Skip to main content

Ely Library at Westfield State University

Academic CalendarA-Z Offices & ServicesClass cancellationsBookstoreTechnology supportMy WestfieldEmail - studentsEmail - Faculty & staffPlato - Online learningEmloyee self-serviceReserve spaceLibrary homeWestfield State University home pageImage Map

Collection Guides: Records for the Town of Vernon, Vermont, 1847 - 1919

Records for the Town of Vernon, Vermont, 1847 - 1919

 

Westfield State University Archives

 Finding Aid

 Records for the Town of Vernon, Vermont, 1847 – 1919

 Historical Sketch

 Located in Windham County Vermont, this town is located just north of the Massachusetts border. The town was chartered 1753. The records in the Westfield State University Archives are related mainly to tax records for the Town of Vernon, Vermont. They begin with a tax book from 1847 in which Mr. Wilder H. Fairman recorded information. Wilder H. Fairman was born in Northfield, Massachusetts in 1817. He was the son of Zira K. Fairman. After moving to Vernon, Vermont, Wilder H. Fairman held the positions of Constable, Tax Collector, Town Representative and Justice for the Peace for the town of Vernon.  Mr. Fairman served in the Civil War for three years in the 52nd Massachusetts Volunteer Artillery. He married Elizabeth Dudley, the date is unknown. Wilder H. Fairman died in 1883[1].

 Description

 These records are contained in two archival document boxes. The records included in this collection are tax records from various departments within the town government. Also included are the Surveyor of Highways tax sheets, Constable Bonds, Civil War One Month’s Extra Pay to Families receipts, deed for land for Wilder H. Fairman as well as an agreement to build a house for Mr. Fairman, trustee bonds, overseer of the poor records, an application for a town meeting in 1851, superintending acceptance of a new road in1851. One folder of documents in this collection appear to concern L.M. Tucker. The collection is mainly receipts and two letters; one from Annie E. Tucker and the other from Harry to Mother. There is also a diary with no identifying information from 1892.

 Provenance

 There is no existing donor information for these records.

 Arrangement

 The bulk of this collection is arranged by date.

 Access Restrictions

 None.

 Note: No birth information for Wilder H. Fairman was found in the Vital Records of Northfield, Massachusetts.

 Container Listing

 Box 1

 Folder 1:

Vernon, Vermont Tax Records, 1847

 Folder 2:

Agreement for Services for Martin F. Peder, 1849

 Folder 3:

Petition, J.F. Burrows, 1849

 Folder 4:

Receipt, B. Peller (?), 1849

 Folder 5:

Constable and Collector’s Bond,For Wilder H. Fairman, Ebenezer Howe Jr., J.F. Burrows, 1850

 Folder 6:

Summons, Jarvis F. Burrows vs. Calib & John Spencer, 1850

 Folder 7:

Vernon, Vermont, Trustees Bond for Marshal Whithier (?), Lorenzo Brown, Rufus Brooks, 1850

 Folder 8:

Vernon, Vermont, Tax Collectors Book owned by Wilder H. Fairman, 1851

 Folder 9:

Vernon, Vermont, Agreement to build a road, 1851

 Folder 10:

Vernon, Vermont, Constable's Bond, 1851

 Folder 11:

Vernon, Vermont, Application for a Town Meeting, 1851

 Folder 12:

Vernon, Vermont, Jarvis F. Burrows, Overseer of the Poor, Account and Receipt, 1851 – 1852

 Folder 13:

Vernon, Vermont, John Stebbins, Account for Services as Selectman, 1851

 Folder 14:

Vernon, Vermont, Superintendent of Schools Account & Receipt for Noyes Barstow, 1852

 Folder 15:

Vernon, Vermont, Constable Bonds, Elija Stebbins, Jr.; Solomon Johnson; Wilder H. Fairman, 1854 – 1859

 Folder 16:

Vernon, Vermont, Trustee Bonds, Marshall Whithed, 1854 – 1858

Folder 17:

Vernon, Vermont, J. B. Green’s Account, 1855

 Folder 18:

Vernon, Vermont, Bill from Ely, Newkirk and Frank, 1858

 Folder 19:

Vernon, Vermont, J. Pratt, Bills of timber to Vernon, Vermont, 1858

 Folder 20:

Vernon, Vermont, receipt and payment, Whithed and Ball, 1858

 Folder 21:

Vernon, Vermont, Wilder H. Fairman, land and house records, 1858 – 1862

 Folder 22:

Vernon, Vermont, Wilder H. Fairman, Tax Book, 1859

 Folder 23:

Vernon, Vermont, Wilder H. Fairman, Tax Book, 1861

 Folder 24:

Vernon, Vermont, Wilder H. Fairman, Court Document, 1863

 Folder 25:

Vernon, Vermont, Wilder H. Fairman, Tax Book, 1865

 Folder 26:

Vernon, Vermont, Wilder H. Fairman, Tax Book, 1865

 Folder 27:

Vernon, Vermont, Wilder H. Fairman, Tax Book, 1866

 Folder 28:

Vernon, Vermont, Wilder H. Fairman, Tax Book, 1867

 Folder 29:

Vernon, Vermont, Wilder H. Fairman, Tax Book, 1873

 Folder 30:

Vernon, Vermont, Accounts Between Wilder H. Fairman and John Orcutts, n.d.

