Skip to main content

Ely Library at Westfield State University

Academic CalendarA-Z Offices & ServicesClass cancellationsBookstoreTechnology supportMy WestfieldEmail - studentsEmail - Faculty & staffPlato - Online learningEmloyee self-serviceReserve spaceLibrary homeWestfield State University home pageImage Map

Collection Guides: Westfield State University Scrapbook Collection, 1890 - Present

Westfield State University Scrapbook Collection, 1890 - Present

Westfield State University Archives

Guide to the Scrapbook Collection, 1890 – Present

 

Historical Sketch:

The Westfield State University scrapbook collection covers the time period from 1890 to the present. These scrapbooks cover many campus events and world events from the past. There are currently 59 scrapbooks and more will be added over time. The current collection covers Westfield State College events and issues as well as Westfield State University events and issues from newspapers in Massachusetts. Most of the current clippings are printed from a subscription clipping service data base. Some clippings are photocopies of newspaper articles. Some of the older scrapbooks are in extremely fragile condition due to the nature of newsprint.

 Arrangement:

 These scrapbooks are arranged by date.

 Access Restrictions:

These scrapbooks are open for scholarship and study. The Copyright law of the United States (Title 17, United States Code) governs the making of photocopies or other reproductions of copyrighted material.

Under certain conditions specified in the law, libraries and archives are authorized to furnish a photocopy or other reproduction. One of these specific conditions is that the photocopy or reproduction is not to be "used for any purpose other than private study, scholarship, or research." If a user makes a request for, or later uses a photocopy or reproduction for purposes in excess of "fair use," that user may be liable for copyright infringement.

Scrapbook List:

Scrapbook number 1

1910-1912

Scrapbook Number 2

1926-1941

Scrapbook Number 3

1890's-1932

Scrapbook Number 4

1924-1928

Scrapbook Number 5

1928-1931

Scrapbook Number 6

Sept. 1931 - April 1933

Scrapbook Number 7

1927-1937

Scrapbook Number 8

1933-1934

Scrapbook Number 9

1934-1935

Scrapbook Number 10

1935-1940

Scrapbook Number 11

1936 – 1937

Scrapbook Number 12

1937 – 1938

Scrapbook Number 13

1946-1949

 Scrapbook Number 14

1936-1946

 Scrapbook Number 15

1949 – 1951

Scrapbook Number 16

Early 1950's

Scrapbook Number 17

1937 - 1939

 Scrapbook Number 18

1938 – 1939

 Scrapbook Number 19

1939 – 1940

Scrapbook Number 20

1940

 Scrapbook Number 21

1943-1946

 Scrapbook Number 22

1940-1942

Scrapbook Number 23

1954 – 1956

Scrapbook Number 24

1956 – 1960

Scrapbook Number 25

1964 – 1965

Scrapbook Number 26

1960 – 1963

Scrapbook Number 27

Dedication of Bates Portrait

1964 – 1965

Scrapbook Number 28

1963 – 1970

Scrapbook Number 29

1961 – 1965

Scrapbook Number 30

Need dates

Scrapbook Number 31

1961 – 1972

Scrapbook Number 32

1971 – 1975

Scrapbook Number 33

1966 – 1975

Scrapbook Number 34

1975 – 1977

Scrapbook Number 35

1978 – 1979

Scrapbook Number 36

1970 – 1981

Scrapbook Number 37

1978

Scrapbook Number 38

1981 – 1982

Scrapbook Number 39

1983 – 1985

Scrapbook Number 40

Clippings June 1986

Scrapbook Number 41

Clippings July 1986

Scrapbook Number 42

Clippings August 1986

Scrapbook Number 43

Clippings September - October 1986

Scrapbook Number 44

Clippings November 1986 - April 1987

Scrapbook Number 45

March - June 1986

Scrapbook Number 46

August 1986 - June 1987

Scrapbook Number 47

June 20, 1986 - July 4, 1986

Scrapbook Number 48

July - August 1986

Scrapbook Number 49

January 1987

Scrapbook Number 50

1986 – 1987

Scrapbook Number 51

September 1987 - December 1989

Scrapbook Number 52

1989 – 1990

Scrapbook Number 53

January 1990 - March 1991

Scrapbook Number 54

March 1991 - June 1992

Scrapbook Number 55

1992 – 1993

Scrapbook Number 56

1993 – 1995

Scrapbook Number 57

1995

Scrapbook Number 58

June 1997 - May 1998

Scrapbook Number 59

January 1996 - May 1997

Scrapbook Number 60

April 23, 2007 – October 9, 2007

Scrapbook Number: 61

October 10, 2007 – October 30, 2007

Scrapbook Number: 62

October 30, 2007 – December 5, 2007

Scrapbook Number: 63

November 4, 2007 – January 25, 2008

Scrapbook Number: 64

January 25, 2008 – March 3, 2008

Scrapbook Number: 65

March 3, 2008 – April 9, 2008

Scrapbook Number: 66

April 10, 2008 – August 17, 2008

Scrapbook Number: 67

August 20, 2008 – October 19, 2008

Scrapbook Number: 68

October 19, 2008 – February 5, 2009

Scrapbook Number: 69

February 6, 2009 – March 24, 2009

Scrapbook Number: 70

March 25, 2009 – May 14, 2009

Scrapbook Number: 71

May 15, 2009 – August 19, 2009

Scrapbook Number: 72

August 20, 2009 – October 31, 2009

Scrapbook Number: 73

November 1, 2009 – March 18, 2010

Scrapbook Number: 74

Westfield State College Campus Events 2005

Scrapbook Number: 75

Engagements and Marriages, October 28, 2006 - April 16, 2011

Scrapbook Number: 76

Photographs of the construction of the Stanhome building on Western Avenue, February 1970

Scrapbook Number: 77

January 8, 1974 - April 12, 2007

Scrapbook Number: 78

March 20, 2010 - August 31, 2010

Scrapbook Number: 79

September 1, 2010 - December 18, 2011

Scrapbook Nuumber: 80

Obituaries, February 3, 2005 - December 31, 2010

Scrapbook Number: 81

January 1, 2012 - January 31, 2013

Scrapbook Number: 82

February 1, 2013 - April 31, 2013

 

K.Canary

10/22/2010 (updated)

 

 

577 Western Ave, Westfield, MA 01086

https://lib.westfield.ma.edu/home

Contact Us