Skip to main content

Ely Library at Westfield State University

Academic CalendarA-Z Offices & ServicesClass cancellationsBookstoreTechnology supportMy WestfieldEmail - studentsEmail - Faculty & staffPlato - Online learningEmloyee self-serviceReserve spaceLibrary homeWestfield State University home pageImage Map

Collection Guides: Charles Branch Wilson Collection, 1898 - 1941

Charles Branch Wilson Collection, 1898 - 1941

Westfield State University Archives

Finding Aid for the

Charles Branch Wilson Collection, 1898 – 1941

 

Biographical Sketch

Dr. Charles Branch Wilson retired from Westfield State Teachers College in 1932 after 36 years of service. He served as head of the Science Department from 1897 to 1932.He was an internationally known biologist and was considered an authority on biological plant life, fresh water mussels and copepoda – small marine animals.

Charles Branch Wilson was born in Exeter, Maine on October 26, 1861 to Colonel John B. Wilson and Samantha (Perkins) Wilson. He was educated at Waterville Academy in Maine and later attended Colby College where he earned the degree of A.B. in 1881. He earned his Master of Arts in 1884 from Colby College. He tutored Botany students at Colby from 1881 – 1884. He later tutored students privately from 1884 – 1891. After graduating from Colby he taught at Gorham Normal School from 1891 – 1894 as a Professor of Science. He married Lilla Belle Turner on July 22, 1885 in Waterville, Maine. They had two sons, Carroll Atwood Wilson and John Ellis Wilson.

He began teaching at the Westfield Normal School in 1896. He was hired to teach zoology, physiology, botany, mineralogy and geology as well as natural science. He became head of the Department of Science in 1897, a position he held until his retirement in 1932. He received a degree of Doctor of Science from Johns Hopkins University in 1908 as well as a Doctor of Philosophy in 1910. He was able to accomplish his studies on sabbatical leave from the Westfield Normal School from 1909 - 1910.

His professional affiliations were extensive. He was a fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of Science, a member of the Boston Society of Natural History, a member of the Zoological Society of America, of the American Morphological Society and the New York Zoological Society.

He was elected the Westfield School Committee in 1917 and served the City of Westfield for twenty two years. He served as vice chairman for the School Committee from 1922 until 1939. He served as master of the Mount Moriah Lodge of Masons of Westfield, as well as a charter member of the Get Together Club of Westfield.

After his retirement from the Westfield Normal School he kept his laboratory at the school to pursue his work classifying copepods.  

Lilla Belle Turner Wilson died on September 5, 1929. She worked at the Westfield Normal School as Dormitory Matron in the Normal Boarding Hall and Dickinson Hall until 1926.

Dr. Charles Branch Wilson died on August 19, 1941. He was 79 years old at the time of his death.

Scope and Contents

This collection is comprised of reprints of articles written by Dr. Wilson, books as well as course outlines written by Dr. Wilson. There are photographs, newspaper clippings, obituaries and memorials that are also included in the collection.

Arrangement

This collection is loosely arranged. The bulk of the articles are housed with the print materials in the archives. Some of the photographs are included in the Westfield State College Archives Photograph Collection. There are also files that pertain to Dr. Wilson that are filed with the faculty files. A list of the articles that were written by Dr. Wilson and accessible in the University Archives is below. Please see the container list below for some of the contents of this collection.

Provenance

This collection was donated by Charles Branch Wilson’s Grandson, Philo Wilson.

Access Restrictions

The materials in this collection are open for research and study. However, access to this collection must comply with the copyright law of the United States (Title 17, U.S. code). Photocopying of this material is governed under this law and one of the specified conditions is that the photocopy or reproduction is not to be “used for any purpose other than private study, scholarship or research.” Westfield State University reserves the right to reject a copying order, if, in its judgment, fulfillment of the order would involve a violation of copyright law.

Related Collections

The Charles Branch Wilson Papers, 1881 – 1941, and undated are held at the Smithsonian Institution Archives in Washington, D.C. The manuscript copies of the articles listed above are held at the Smithsonian. Wilson (Charles Branch) 1861-1941 Papers, 1894-1896 are held at the Milton S. Eisenhower Library at Johns Hopkins University. This collection is made up of sixteen notebooks that Dr. Wilson kept while he was a student at Johns Hopkins University.

Subject Headings

Wilson, Charles Branch, 1861 – 1941 ; Westfield Normal School ; Teachers – Training of – History ; Copepoda ; Marine plants ; Freshwater mussels ; Crustaceos (Biologia).