 Folder 31:

Vernon, Vermont, N. Barstow, Selectman, 1860

 Folder 32:

Vernon, Vermont, Tax Book, 1861

 Folder 33:

Vernon, Vermont, Constable Bond, 1862

 Folder 34:

Vernon, Vermont, Elijah Stebbing (?), Tax Book, 1870

Box 2:

 Folder 1:

Vernon, Vermont, Civil War, One Month’s Extra Pay, 1862 – 1863

 Folder 2:

Vernon, Vermont, Civil War, One Month’s Extra Pay, October 1863

 Folder 3:

Vernon, Vermont, Civil War, One Month’s Extra Pay, January 1864

 Folder 4:

Vernon, Vermont, Civil War, One Month’s Extra Pay, February 1864

 Folder 5:

Vernon, Vernon, Vermont, Civil War, One Month’s Extra Pay, March 1864

 Folder 6:

Vernon, Vermont, Civil War, One Month’s Extra Pay, April 1864

 Folder 7:

Vernon, Vermont, Civil War, One Month’s Extra Pay, July 1864

 Folder 8:

Vernon, Vermont, Civil War, One Month’s Extra Pay, August 1864

 Folder 9:

Vernon, Vermont, Civil War, One Month’s Extra Pay, 1864

 Folder 10:

Vernon, Vermont, Civil War, One Month’s Extra Pay, October 1864

 Folder 11:

Vernon, Vermont, Civil War, One Month’s Extra Pay, November 1864

 Folder 12:

Vernon, Vermont, Civil War, One Month’s Extra Pay, December 1864

 Folder 13:

Vernon, Vermont, Civil War, One Month’s Extra Pay, January 1865

 Folder 14:

Vernon, Vermont, Civil War, One Month’s Extra Pay, February 1865

 Folder 15:

Vernon, Vermont, Civil War, One Month’s Extra Pay, May 1865

 Folder 16:

Vernon, Vermont, Civil War, One Month’s Extra Pay, June 1865

 Folder 17:

Vernon, Vermont, Tax Collector Sheets, Surveyor of Highways, District Number 1, 1866 (J.E. Franklin, Surveyor of Highways)

 Folder 18:

Vernon, Vermont, Tax Collector Book, Surveyor of Highways, District Number 3, 1866 (E. Stebbens Jr., Surveyor of Highways)

 Folder 19:

Vernon, Vermont, Tax Collector Book, Surveyor of Highways, District Number 4, 1866 (F. Barber, Surveyor of Highways)

Folder 20:

Vernon, Vermont, Tax Collector Book, Surveyor of Highways, District Number 7, 1866 (Albert Ashcroft, Surveyor of Highways)

Folder 21:

Vernon, Vermont, Tax Collector Book, Surveyor of Highways, District Number 9, 1866 (William H. Brown, Surveyor of Highways)

Folder 22:

Vernon, Vermont, Tax Collector Book, Surveyor of Highways, District Number 10, 1866 (S.B Haughton, Surveyor of Highways)

Folder 23:

Vernon, Vermont, Tax Collector Book, Surveyor of Highways, District Number 3, 1869 (Charles E. Davis Surveyor of Highways)

Folder 24:

Vernon, Vermont, Tax Collector Book, Surveyor of Highways, District Number 5, 1870

Folder 25:

[Vernon, Vermont] Grand List of District Number 2, n.d.

Folder 26:

Vernon, Vermont, Surveyor of Highways, Tax Collectors Sheets, 1870 – 1871

Folder 27:

[Vernon, Vermont?], Tax Collector Book, n.d.

Folder 28:

L. M. Tucker Papers, 1868 – 1919

Folder 29:

Diary, 1892

 Folder 30:

William Brown, Receipt, 1860

 

K. Canary, June 11, 2012



[1] Gazateer and Business Directory of Windham County, Vermont: 1724 – 1884, compiled by Hamilton Child, 1884.

Found on Google Books: http://books.google.com/books?id=wWraIepDq4gC&pg=PA304-IA75&lpg=PA304-IA75&dq=Wilder+H.+Fairman&source=bl&ots=0Dg7K2fJ0C&sig=zz_8gxIbHE-cXNvAAYmHce_Oj10&hl=en#v=onepage&q=Wilder%20H.%20Fairman&f=false

Accessed on August 24, 2011

The Vermont Historical Gazateer: A Local History of All the Town in the State, Civil, educational, Biographical, Religious and Military, v. 5, The Towns of Windham County, 1891

 http://www.rootsweb.ancestry.com/~vtwindha/vhg5/vernon.htm

Accessed on August 24, 2011

 

577 Western Ave, Westfield, MA 01086

https://lib.westfield.ma.edu/home

Contact Us