Skip to main content

Ely Library at Westfield State University

Academic CalendarA-Z Offices & ServicesClass cancellationsBookstoreTechnology supportMy WestfieldEmail - studentsEmail - Faculty & staffPlato - Online learningEmloyee self-serviceReserve spaceLibrary homeWestfield State University home pageImage Map

Collection Guides: Alexander B. Mapp Collection, 1945 - 1948

Alexander B. Mapp Collection, 1945 - 1948

Westfield State College Archives

Finding Aid

 Alexander B. Mapp Collection, 1977

 

Biographical Sketch

Alexander Benton Mapp was an important cultural leader in Springfield, Massachusetts. He was a lifelong champion of minority rights and a former executive director of the Springfield Urban League. He received, posthumously, the Ubora Award for Excellence given annually by the African Hall Steering Committee of the Springfield Science Museum. The award's name means "excellence" in Swahili and is given to blacks who have demonstrated excellence in the arts, science, humanities, or education.

He was born in 1912 in Cambridge, Massachusetts. He graduated from Boston University in 1939. He came to Springfield after being recruited by William DeBerry 1946. He was asked to lead the Springfield Urban League. He held this position unitl 1969. He was asked to serve as cultural officer for the U.S. Information Service in Pakistan in the 1950’s. In the 1960’s he worked for the Army, serving as chief compliance officer for the U.S. Defense Supply Agency and later with Fortune 500 companies helping them to comply with affirmative action plans. After Mr. Mapp’s retirement he served in several capacities at American International College, including the organization of a federal job fair. The Alexander B. Mapp Community Center was named after Mr. Mapp in 1989. The building was located at 756 State Street in Springfield, Massachusetts. The building was razed in 2004. Alexander Benton Mapp died in 1987 at the age of 74.

An award was established in his name after his death in 1987. The Alexander B. Mapp award recognizes those who strive to promote diversity awareness within the Springfield Postal District, which covers Western Massachusetts and Vermont.

This collection highlights the begining of the Cold War Period by sheding light on Communist Front Organizations. The World Federation of Democratic Youth Conference took place shortly after World War II when the United Nations had been founded and the Soviets were founding and strengthining an international chain of youth organizations. Alexander B. Mapp attended the conference as part of the United States delegation and served as the chairman of the commission on international travel.*

*Source: Springfield Republican, various dates

Provenance

Alexander B. Mapp Collection was donated by Mr. Mapp to the Westfield State College Archives in 1977.

Description

The material contained in this collection includes photographs, newspapers from the World Youth Conference, correspondence, ephemera, and Mr. Mapp’s notes concerning governance at the World Youth Conference. The bulk of the material in this collection is in four boxes.

In correspondence b Kenneth Cotton (Librarian) and Robert T. Brown (Historian) the material was described as “material on the London International Youth Conference of 1945”.

Alexander Mapp Collection Contents:

  1. 3 sections of final report (Mimeo)
  2. Envelope containing various press releases and publications of the World Federation of Democratic Youth and various national chapters 1946-1947
  3. Large Bulgarian production (mimeo and numerous photographs on Anti-Facist resistance 1945)
  4. Folder containing numerous press releases from National delegations issued at the conference (mimeo)
  5. File containing various papers relating to the U.S. delegation and press releases from a member of other delegations
  6. Collection of identified photographs of Yugoslavian Resistance
  7. Russian presentation packet of photographs (identified) of war and resistance heroes
  8. 14 issues (1445-47) Spanish Language Magazine C.T.C. (Cuban Workers)
  9. 11 issues (1946-47) multi-lingual Czech. Publication on youth
  10. Manila envelope containing handwritten notes on conference planning
  11. 100+ pamphlets, newspapers, magazines from various countries and you organizations 1945-47
  12. Maps, posters and statements (small group) of various youth conferences

Note: This information about the collection is from correspondence to Kenneth Cotton from Robert T. Brown, 1977.

 Access Restrictions

 None

 Related

Archives III, R. Brown (Archives Correspondence), notes in this folder about the Alexander B. Mapp Collection.

Material from the Jeanne Julian, March 29, 2006, correspondence between Kenneth Cotton, Library Director and Alexander B. Mapp. There are also notes about the Alexander B. Mapp collection in this folder.

 One folder about Alexander B. Mapp that contains newspaper articles about Alexander Mapp from Springfield Republican, various dates.

 Subject areas

 World Youth Conference, London, 1945; Cultural Leadership in Springfield, Massachusetts; Civic Organizations in Springfield, Massachusetts; Condition of youth in the period just after World War II; African Americans in Springfield, Massachusetts.

 

 k. canary

September 2013

 

577 Western Ave, Westfield, MA 01086

https://lib.westfield.ma.edu/home

Contact Us