A digital reference library that provides information from more than 600 high-quality reference books from the world's leading publishers. Offering access to over 1.7 million individual entries, xreferplus contains all the types of reference books that you'd want to see in any quality library: dictionaries, encyclopedias, thesauri, and books of quotations, plus numerous subject-specific titles covering everything from the arts to accountancy and law to literature. Search Tutorial | Title List
Provides access to the library's collection of 3,300 eBooks and 3,407 publicly accessible eBooks, such as Hamlet, by William Shakespeare. Using EBSCO ebooks
Provides access to the library's collection of 3,300 eBooks and 3,407 publicly accessible eBooks, such as Hamlet, by William Shakespeare. The collection is searchable by author, title, subject, keyword, full text, and ISBN. Users may search for and view the full text of these books online, or create e free account in order to charge out books. Minimum browser requirements are: Microsoft Internet Explorer 5.5 or Netscape 6.2 or higher.
Provides searchable full text of 178 Reference works in 11 subject areas: Arts, Biography, Business, Environment, History, Literature, Medicine, Multicultural Studies, Nation and World, Science, and Social Science. Video Tutorial
Contains multiple collections, including the Biodiversity Heritage Library, Project Gutenberg, and the Children's Library. Provides the ability to read out-of-copyright and creative commons licensed works within a browser or to download texts in multiple formats for reading on an ereader.
Free access to the full text of more than 50,000 titles. The catalog can be searched by author, title, subject, or keyword and can be be limited to books or other media categories in any of 39 languages. Media categories include Audio Book, computer-generated Audio Book, human-read Data, Recorded Music, Sheet Music, Other recordings Moving Pictures, and Still Pictures. The catalog can also be browsed by author or title.
Free access to the Web (html) version, Microsoft Reader version, and Palm version of more than 2,100 publicly-available e-books including classic British and American fiction, major authors, children's literature, the Bible, Shakespeare, American history, African-American documents, and much more. The collection can be browsed by author or title and searched by keyword or phrase. Subject collections include: Illustrated Classics, African-American, Native American, Women Writers, The Bible, Literature in Translation, Shakespeare, Civil War, Young Readers, Early American Fiction, and the Center on Religion and Democracy. Each text can be accessed in HTML (web version) for online viewing, and can be downloaded as both a MS Reader E-book for the Microsoft Reader and a Palm-readable text for the Palm Reader. Software for the Microsoft Reader and the Palm Reader can be downloaded at the site. For a step-by-step guide on how to get and use other ebooks and ebook software, look at Candida Martinelli's informative site at http://home.wanadoo.nl/cecilia.mccabe/instructions.htm.
From the Western European Studies Section of the Association of College & Research Libraries, this site lists Internet sources for literary texts in the western European languages other than English. Translations are mentioned only when they are included in collections of original language texts, or when they are themselves of interest. Collections are listed more or less in order of size; indivdual authors are listed alphabetically. EuRoDocs lists many historical and social science texts in western European languages.
These open access sources are readily available to all - without fees or subscriptions. The links connect to European primary historical documents that are transcribed, reproduced in facsimile, or translated.
Provides the full text of classic works on economics, an Encyclopedia of Economics, monthly articles on economic topics, and a moderated economics blog. Works are available in HTML, PDF, and MSReader formats.