Ely Library has an extensive collection of print encyclopedias, dictionaries, and handbooks that are available for use in the library. Some titles are available online, but many are not. Please consult the library catalog or visit the reference desk for help locating print reference resources.
Full Text Encyclopedias, Dictionaries, and Almanacs
A digital reference library that provides information from more than 600 high-quality reference books from the world's leading publishers. Offering access to over 1.7 million individual entries, xreferplus contains all the types of reference books that you'd want to see in any quality library: dictionaries, encyclopedias, thesauri, and books of quotations, plus numerous subject-specific titles covering everything from the arts to accountancy and law to literature. Search Tutorial | Title List
Features articles from both the Encyclopedia Britannica and Britannica Student Encyclopedia, as well as relevant links from their directory of reviewed Web sites and a selection of video clips. Includes Britannica's Heritage - a new section that explores past editions of the encyclopaedia. It features articles by notable contributors, overviews of the changing nature of human knowledge, and galleries of maps and other images from past editions.
Features over 25,000 informative segments of the encyclopedia meeting the research needs of elementary, middle and high school students. Search Guide| Video Tutorial
Formerly Gale Virtual Reference Library. Provides searchable full text of 178 Reference works in 11 subject areas: Arts, Biography, Business, Environment, History, Literature, Medicine, Multicultural Studies, Nation and World, Science, and Social Science. Video Tutorials | Title List
This is a free site providing access to the following resources: Information Please Almanac; Information Please Sports Almanac; Information Please Entertainment Almanac; Random House Webster's College Dictionary; and Columbia Encyclopedia (5th edition) The resources can be searched individually or simultaneously. They should provide quick facts and some good statistical information for users who do not require in-depth information.
"Searchable database of 449 dictionaries of all types covering numerous disciplines. Contains 1.4 million words. Searches can be of all dictionaries, a specific type, or a specific subject. An alphabetical list with links to the dictionaries in the database is at http://www.onelook.com/browse.shtm "
Provides quick and easy access to modern and historical census data and demographic information. This resource brings together a vast and growing amount of quantitative data with an intuitive visual interface and report-generation tools that make demographic research, the analysis of social trends, and comparison of neighborhoods, communities, counties, and other areas accessible and interactive. Getting Started
Provides contextual information on the world's most influential people. The new solution merges Gale's authoritative reference content (including Lives Perspectives) with periodicals and multimedia organized into a user-friendly portal experience while also allowing users to search for people based on name, occupation, nationality, ethnicity, birth/death dates and places, or gender as well as keyword and full text. Search Guide | Video Tutorial
A digital reference library that provides information from more than 600 high-quality reference books from the world's leading publishers. Offering access to over 1.7 million individual entries, xreferplus contains all the types of reference books that you'd want to see in any quality library: dictionaries, encyclopedias, thesauri, and books of quotations, plus numerous subject-specific titles covering everything from the arts to accountancy and law to literature. Search Tutorial | Title List
Newer editions can be found in the print reference collection. The standard summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the U.S.
Provides direct access to biographies, bibliographies and critical analyses of authors from every age and literary discipline in a single Internet-searchable database. Includes more than 38,000 full text critical analyses, 122,000 biographies of novelists, poets, essayists, journalists and other writers, with in-depth coverage of 2,500 of the most-studied authors. In addition to biographical, bibliographical and contextual information from the Contemporary Authors and Dictionary of Literary Biography databases, the LRC provides full-text criticism from the Contemporary Literary Criticism Select database and 258 full text journals.
The Serials Directory, 14th Edition provides up-to-date, accurate bibliographic information for more than 178,500 U.S. and international serials from over 85,000 publishers. Includes historical data for over 20,000 titles. Search Guide| Video Tutorial