Container List:

Publications written by Charles Branch Wilson: Alphabetical by Article Title

Activities of Mesenchyme in certain larvae. Zool. Bull. 2: 15 – 23, 1898.  (2 copies)

Additional notes on the development of the argulidæ, with description of a new species. Proc. U.S. Natl. Mus.. 32: 411-24, 1907.

Argulidae from the Shubenacadie River, Nova Scotia. Canadian Field-Naturalist,  1920.

Canadensis from Cape Breton Island. Argulus. p. 355-358. 1936.  (2 copies)

Chondracanthus chilensis: a new species of parasitic copepod. Anales de Zoologia Aplicada, 1918, p. 11-15.

The classification of the copepods. Zoologischer Anzeiger, 1910, p. 609 - 620.

A copepod (argulus indicus) parasitic on the fighting-fish in Siam. Journal of the Siam society, natural history supplement, 1927.

The copepod crustaceans of Chesapeake Bay. Washington, D.C. : Smithsonian Institution, United States National Museum. 1932.

Copepods from the cenotes and caves of the Yucatan Peninsula, with notes on cladocerans. Washington, D.C. : Carnegie Institution of Washington Publication, 1936.  p. 77-88.

Copepods from the far north collected by Capt. R. A. Bartlett. Journal of the Washington Academy of Sciences, 1936. (2 copies)

The copepods of plankton gathered during the last cruise of the Carnegie: Scientific results of Cruise VII of the Carnegie during 1928-1929 under the command of Captain J. P. Ault. Washington, D.C. : Carnegie Institution of Washington Publication ; 1942.

*The copepods of the Woods Hole region. United States National Museum, bulletin 1932, 158. (2 copies)

The copepod parasites. Proceedings of the Indiana Academy of Science, 1918. p. 225-44.

Copepod parasites of fresh-water fishes and their economic relation to mussel glochida. Department of commerce – Bulletin of the Unites States Bureau of fisheries. p. 331-374, June 28, 1916.

Copepoda parasitica. n.d. 1 p.

Crustaceans parasites of West Indian fishes and land crabs, with descriptions of new genera and species. Proceedings of the United States National Museum, v. 44. April 3, 1913, p. 189-277 with 36 plates 18-53.

Descriptions of new species of parasitic copepods in the collections of the United States National Museum. Proceedings of the United States National Museum, v. 42.  April 30, 1912, p. [233-43] with 5 plates 30-34.

Dragonflies and Damselflies in relation to pondfish culture, with a list of those found near Fairport, Iowa. Bulletin of the Bureau of Fisheries, v. 36, 1917-18. August 4, 1920. p. [182-264]

Dragonflies of the Cumberland Valley in Kentucky and Tennesse. No. 1928. From the Proceedings of the United States National Museum, vol. 43. September 7, 1912. p. 189 – 200.

Dragonflies of the Mississippi Valley collected during the pearl mussel investigations on the Mississippi River, July and August, 1907. No. 1692. From the Proceedings of the United States National Museum, v. 36

June 19, 1909. p. [653-671]

The economic relations, anatomy, and life history of genus lernaea. Bulletin of the bureau of fisheries. December 22, 1917, p. [165-198]

 Embryology : the wrinkling of frog’s eggs during segmentation. The American naturalist, September 1896. p. 761 - 773.

 Experiments on the early development of the amphibian embryo under the influence of ringer and salt solutions. Archiv für Entwickelungsmechanik der Organismen. 1897, p. [615-648] (2 copies)

Fauna of Penikese Island, Edited by R. E. Coker. Biological Bulletin, January, 1926.

The fish parasites of genus argulus found in the Woods Hole region. Bulletin of the bureau of fisheries. 1904, p. [115-131]

The habits and early development of cerebratulus lacteus (verrill). A contribution to physiological morphology. Q J Microsc Sci. February 1900, p. [97-198] with 3 plates

The Habits and life history of argulus with reference to its economic importance. Biol. Bull. 1901, 2 p. [331-334] (2 copies)

Life history of the scavenger water beetle hydrous (hydrophilus) triangularis, and its economic relation to fish breeding. Bulletin of the Bureau of Fisheries, v. 39, 1923-24. 1923. p. [9-38]

The macroplankton of Lake Erie. Bulletin of the Buffalo Society of Natural Sciences: preliminary report on the cooperative survey of Lake Erie season of 1928. 1929. p. 94 - 136.

