Abstracts and indexes the international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. The database provides abstracts of journal articles and citations to book reviews drawn from over 1,700 serials publications, and also provides abstracts of books, book chapters, dissertations, and conference papers. Records added after 1974 contain in-depth and nonevaluative abstracts of journal articles. Many records from key journals in sociology, published since 2001, also include the references cited in the bibliography of the source article. Each individual reference may also have links to an abstract and/or to other papers that cite that reference; these links increase the possibility of finding more potentially relevant articles. Search Guide
Contains records from more than 450 journal in the fields of social work and human services from 1977 to present. Coverage includes theory and practice, areas of service, social issues,and social problems. Also includes The Register of Clinical Social Workers, a searchable directory of clinical social workers in the United States. Search Guide
ProQuest Sociology provides access to the full-text of more than 310 journals in sociology and social work. This collection provides full-text coverage of many core titles included in Sociological Abstracts and Social Services Abstracts. The coverage of the international literature of sociology and social work includes culture and social structure, history and theory of sociology, social psychology, substance abuse and addiction, and many more topics. Search Guide | Video Tutorial
Offers international viewpoints on a broad spectrum of global issues, topics, and current events. Featured are hundreds of continuously updated issue and country portals that bring together a variety of specially selected, highly relevant sources for analysis of social, political, military, economic, environmental, health, and cultural issues. Each of these gateway pages includes an overview, unique articles written by local experts, reference, periodical, primary source and statistical information. Rich multimedia - including podcasts, video, and interactive graphs - enhance each portal. Use Browse Issues and Topics, Country Finder, Basic Search or Advanced Search to explore the database.
Provides access to a variety of social science journals. The database includes over 510 titles, with more than 280 available in full text. Coverage extends back to the early 1990s. Search Guide | Video Tutorial
Provides bibliographic coverage of current research focused on social work, human services,and related areas, including social welfare, social policy, and community development. The database abstracts and indexes over 1,500 serials publications and includes abstracts of journal articles and dissertations, and citations to book reviews. Search Guide
More than 350 titles. providing a rich online collection of video available for the study of social work, psychotherapy, psychology, and psychiatric counseling. The collection's wealth of video and multiplicity of perspectives allow students and scholars to see, experience, and study counseling in ways never before possible. The suite of tools—searches and browses powered by Semantic Indexing™ and searchable transcripts synchronized to video—give the ability to drill down in seconds to find the footage of interest from hundreds of hours of video.Video Tutorials
An indexing and abstracting tool covering health, social services, psychology, sociology, economics, politics, race relations and education. , ASSIA provides a comprehensive source of social science and health information for the practical and academic professional. ASSIA currently contains over 470,000 records from over 500 journals published in 16 different countries, including the UK and US. Search Guide | Video Tutorial
An essential online resource for social science and interdisciplinary research, IBSS includes over two million bibliographic references to journal articles and to books, reviews and selected chapters dating back to 1951. It provides broad coverage of international material and incorporates over 100 languages and countries. Over 2,800 journals are regularly indexed and some 7,000 books are included each year. Abstracts are provided for half of all current journal articles and full text availability is continually increasing. Search Guide
Provides quick and easy access to modern and historical census data and demographic information. This resource brings together a vast and growing amount of quantitative data with an intuitive visual interface and report-generation tools that make demographic research, the analysis of social trends, and comparison of neighborhoods, communities, counties, and other areas accessible and interactive. Getting Started
AgeLine focuses exclusively on the population aged 50+ and issues of aging. AgeLine is the premier source for the literature of social gerontology and includes aging-related content from the health sciences, psychology, sociology, social work, economics, and public policy. AgeLine indexes over 200 journals, books, book chapters, and reports.
Abstracts and indexes the international literature in linguistics and related disciplines in the language sciences. The database covers all aspects of the study of language including phonetics, phonology, morphology, syntax and semantics. Complete coverage is given to various fields of linguistics including descriptive, historical, comparative, theoretical and geographical linguistics. In addition to abstracts of journal articles, books, book chapters, and dissertations, citations to book reviews are drawn from over 1,500 serials publications. Search Guide
Concentrates on the causes and effects of financing arrangements used by corporations. The group also studies corporate governance, relations between banks and corporations in different countries, and the effects of leveraged buyouts on profits, spending on research and development, and employment.
Analyzes numerous aspects of the virtual circle between economic analysis and policy innovation because economics is the inspiration for, or intertwined with, many policies: school choice, accountability, savings and aid plans for college, incentive pay for teachers, reducing the barriers of entry into teaching, and so on.
The International Trade and Investment (ITI) Program does research on patterns of international trade and foreign direct investment; policies designed to influence the level of trade and investment; and their consequences on importing and exporting countries, such as for their wages, growth, the environment, and so on.
Provides searchable access to the entire full text backfiles of PNAS - one of the world's most-cited multidisciplinary scientific serials. Since its establishment in 1914, PNAS continues to publish cutting-edge research reports, commentaries, reviews, perspectives, colloquium papers, and actions of the Academy. Coverage in PNAS spans the biological, physical, and social sciences.
A searchable and browsable database containing 41,103 abstracts of demographic literature published in Population Index from 1986-1998. Population Index, published since 1935, is the primary reference tool to the world's population literature. It presents an annotated bibliography of recently published books, journal articles, working papers, and other material on population topics. Search Guide
The largest bibliographic database dedicated to Economics and available freely on the Internet. Over 325,000 items of research can be browsed or searched, and over 225,000 can be downloaded in full text - some subscriptions required. This site is part of a large volunteer effort to enhance the free dissemination of research in Economics, RePEc. Includes working papers, articles, and software components.
Deep Web Technologies, ScienceResearch.com is a free, publicly available Internet web portal that searches thousands of high-quality journals and databases and ranks results by relevance on a single results page. Some full text is available but most citations include only a brief abstract. Subject areas covered include Astronomy, Biology Nature, Chemistry, Computers Technology, Earth Environmental Sciences, Engineering, General Science, Health Medicine, Materials Science, Mathematics, Physics, and Social Sciences.
The reference for students, researchers, librarians, and academics in the field. This 11-volume set includes 1800 entries written and edited by an international team of the world's best scholars and teachers.