Skip to main content

Ely Library at Westfield State University

Academic CalendarA-Z Offices & ServicesClass cancellationsBookstoreTechnology supportMy WestfieldEmail - studentsEmail - Faculty & staffPlato - Online learningEmloyee self-serviceReserve spaceLibrary homeWestfield State University home pageImage Map

Collection Guides: Jeanne M. Julian Collection, 1982 - 2009

Jeanne M. Julian Collection, 1982 - 2009

Westfield State University Archives

Jeanne M. Julian Collection, 1982 - 2009

 

Biographical Sketch

Jeanne McCoy Julian (1954 -) was an administrator at Westfield State College (Westfield State University) from 1982 through 2009. During her tenure at Westfield she wrote and edited a broad spectrum of college policies, reports, news releases, correspondence, grant proposals, and publications, including the college’s magazine, Focus. She began her career in media relations and publications, became director of marketing, and then worked as Assistant to the President for Communications for presidents Vicky Carwein and Evan S. Dobelle. In her last year at Westfield, she established and directed the office of Faculty Grants and Sponsored Programs. She was also a contributor to The Naugatuck River Review (poetry) and The Historical Journal of Massachusetts (book review), both managed by members of the faculty at Westfield.

A member of the executive board of Massachusetts Women in Public Higher Education (MWPHE), Julian served as its president (2007-2009) and donated a collection of MWPHE-related documents to the organization’s records already on file in the Special Collections & University Archives of the W.E.B. Du Bois Library at the University of Massachusetts, Amherst.

Julian grew up in Bexley, Ohio, near Columbus. She earned a B.A. in English from Allegheny College in 1976 and an M.F.A. in English (fiction-writing) from the University of Massachusetts, Amherst, in 1979. She was an editorial assistant for Merriam-Webster Inc. (1980-1982), conducting research for the Ninth Collegiate Dictionary.

She retired from Westfield State College and moved to New Bern, North Carolina, in December of 2009.

Description

This collection is housed in 18 archival document boxes. The collection contains presidential speeches, photographs, and correspondence, and biographical information about President Irving H. Buchen, Interim President Randolph W. Bromery, President Ronald L. Applbaum, President Frederick W. Woodward, and President Vicky L. Carwein. Also included in this collection are press releases, newspaper clippings, material from graduation-related events and activities, material from many campus events held during Ms. Julian’s employ.

Arrangement

This collection is loosely arranged. Most materials were arranged the way they came into the archives.

Access Restrictions

The materials in this collection are open for research and study. However, access to this collection must comply with the copyright law of the United States (Title 17, U.S. code). Photocopying of this material is governed under this law and one of the specified conditions is that the photocopy or reproduction is not to be “used for any purpose other than private study, scholarship or research.” Westfield State University reserves the right to reject a copying order, if, in its judgment, fulfillment of the order would involve a violation of copyright law.

Subject Headings

Julian, Jeanne McCoy, 1954 – ; Women – Education (Higher) ;

Women in higher education ; Education – United States

 

k. canary

September 2013

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

577 Western Ave, Westfield, MA 01086

https://lib.westfield.ma.edu/home

Contact Us