Skip to main content

Ely Library at Westfield State University

Academic CalendarA-Z Offices & ServicesClass cancellationsBookstoreTechnology supportMy WestfieldEmail - studentsEmail - Faculty & staffPlato - Online learningEmloyee self-serviceReserve spaceLibrary homeWestfield State University home pageImage Map

Collection Guides: Hampden County Civil Court Records, 1868 - 1913

Hampden County Civil Court Records, 1868 - 1913

Westfield State University Archives

Finding Aid for

Hampden County Civil Court Records, 1868 – 1913

 

 Historical Sketch

Dr. Robert T. Brown proposed a records preservation project to local communities, historical societies and organizations with records collections of historical interest in the early 1970’s. He wanted to index and describe any relevant record collections, then bring the microfilm camera to the organization to microfilm the collection. He then made a copy of records of particular interest and placed the copy in the college archives. He charged the group for the film only (one roll of film holds 2500 images) for a cost of $8.00. The microfilming project was called the Public Records Preservation Project.

 In 1974 The Springfield District Court turned over the civil writs for the period 1850-1950 to Dr. Brown. There were 75 boxes of records that were transferred to the college. It took two men and three Friday afternoons to transfer all of the materials to the college. These records were microfilmed and added to the college collections.

Provenance

Jeanne Julian, Assistant to the President, donated a box of material in 2006. These three microfilm rolls were found in this collection and added to the archival collections in the summer of 2006.

Description

Hampden County Civil Court Records: Roll number 1: September 30, 1868 – July 16, 1869; Roll number 2: April 21, 1917; Roll number 3: November 16, 1912 – March 15, 1913:

Arrangement:

Microfilm Roll number 1:

            September 30, 1868 - July 16, 1869. 2781-4963

            July 16, 1869 - July 18, 1870, 5000-5469

            August 1, 1870 - September 26, 1870, 5501-5600

            September 19, 1870 - December 10, 1870, 5601-5700

            November 19, 1870 - February 8, 1871, 5701-5800

Microfilm Roll number 2:

            April 21, 1917, no. 8652

 Microfilm Roll number 3:

            November 16, 1912 - March 15, 1913, no. 2069-2534.

            note: Hampden County Civil Court Records.

Access Restrictions

None

K. Canary, July 2012

 

577 Western Ave, Westfield, MA 01086

https://lib.westfield.ma.edu/home

Contact Us