Provides direct access to biographies, bibliographies and critical analyses of authors from every age and literary discipline in a single Internet-searchable database. Includes more than 38,000 full text critical analyses, 122,000 biographies of novelists, poets, essayists, journalists and other writers, with in-depth coverage of 2,500 of the most-studied authors.
Provides direct access to biographies, bibliographies and critical analyses of authors from every age and literary discipline in a single Internet-searchable database. Includes more than 38,000 full text critical analyses, 122,000 biographies of novelists, poets, essayists, journalists and other writers, with in-depth coverage of 2,500 of the most-studied authors. In addition to biographical, bibliographical and contextual information from the Contemporary Authors and Dictionary of Literary Biography databases, the LRC provides full-text criticism from the Contemporary Literary Criticism Select database and 258 full text journals.
An index covering language, literature, and folklore. Includes the MLA Directory of Periodicals.
Indexes 4,400 journals and series plus books from 1,000 publishers covering language, literature, and folklore. Includes the MLA Directory of Periodicalswhich contains information for more than 7,000 language, literature, and folklore journals and series providing addresses, advertising rates, and information about submissions for publication. Search Guide| Video Tutorial
Provides contextual information on the world's most influential people. The new solution merges Gale's authoritative reference content (including Lives Perspectives) with periodicals and multimedia organized into a user-friendly portal experience while also allowing users to search for people based on name, occupation, nationality, ethnicity, birth/death dates and places, or gender as well as keyword and full text. Search Guide | Video Tutorial
CLCD is an acquisition, research, and reference database that provides more than 200,000 reviews of children's books--all full text searchable from 33 review sources. The CLCD also includes Teaching Tools - lesson plans and teaching guides plus entries for more than 339,000 awards, prizes, best book lists and reading lists entries. The database also provides access to over 30,000 book jacket images as well as information provided by various Reading Measurement Programs such as Accelerated Reader, Degrees of Reading Power, Lexile,and Reading Counts. Also included are links to more than 60,000 web pages featuring individual authors or illustrators.
This service covers 1642 free, full text, quality controlled scientific and scholarly journals covering all subjects and languages. Currently 413 journals are searchable at article level. More than 75,000 articles are included in the DOAJ service. Subject areas covered include: Agriculture and Food Sciences, Arts and Architecture, Biology and Life Sciences, Business and Economics, Chemistry, Earth and Environmental Sciences, General Works, Health Sciences, History and Archaeology, Languages and Literatures, Law and Political Science, Mathematics and Statistics, Philosophy and Religion, Physics and Astronomy, Science General, Social Sciences, and Technology and Engineering.
Indexes 150 film and television periodicals from 30 countries cover-to-cover and 200 other periodicals selectively for articles on film and television. The periodicals range from the scholarly to the popular. More than 2,000 subject headings provide detailed analysis of the articles. The National Endowment for the Humanities awarded Indiana University a grant in 2002 to convert the print version of the Film Literature Index(FLI) to electronic form. The FLI Online contains approximately 700,000 citations to articles, film reviews and book reviews published between 1976-2001.
A master index to the printed editions of Gale's 43 literary series. It combines and cross references more than 130,000 author names including pseudonyms and variant names and more than 140,000 titles into one source. The Gale series contain complete biographies on authors and critical essays on their writings.
Provides easy access to the locations of printed plays in collections,
anthologies and periodicals. Most of the plays cited are not indexed in
the standard printed play indexes such as Ottemiller's Index to Plays
in Collections or H. W. Wilson's Play Index. For plays by the
most familiar authors (e.g. Shakespeare), you should also consult Ely library's
catalog. Approximately 16,130 locations are currently cited to plays in
many languages. Separately-published plays are not included as these may
also be located through local library catalogs. Inter-Play is updated
frequently in order to include recent publications. All citations for the
location(s) of each play are searchable by author and/or title. Full source
information is provided to lead the user to the location of the desired
A full-text collection in PDF format of retrospective issues from 162 scholarly journals of prime importance in their fields. Subject coverage includes African-American Studies, Anthropology, Asian Studies,Ecology and Botany, Economics, Education, Finance, General Science, History, Literature, Mathematics, Philosophy, Political Science, Population/ Demography, Sociology, and Statistics. Dates of coverage: Varies depending on journal title; most have a moving wall that excludes the most recent 2-5 years of coverage. Includes Early Journal Content published prior to 1923 in the United States and prior to 1870 elsewhere - nearly 500,000 articles from 218 journals.
Abstracts and indexes the international literature in linguistics and related disciplines in the language sciences. The database covers all aspects of the study of language including phonetics, phonology, morphology, syntax and semantics. Complete coverage is given to various fields of linguistics including descriptive, historical, comparative, theoretical and geographical linguistics. In addition to abstracts of journal articles, books, book chapters, and dissertations, citations to book reviews are drawn from over 1,500 serials publications. Search Guide
The database includes the multi-volume content of three series: Classical and Medieval Literature Criticism:Provides critical opinion on early literature excerpting criticism on the works of philosophers, poets and playwrights, political leaders, scientists and writers from other genres. Short Story Criticism:The most-studied short story writers of yesterday and today are profiled in volumes that deliver a historical survey of the critical response to their work. Shakespearean Criticism provides access to both historical and current critical interpretation of the works of Shakespeare. Search
Guide | Video Tutorial
Allows simultaneous searching of several literature databases in a single interface designed specifically for Literature research. Covers literature criticism, biographies, work and topic overviews, reviews, and full text of many literary works all searchable at the same time and returned in lists organized according to the type of research needs they serve.
The IPL Online Literary Criticism Collection contains 1576 critical and biographical websites about authors and their works that can be browsed by author, by title, or by literary period. The collection is not inclusive of all the work on the web, nor does it plan to be.