requirements, income tax incentives, property tax exemptions, rebate programs, and other topics), summary tables, reports and presentations, a glossary, and link to related sites. A project of the North Carolina Solar Center, North Carolina State University, and the Interstate Renewable Energy Council (IREC).

The RReDC provides information on several types of renewable energy resources in the United States, in the form of publications, data, and maps. An extensive dictionary of renewable energy related terms is also provided. The News section announces new products on the RReDC. Links to other sources of renewable resource and related information on Biomass, Geothermal, Solar, Ultraviolet Solar Radiation, and Wind Energy.

The EPI is a project of the World Economic Forum's Global Leaders for Tomorrow Environment Task Force in collaboration with CIESIN and the Yale Center for Environmental Law and Policy. The 2010 EPI centers on two broad environmental protection objectives: (1) reducing environmental stresses on human health, and (2) promoting ecosystem vitality and sound natural resource management. These are gauged using 25 indicators tracked in 10 policy categories/

Provides information and reports on which pollutants are impacting a community and who is responsible for them. Searchable by zip code, the site present information in four categories: air, waste, land, and water. Included are lists of Superfund sites and water quality problems, an environmetal justice report for each county, maps, ways to compare a community with others, and methods for taking action to rectify pollutuion problems. Created by the Environmental Defense Fund, an independent not-for-profit scientific and advocacy group supported by more than 300,000 members.

Here find an interactive mapping system that shows elevations, roads, structures, landuse & landcover, and more, down to a very precise level (you can even find out the difference in elevation between South Lot and the Campus Green!). This will launch the National Map Viewer where you can "Find Place" on the left (recommended) and then specify what you see on the right.

The website of the WRWA includes educational and recreational links to local resources, museums, parks, organizations and government agencies. The WRWA aims to "protect and improve the natural resources of the Watershed, as well as to expand recreational and other land use opportunities for people's enjoyment and for sound ecology."

Provides links to different web pages and resources focusing on the study of the history of maps. Useful for the academic or layperson.

Provides information on Environmental and GeoScience Maps Includes historical maps and current GIS data for areas of Western Massachusetts. From University of Massachusetts at Amherst.

This tool "provides a wide range of federal, state, and local information about environmental conditions and features in an area of your choice." Searches can be done by zip code or city/town. Maps for selected areas feature watersheds, regulated sites, political boundaries, flood zones, and more.

This is a good place to see what is going on at the state level in environmental affairs.

ICE performs research and development on environmental information systems in partnership with a variety of state, federal, and international agencies and a number of environmental and land management organizations. The Center hosts a number of public environmental and natural resource databases, most available over the Internet, and provides technical support to decision makers in a number of areas of public policy. Research and development projects include, biodiversity in parks and reserves, invasive species, water quality in rivers, sources and management practices for non-point-source water pollution, protection of drinking water, watershed assessment and monitoring, floodplain restoration, land use planning and law, and stakeholder processes for watershed protection, as well as research into the next generation of remote sensing, geographic analysis, and semantic web technologies.

With links to water data, including "renewable freshwater supply," "access to safe drinking water in developing countries," and "hydroelectric capacity and production," to a "water conflict chronology," and to the "International Water Law Project," this site contains substantial information about the limited supply of H2O on our planet.

Recent research suggests that role-playing simulations may be particularly effective for motivating people to take action on climate change, even across political divides. Climate Interactive, a project of the Washington, DC-based nonprofit New Venture Fund, has created several such resources that interested readers can access here. These include interactive tools, such as the downloadable C-ROADS and En-ROADS simulations, which allow users to model and assess the impacts of large-scale climate pledges and energy use decisions. Simulation programs include the World Climate Simulation, which is an interactive role-playing climate negotiation game for groups of 8-50 people that has had thousands of participants worldwide. Climate Interactive's tools and programs may be of particular interest to educators, but they have also been used by policymakers and NGOs, community and business leaders, and general audiences. Readers may also be interested in the project's upcoming and recorded webinars for guidance on how to facilitate the simulation exercises. Climate Interactive was founded in 2005 by Drew Jones and Beth Sawin at MIT's Sustainability Institute (now the Donella Meadows Institute). In 2017, it won Prospect Magazine's award for Best US Energy and Environment Think Tank. [JDC]