Skip to main content

Ely Library at Westfield State University

Academic CalendarA-Z Offices & ServicesClass cancellationsBookstoreTechnology supportMy WestfieldEmail - studentsEmail - Faculty & staffPlato - Online learningEmloyee self-serviceReserve spaceLibrary homeWestfield State University home pageImage Map

Collection Guides: Robert A. Farr Collection, 1839 – Present

Robert A. Farr Collection, 1839 – Present

Westfield State University Archives

Collection Guide

Robert A. Farr Collection, 1839 – Present

 

Biographical Sketch

Robert A. Farr was a standout in basketball and baseball at Westfield State from 1951 to 1955. He was a four-year starter and captain for two years in both sports. Farr was the first 1,000 point scorer in Westfield State history, scoring 1,050 points in 52 career games for a 20.2 average.

In baseball, Farr compiled a career batting average over .300 while playing shortstop. He was honored for his athletics prowess by being selected as the first recipient of the Westfield State Athletics and Achievement Award in 1955.

Farr also was extremely active in extracurricular activities during his four years at Westfield State. He was president of the freshman class, secretary of the junior class, vice-president of the senior class, president of the Men's Athletic Association for two years, a three-year representative of student council, and an art editor for the yearbook and student newspaper.

Additionally, Farr was the first president of the Westfield State College Lettermen's Club, an alumni group that promoted the intercollegiate sports program, from 1967 to 1971. Also, he served in the United States Army from 1955 to 1957.

Farr was a three-sport standout at Holyoke High School, earning All Western Mass. honors in soccer, basketball and baseball. In 1951 he was the United States Boys Club free throw shooting champion, making a perfect 60 free throws in 60 attempts.

Mr. Farr resides in Westfield and taught in the Springfield school system for more than 40 years. Additionally, he has been an administrator for the Massachusetts Migrant Education Program for 10 years, and in May of 1994 was recognized for outstanding leadership in the education of migrant children and dedicated service to the program.

Farr is on a scholarship awards committee for the Westfield Vocational Technical High School. He is an active member of the First United Methodist Church in Westfield and serves as vice-chairman of the church's administrative board. He and his wife, Judith, are the parents of two daughters.

Source: Web page for the Westfield State University Athletics Hall of Fame members. Located at: http://www.westfieldstateowls.com/hof.aspx?hof=56&path=&kiosk= Accessed on January 13, 2014.

Description

This collection is made up of 24 notebooks that document Westfield State University Athletics from 1839 – Present. They contain hand written notes, photocopies of newspaper articles, photocopies of archival materials, and some personal memorabilia donated by Mr. Farr. The collection also includes remembrances from other teammates that Mr. Farr interviewed.

Arrangement

The first notebook is a reference volume and contains the bibliography for all of the notebooks. Notebooks 1 – 23 are made up of the photocopies and notes documenting the history of athletics at Westfield State University.

Access Restrictions

None.

577 Western Ave, Westfield, MA 01086

https://lib.westfield.ma.edu/home

Contact Us