The male of pandarus satyrus: A report on the south Georgia expedition. The Museum of the Brooklyn Institute of Arts and Sciences: Science Bulletin. November 5, 1914, p. [71-73]

The mussel fauna of the central and northern Minnesota. Bureau of fisheries document no.803, by Charles B. Wilson and Ernest Danglade, 1914

The mussel fauna of the Kankakee Basin. Bureau of fisheries document no.758, by Charles B. Wilson and H. Walton Clark, 1912

The mussel fauna of the Maumee River. Bureau of fisheries document no.757, by

Charles B. Wilson and H. Walton Clark, 1912

The mussels of the Cumberland River and its tributaries. Bureau of fisheries document no.781, by Charles B. Wilson and H. Walton Clark, 1914

 A new copepod from Japanese oysters transplanted to the Pacific coast of the United States. Journal of the Washington Academy of Sciences. June 15, 1938.

 New species and a new genus of parasitic copepods. Proceedings of the United States National Museum, v. 59.1921

 A new and important copepod habitat. Smithsonian miscellaneous collections, v. 94, no. 7,  September 20, 1935

A new genus and species of parasitic copepod from lower Califonia.

American Museum Novitates. June 22, 1923.

A new species of argulus, with a more complete account of two species already described. Proceedings of the United States National Museum, v. 27. 1904, p. [627-55]

A new species of parasitic copepod, with notes on species already described.

Proceedings of the United States National Museum, v. 55. 1919, p. [313-16] with 1 plate

A new species of parasitic copepod from Florida. American museum novitates.June 22, 1923.

New North American parasitic copepods, new hosts, and notes on copepods nomenclature. Proceedings of the United States National Museum, v. 64, art. 17. 1924, p. 1-22, with pls. 1-3

A new parasitic copepod from Siam. Journal of the Siam society, natural history supplement. March, 1926, p. 361-363.

New parasitic copepods. Smithsonian miscellaneous collections, volume 91, number 19. Reports on the collections obtained by the first Johnson-Smithsonian deep-sea expedition to the Puerto Rican deep. April 8, 1935

New species of parasitic copepods from Southern Africa. Meddelanden från Göteborgs Musei Zoologiska Avdelning. 1923 (2 copies)

New species of parasitic copepods from the Massachusetts coast. Proc. Biol. Soc. Wash., 18: 127-32 1905.

North American parasitic copepods: a list of those found upon the fishes of the Pacific coast, with descriptions of new genera and species. Proceedings of the United States National Museum, v. 35. December 10, 1908. p. 431-81, with plates 66-83

North American parasitic copepods belonging to the family caligidæ. Part 1. The calignæ. Proceedings of the United States National Museum, v. 28. 1905.

North American parasitic copepods belonging to the family caligidæ. Part 2. The trebinæ and euryphorinæ. Proceedings of the United States National Museum, v. 31. 1907

North American parasitic copepods belonging to the family caligidæ. Part 3 and 4. A revision of the pandarinæ and the cecropinæ. Proceedings of the United States National Museum, v. 33, December 31, 1907

North American parasitic copepods belonging to the family ergasilidæ. Proceedings of the United States National Museum, v. 39. 1911,  p. 263-400 with 20 plates

North American parasitic copepods belonging to the lernaeidae with a revision of the entire family. Proceedings of the United States National Museum, v. 53. June 13, 1917.

North American parasitic copepods belonging to the lernaeopodidae, with a revision of the entire family. Proceedings of the United States National Museum, v. 47. March 6, 1915, p. 565-729 with 31 plates

North American parasitic copepods. Descriptions of new genera and species. Proceedings of the United States National Museum, v.39. March 11, 1911, p. [625-34 with plates 65-68]

North American parasitic copepods of the family argulidæ, with a bibliography of the group and a systematic review of all known species. Proceedings of the United States National Museum, v. 25. 1902, p. [635-742] with 20 plates.

North American parasitic copepods belonging to the family dichelecthiidae.

Proceedings of the United States National Museum, v. 60, art. 5, 1922

North American parasitic copepods belonging to the new family sphyriidae. Proceedings of the United States National Museum, v. 55. 1919, p. [549-604] with 10 plates

North American parasitic copepods: new genera and species of caliginæ.

Proceedings of the United States National Museum, v. 33. February 28, 1908,  p. [593-627] with 8 plates

The North American semiparasitic copepods of the genus clausidium. Proceedings of the United States National Museum, v. 59. 1921, p. [425-31] with 2 plates

Notes on Dragonflies of Jamaica. John Hopkins University Circular. February, 1911.

