Skip to main content

Ely Library at Westfield State University

Academic CalendarA-Z Offices & ServicesClass cancellationsBookstoreTechnology supportMy WestfieldEmail - studentsEmail - Faculty & staffPlato - Online learningEmloyee self-serviceReserve spaceLibrary homeWestfield State University home pageImage Map

Collection Guides: Horace G. Marchant, III Collection, 1981 - 1982

Horace G. Marchant, III Collection, 1981 - 1982

Westfield State University Archives

 Finding Aid

Horace G. Marchant, III Collection, 1981 – 1982

 Biographical Sketch

Dr. Horace G. Marchant, III was born on July 29, 1948 in Evanston, Illinois. He attended Evanston schools and graduated from Evanston High School. He attained a BA in 1970 from Lawrence University in Appleton, WI and earned his Ph.D. in 1975 from the University of Massachusetts. He joined the faculty in the Psychology Department at Westfield State College in 1978 and taught until his retirement in 2002. An award was established in his name as well as colleague Dr. Suzanne Davis, who retired from the Psychology Department at the same time. The Davis and Marchant award was established in 2002 and is awarded to students in a nonclinical aspect of psychology.[1] Dr. Merchant lived in Belchertown, MA as well as Monson, MA.

Dr. Marchant began collecting information about William S. Monroe when he started his teaching career at the college. He became interested in William S. Monroe when he learned that Monroe taught Psychology at the Westfield Normal School from 1897 – 1908. Monroe left the Westfield Normal School to teach at the New Jersey Normal School. Will Monroe retired in 1925 and bought a farm in Waterbury, VT and called it Couching Lion Farm. He bread dogs called Great Pyrenees at his farm. Marchant was also interested in breeding dogs.

Marchant traveled to Vermont to collect information about Monroe and traveled to interview Mrs. Mary Crane of Lowell, Maine. He also visited the Green Mountain Club in Vermont, the Vermont Historical Society and the Burlington Free Press. Mr. Harry Peet, Jr., Executive Director of the Green Mountain Club helped Dr. Merchant with his research about William S. Monroe.[2] Dr. Marchant donated the collection to the archives in the early 1990’s.

 Dr. Horace G. Marchant, III died on October 6, 2012.

 Papers in archives by Dr. Horace G. Marchant, III:

 The Development of the Discipline of Psychology at Westfield Normal, 1839 – 1908: A Case Study. 1981

 Will Monroe and the Westfield Normal School; 1897 – 1908. Presidential Lecture Series, 1982. Slides that were shown with this paper are available.

 Scope and Contents:

 This collection consists of approximately 13 file folders and contains articles and books by William S. Monroe, correspondence, photographs, obituaries and newspaper clippings. Most of this material was photocopied from collections held at the Vermont Historical Society, the Green Mountain Club and the Burlington (VT) Free Press and the personal collection and interviews of Mrs. Mary Crane of Lowell, Maine.

 Access Restrictions:

 The materials in this collection are open for research and study. However, access to this collection must comply with the copyright law of the United States (Title 17, U.S. code). Photocopying of this material is governed under this law and one of the specified conditions is that the photocopy or reproduction is not to be “used for any purpose other than private study, scholarship or research.” Westfield State University reserves the right to reject a copying order, if, in its judgment, fulfillment of the order would involve a violation of copyright law.

 Related Material in the University Archives:

 There are several photographs of William S. Monroe standing with other faculty of the Westfield Normal School. We have a head shot of William S. Monroe. Monroe also appears in several class photographs.

 A book titled Chorea Among Public School Children by Will S. Monroe is also in the University Archives.

 Related Collections:

 The Will S. Monroe Collection on Walt Whitman, 1928 – 1930 is held by the Stanford University, Manuscripts Division, Special Collections M0117.

 The Will S. Monroe Collection is held by the Fals Library, New York University and consists of approximately 13,500 documents related to Henry Barnard. Henry Barnard was the first commissioners of education in the United States. These materials were sold by William S. Monroe to the library in 1925.

 

K. Canary

October 31, 2012



[1] Sunday Republican, July 14, 2002, p. A18, found in Westfield State College News Update, June 1, 2002 – August 31, 2002, Faculty and Staff section.

[2] Marchant, Horace G. III.  Will Monroe and the Westfield Normal School: 1897 – 1908. Presidential Lecture Series. 1982. p. [14]

577 Western Ave, Westfield, MA 01086

https://lib.westfield.ma.edu/home

Contact Us