LibGuides: Movement Science: Special Populations

Journal Titles A-Z

Do you have a citation, but want to know if we have access to the full-text? Use the following link to find out.

Journal Titles A-Z
Interlibrary Loan (ILL)
Use this to place a request for any book or article that is otherwise not available through the Westfield State University Library.

Examples of Books on the Shelves

Encyclopedia of Sports Medicine
REF RC1206 E53 2001
Praeger Handbook of Sports Medicine and Athlete Health
REF RC1211 P73 2011
Sports and the Physically Challenged
REF GV709.3 .M37 2006

Specific Conditions

Physical Activity and Diabetes
From the Diabetes Sourcebook
HIV and Exercise
From the AIDS Sourcebook
Preventing Disease and Regaining Cardiovascular Health
From the Cardiovascular Disorders Sourcebook

Subject Specific Databases

These databases cover periodicals and other sources specificially related to Movement Science & Athletic Training.

SPORTDiscus with Full Text This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive, international database covering sport, physical education, and physical fitness literature from 1975 to the present Topics included are: sports medicine, exercise psychology, biomechanics, psychology, training, coaching, physical education and fitness, and related topics. The EBSCO version provides links to full text from 225 periodicals including 112 Scholarly Journals, 97 Magazines, 7 Trade Publications, 9 Industry Reports, 1 Health Report, and 9 reference books.

Gale Onefile: Physical Therapy & Sports Medicine
more...less...
Gale - 1980 - .Access to authoritative content that includes over 100 titles covering the fields of physical therapy and sports medicine. It covers a diverse topics in the field, including proven treatment techniques, experimental research theses and many more.

Gale OneFile: Health and Medicine This link opens in a new window
Created specifically for students, knowledgeable consumer health researchers, and health care professionals, Gale OneFile: Health and Medicine is the perfect resource for up-to-date information on the complete range of health care topics. With more than 2,500 embargo-free, full-text periodicals, reference books, pamphlets, and hundreds of videos demonstrating medical procedures and live surgeries, Gale OneFile: Health and Medicine ensures that researchers get current, scholarly, comprehensive answers to health-related questions.

Exclusive features, including Topic Finder, InterLink, and a mobile-optimized interface, support and enhance the search experience.

Other Medical Databases
Use these databases for topics on special medical conditions. Add another term such as Exercise or fitness to your search.
Other Movement Science Databases (All)

Books from the Ely Library

Sports and Athletics Preparation, Performance and Psychology
ISBN: 9781612098142
"This work discusses the effects of aerobic exercise in the treatment of metabolic syndrome-related disorders, heart and pulmonary diseases, locomotive apparatus disorders, neurological diseases, and gastrointestinal disorders."
Introduction to Athletic Training by Susan Kay Hillman
Call Number: Stacks RC1210 .H49 2000
This work includes a chapter entitled "Considerations for Athletes With Impairments."
Strategies for Inclusion
Call Number: Stacks GV445 .L54 2002
Find here tips for successfully integrating children with disabilities in physical education....[and] guidelines for appropriate inclusion in the least restrictive environment.
Fitness and Exercise Sourcebook
This chapter is from the Fitness and Exercise Sourcebook.

Ely Library QuickSearch

Use the Ely Library QuickSearch to locate journal & magazine articles in our collection and elsewhere. To do so, select the Articles tab from the QuickSearch box and enter keyword, subject, article title (in quotation marks if you know the specific title), or author.

Ely Library QuickSearch
This system is good for beginning searches on a topic
Journal Titles A-Z
Do you have a citation, but want to know if we have access to the full-text? Use this link (also available under the QuickSearch box on the Library Home Page) to find out.

Specialized Medical Databases

PubMed This link opens in a new window
PubMed comprises more than 21 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites. Indexes over 3,500 journals (most with abstracts).

Tutorial for PubMed Searching
From the National Library of Medicine

MEDLINE This link opens in a new window
Provides authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and much more. Created by the National Library of Medicine, MEDLINE allows users to search abstracts from over 4,000 current biomedical journals and to link to full text for articles contained within the Biomedical Reference Collection: Basic database. It includes the entire MEDLINE collection and uses MeSH (Medical Subject Headings) indexing with tree numbers, tree hierarchy and explosion capabilities to search abstracts from current biomedical journals, citations from Index Medicus, the International Nursing Index, and the Index to Dental Literature. This database is on EBSCOhost. Search Guide | Video Tutorial | See also the PUBMED version from the National Library of Medicine.

Tutorials for Medline (Ebsco Version)
Biomedical Reference Collection: Basic
more...less...
Ebsco. Updated Monthly. Provides access to 100 full text journals covering such disciplines as clinical medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system and the preclinical sciences. All 100 full text journals contained in the database are also indexed in MEDLINE. Biomedical Reference Collection: Basic can be searched independently, but also allows users to conveniently link to full text from citations within MEDLINE. Search Guide | Video Tutorial

Ely Library at Westfield State University

Movement Science: Special Populations