Notes on Jamaica fish and their parasites. John Hopkins University Circular. February, 1911.

Our North-American echiurids. A contribution to the habits and geographical range of the group. American Morphological Society. Abstracts of papers. Biological Bulletin. July 1900, p. [163-178] (2 copies)

Parasitic copepods. Science. October 28 1927.

Parasitic copepods from Japan, including five new species. Arkiv för Zoologi. 1922. (2 copies)

Parasitic copepods from Gulf of Mexico fish, by Ruby Bere. American Midland Naturalist, 1936, p. 577-625.

Parasitic Copecods from the Pacific Coast, American Midland Naturalist, 16: 776-797, 1935.

Parasitic copepods from the White Nile and the Red Sea : Results of the Swedish zoological expedition to Egypt and the While Nile 1901 under the direction of L.A. Jägerskiöld, 1924.

Parasitic copepods from the William Galapagos expedition. Zoologica: scientific contributions of the New York zoological society. December 15, 1924, p. [211-217]

Parasitic copepods in the collection of the Riksmuseum [sic] at Stockholm. Arkiv för Zoologi, 1923. (2 copies)

Parasitic copepods in the collection of the Zoological Museum, Kristiania.   Meddelelser fra det Zoologiske Museum, Kristiania. 1922.

Parasitic copepods in the United States National Museum,  n. 3177, Proceedings of the United States National Museum, v. 94, p. 529-582, pls. 20-34. 1944.  (8 copies)

Parasitic copepods from the Congo Basin. Bulletin of the American Museum of Natural History. April 22, 1920

Parasitic copepods from the Dry Tortugas. Carnagie Institution of Washington, publication n. 452, p. 327 to 347. December 9, 1935. ( 2 copies)

Parasitic copepods from the Pacific Coast. The American Naturalist, p. 776 - 797, v. 16, n. 5., 1935.

A parasitic copepod, pupulina flores, redescribed after forty years. Parasitology. November 9, 1935. p. 593-597 (2 copies)

Parasitic copepods taken during the third Hancock expedition to the  Galapagos Islands. The Hancock Pacific expeditions. June, 1937. p. [23-30] (2 copies.)

Plankton copepods collected during Admiral R. E. Byrd’s expedition to theAntarctic, 1933 to 1935. Internationale Revue der gesamten Hydrobiologie und Hydrographie. 1938. (2 copies)

Plankton of the Bermuda oceanographic expeditions. Zoologica : New York Zoological Society. p. [89-93] 1936.

Report of the parasitic copepoda collected during the Canadian Arctic   expedition, 1913-18: Report of the Canadian Arctic expedition 1913-18, Volume II: Crustacea, Part L : Parasitic copepoda. August 6, 1920

Report to the government of Ceylon on the pearl oyster fisheries of the Gulf of Manaar: With supplementary reports upon the marine biology of Ceylon, by other naturalists. 1906

 Some parasitic copepods from Panama Bay. Journal of the Washington Academy of Sciences. October 15, 1937. (2 copies)

 Two new parasitic copepods from Cuban fish. Memories de la sociedad Cubana de historia natural. March 10, 1936. p. 107-112, (2 copies)

 Two new semi-parasitic copepods from the Peruvian coast. Parasitology. April 1937, p. 206-211. (2 copies)

Water beetles in relation to pondfish culture, with life histories of those found in fishponds at Fairport, Iowa. Bulletin of the Bureau of Fisheries, v.39, 1923-24. 1923.  p. [231-345]

 List of Articles and Reprints, by Dr. Charles B. Wilson. n.d. [2 p. (28 cm.)]note: 2 copies.

 List of reprints on copedioa in the library (these went to the National Museum) n.d. [63 sheets (28 cm.)]note: There is correspondence from Philo Wilson about this collection that belonged to Dr. Charles Wilson. The books on this list were donated to the National Museum at the Smithsonian.

 Newspaper Articles:

 Ardent baseball fan. Valley Herald. August 8, 1940.

Educators honored at State Teachers' College. Springfield Daily News (Springfield, MA) June 6, 1932. note: Retirement of George W. Winslow, Florence P. Axtell, and Charles B. Wilson. 2 copies of this article.

Find plenty of food in the lakes for fish. Buffalo Courier Express (Buffalo, NY). September 29, 1929.

A fish specialist: Prof. Wilson of Westfield Normal School has made a study of parasites that feed upon food fishes -- has a great collection of parasitic specimens. no source, n.d.

