LibGuides: Language and Culture Studies: Databases

Subject Specific

These databases cover periodicals and other sources specificially related to languages and literature.

MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
MLA International Bibliography is an index of scholarship on all aspects of modern languages and literature. It indexes journal articles, series, monographs, dissertations, bibliographies, proceedings, scholarly websites, and other materials.

MLA International Bibliography covers a broad range of humanities subjects, including world languages and literatures, linguistics, dramatic arts, film, folklore, rhetoric, composition and writing studies, teaching of language, radio, television and the history of publishing. Its scope also makes it an excellent resource for research in history, philosophy, communications, and cross-disciplinary subjects such as gender and ethnic studies.

Coverage is international, encompassing scholarly publications in more than 70 languages. Numerous full-text links provide easy access to resources in the library as well as open access publications. This database also includes the MLA Directory of Periodicals and the MLA Bibliography Thesaurus.
Gale Literature Resource Center This link opens in a new window
Gale Literature Resource Center is a full-text database that provides biographies, bibliographies, and critical analysis of authors and their works from every age and literary discipline. The database offers a variety of search options, including searches by person or work. The database includes biographies for more than 160,000 novelists, poets, essayists, journalists and other writers, with in-depth biographies of 2,000 of the most-studied authors.

It also includes more than 80,000 selected full-text critical essays and reviews from Gale literature reference series; more than 1,100,000 full-text articles, critical essays, and reviews from over 450 scholarly journals and literary magazines; and approximately 130,000 audio files, many of which link to NPR programs. This content comes from a variety of sources, including the following major reference sources: Contemporary Authors Online; Contemporary Literary Criticism Select; and, Dictionary of Literary Biography Online.
Humanities International Index This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive database covering journals, books and other important reference sources in the humanities. Subjects include: archaeology, classical studies, art, performing arts, philosophy, history, music, linguistics, literature, and religion.
Project Muse This link opens in a new window
Access to 223 full-text journals from university press publishers covering multiple topics in the Humanities, Social Sciences, and Sciences.
Global Issues in Context This link opens in a new window
Offers international viewpoints on a broad spectrum of global issues, topics, and current events. Featured are hundreds of continuously updated issue and country portals that bring together a variety of specially selected, highly relevant sources for analysis of social, political, military, economic, environmental, health, and cultural issues. Each of these gateway pages includes an overview, unique articles written by local experts, reference, periodical, primary source and statistical information. Rich multimedia - including podcasts, video, and interactive graphs - enhance each portal.
World History in Context This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive collection of award-winning reference titles, full-text articles from leading scholarly publications, an array of primary sources, and images, maps and charts which provide expansive geographic and chronological research materials for the study of world history.

From ancient Europe to Latin America and from the Far East to the Renaissance, world history curricula is supported with over 1,800 primary sources, 40 reference titles and more than 150 periodicals.
PAIS International & PAIS International Archive This link opens in a new window
Covers 1972 to present with references to more than 625,800 journal articles, books, government documents, statistical directories, grey literature, research reports, conference reports, publications of international agencies, microfiche, Internet material, and more. Publications from over 120 countries are included.

In addition to English, some of the indexed materials are published in French, German, Italian, Portuguese, Spanish, and other languages. The PAIS Archive database comprises a retrospective conversion of the PAIS Annual Cumulated Bulletin, Volumes 1-62, published 1915-1976. PAIS Archive contains over 1.23 million records.

Multidisciplinary

These databases cover periodicals and other sources from a wide variety of disciplines.

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
The world's largest scholarly, multi-discipline, full text database designed specifically for academic institutions. Contains a robust collection of peer-reviewed, scholarly full text journals, this database offers critical information from many sources found in no other database. The database includes full-page images as well as color embedded images. Scholarly, full text resources are provided for nearly all academic areas of study: social sciences, humanities, education, computer sciences, engineering, language and linguistics, arts literature, medical sciences, and ethnic studies.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
A full-text collection in PDF format of retrospective issues from 162 scholarly journals of prime importance in their fields. Subject coverage includes African-American Studies, Anthropology, Asian Studies,Ecology and Botany, Economics, Education, Finance, General Science, History, Literature, Mathematics, Philosophy, Political Science, Population/ Demography, Sociology, and Statistics. Dates of coverage: Varies depending on journal title; most have a moving wall that excludes the most recent 2-5 years of coverage. Includes Early Journal Content published prior to 1923 in the United States and prior to 1870 elsewhere - nearly 500,000 articles from 218 journals.
ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window
The largest aggregated full-text database with more than 8,400 full-text titles among the 11,500 titles covered. Over 160 subject areas are covered extensively including business and economics, health and medical, news and world affairs, technology, social sciences, sciences, etc.
Academic OneFile This link opens in a new window
Contains peer-reviewed, full-text journals and articles, including reference sources. Extensive coverage of the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature and other subjects. Includes full-text coverage of The New York Times back to 1995.
General OneFile This link opens in a new window
Articles from a very wide variety of magazines, trade journals, and scholarly journals, 1980-present.
Academic OneFile Select This link opens in a new window
Provides a combination of indexing, abstracts, images, and full-text for scholarly and general interest journals and magazine titles. Covers a broad range of academic disciplines from art and literature and theology to economics and the sciences. Includes vocational and technical titles.
Biography in Context This link opens in a new window
Provides contextual information on the world's most influential people. The new solution merges Gale's authoritative reference content (including Lives Perspectives) with periodicals and multimedia organized into a user-friendly portal experience while also allowing users to search for people based on name, occupation, nationality, ethnicity, birth/death dates and places, or gender as well as keyword and full text.

Journal Titles A-Z List

Journal Titles A-Z
more...less...
Search this list to find if we have full text access to a magazine or journal.

Newspapers

Search this database for articles from international newspapers.

NexisUni This link opens in a new window
Database of news, business, and legal sources, including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790.