From mussel to button: discoveries in Middle West: Westfield scientist’s success. What the Bureau of fisheries has done to propagate the supply – interesting stories about the frenzied pearl fisherman along the Wabash – Dr C. B. Wilson’s studies. Sunday Republican. September 27, 1908

The making of a pearl button: interesting facts gleaned by Prof. C.B. Wilson of the Westfield Normal School investigates for the government the fresh water mussel industry of the Mississippe River -- an idea that came from Germany has developed into a profitable industry -- Muscatine, Ia., the center of pearl button manufacture -- "First get you mussel" then follow the interesting process of conversion into pearl buttons. The Sunday Union (Springfield, MA), p. 2. November 24, 1907.

A river uninjured by man. The Kankakee and its denizens: wild fowl, fish and mussels: Prof. Wilson has successful trip: establishes new facts relative to Pearl Button mussels. Sunday Republican. December 12, 1909

School Committee honors Dr. Wilson. Springfield Daily News. n.d.

Scientists circle lake, studying fish problem: Dr. Wilson and Mr. Buchsbaum find 1,000 mile trip fruitful of results. Buffalo Courier Express (Buffalo, NY)(?). September 29, 1929 (?).

Where Prof. Wilson is: he was recently studying clams near La Cross, Wis.: will go to river's mouth and there make a full and complete report to government. no source, n.d.  Please note: Part of this article is missing.

Westfield professor tells some Mississippi fish stories: mussel culture makes button men say "Thank You." [The Sunday Union, (Springfield, MA)] September 17, 1922.

Will save industry, clam commission is hopeful of complete success: the appropriation has been well invested and will no doubt yield magnificent return. Burlinton Hawkeye, August 4, 1907. Please note: A section of this article is missing.

Course Outlines:

Outline of the course in zoology. 1900

Outlines of laboratory work in zoology, Natural science series, no. 1. 1898

Outlines of laboratory work in physiology. Natural science series, no. 2. 1898

Outlines of laboratory work in chemical force. Natural science series, no. 3. 1898

An outline of the course in botany. 1903

Outlines of laboratory work in botany. Natural science series, no. 5. 1898

Animals, plants minerals, natural phenomena, physiology: Nature study outline for graded schools. 1898

 Record Books:

Westfield State Teachers College. Record Book for Chas. B. Wilson. 1905-1910.

Westfield State Teachers College. Record Book for Chas. B. Wilson. 1911-1915.

Westfield State Teachers College. Record Book for Chas. B. Wilson. 1915-1923.

Westfield State Teachers College. Record Book for Chas. B. Wilson. 1924-1927.

Dissertation, 1910:

North American parasitic copepods. Part 9. (The lern Æopodid Æ.) Proceedings U.S. National Museum, v. 39, n. 1783. 1910,  p. 198-226.

Note:  Dissertation submitted to the Board of University Studies of the John Hopkins University in conformity with the requirements for the Degree of Doctor of Philosophy: Baltmore, 1910.

Biographical Sources

Charles Branch Wilson, The National Cyclopedia of American Biography. 1943.  (5 copies)

Obituaries and Memorial Letters:

Letters from Frank W. Wright, Deputy Commission of Education; Charles Russell; Mayor Raymond H. Cowing; Chester D. Stiles, Superintendent of Schools; Lewis B. Allyn; Mary C. Clune; M. Grace Fickett; Edward R. Hawley; Theresa J. Lammers; R.G. Patterson; Gladys F. Pratt; Louise Emery Snow; Maretia M. Tobey; A. W. Winslow; Louise P. Wade; Florence P. Artell; Katharine Hillier Cole; Elsie E. Carlson; Viola E. Berringer; Ella G. Wallace; Jeannette H. Rosengren; Augusta M. Tappan; Edith M. Robbins; May T. Grout; Marjorie M. Williams; Bertha A. Kuralt; Florence Nichols; Clara W. Leyanborg; Roger E. Butler; N.R. Clarke; Sara M. Lane; William F. Lyman; W.C. Wholsaw; Helen M. Devine, President Student Council; Helen R. Eames, Treasure of Student Council; Alice G. Knickerbocker, Social Chairman; Vivian Plouffe, Recreational Chairman; Mae G. Manning, President Class of 1932; Edith M. Parsons, President Class of 1935; Ada Wilson, President of Commuters Club; Mabel L. Smith, Chairman of House Committee of Dickinson Hall. Loose letters from Mary E. Palmer; Rev. Millard L. Robinson; Elizabeth S. Campbell, Class of 1898; Mabel G. Seymour, nee Greene, Class 1901; Katherine L. Donahue; Eleanor Sullivan.

Memorial (Charles Branch Wilson, by Robert C. Parker, William F. Lyman, Committee (Get Together Club) November 3, 1941. [4 p. (28 cm.)]note: 2 copies.

Dedication (Tekoa) to George W. Winslow and Charles B. Wilson, Class of 1932.

Charles Branch Wilson. October 20, 1861 - August 18, 1941, Science. October 17, 1941. [obituary)]note: 2 copies.

Charles Branch Wilson, Memorial Supplement, Westfield High School Herald. October 17, 1941.

Resolution on the Death of Dr. C.B. Wilson, by the Committee on Resolutions; A.J. Stremble, John W. Barnes, Raymond G. Patterson. October 28, 1941.

Dr. C.B. Wilson, Noted Scientist Succumbs at 79. The Springfield Union. August 19, 1941.

 "It was with sorrow that Westfield people learned yesterday of the death in Vassalboro, ME, of Mrs. Belle Turner Wilson, wife of Dr. Charles B. Wilson of the Normal School faculty". n.d. [newspaper clipping, 1 p. (14 cm.)]

Westfield savant: Dr. C. B. Wilson, noted scientist, succumb at 79. Springfield Union. August 19, 1941

Renowned Westfield scientist is dead: Dr. C. B. Wilson, 79, world-renowned scientist, is dead. Springfield Republican. August 19, 1941.

Prof. Charles B. Wilson, noted scientist dies: internationally known as authority on lower forms of marine life.  Westfield ?. August 22, 1941

Westfield pays high tribute to Prof. C. B. Wilson: scientific distinction, teaching skill and civic leadership – he left valuable collection. Springfield Union & Republican. August 24, 1941

Charles B. Wilson: biologist who led surveys for U.S. teacher and author is dead. New York Tribune. 1941

Charles B. Wilson. New York Times. 1941

Prof. Chas. B. Wilson. Town and country review, July, 1936

Obituary for Charles B. Wilson. Science. October 17, 1941

Prof. Chas. B. Wilson. The Colby alumnus, November, 1941

Clippings – expressions of sympathy, etc., after father’s death. August 18, 1941

Note: This is an envelope of clippings.

The Westfield Athenaeum library card belonging to:  Dr. Charles B. Wilson, Expiration Date: September 22, 1942.

Note: The only thing except cash found in father’s pocketbook Aug 21, 1941. CAW (Carroll A. Wilson) Note on the back of card.

Articles by Doris J. Wilson, September 2, 1933 – March 17, 1934

English nouns and Greek nuisances. n.d.

For professional services rendered. The New Yorker. September 2, 1933

I fear the Greeks giving information. The New Yorker. September 9, 1933.

Photographs:

C.A. (Carroll Atwood) Wilson and John Ellis Wilson. n.d. [photograph (16 cm.)]note: Taken at Tooke Studio in Westfield.

Dr. Wilson with unknown man on beach with buckets and nets. no date. [photograph, 1 p., (11x16 cm.)]

Dr. Wilson with unknown man on beach with buckets and pots. no date. [photograph, 1 p., (9x11 cm.)]

Books from Charles Branch Wilson’s Private Library

Youmans, Eliza Ann, b. 1826. Second book of botany. A practical guide to the observation and study of plants. 1874. [book, 310 p. (20 cm.)] note: Inscription: Private library of Chas. B Wilson.

Miscellaneous:

Apparatus and laboratories. No author, n.d. [type script, 22 sheets (28 cm.)]

Colby Alumnus, third quarter 1933 - 1934, v. 23, n. 3. [continious pg. (26 cm.)]note: Biographical sketch about Charles Branch Wilson on pg. 234.

General Directions, n.d. [various pg. (22 cm.)]note: This is from Dr. Charles Wilson’s library and could be “Laboratory work in Botany” 1898.

Report on the progress and condition of the United States National Museum: Report of the United States National Museum ; Smithsonian Institution, Year ended June 30, 1942

Comments: Dr. Charles Branch Wilson is listed under accessions page 114.

The study of scientific material in the museum, by Waldo L. Schmitt, Curator of marine Invertebrates, U.S. National Museum. December 15, 1930.

 

 Karen H. Canary

June 6, 2012

 

 

577 Western Ave, Westfield, MA 01086

https://lib.westfield.ma.edu/home

Contact Us