A multidisciplinary, full-text database that brings together relevant content from 150 mainstream periodicals, plus 2,000 sources for "gray" literature, and the alternative press with a focus on the critical issues and events that influence women's lives in more than 190 countries. CWI provides extensive international coverage of women's issues with English-language titles from East and West Africa, Asia, and South and Central America, the Caribbean, North America and Europe.
Provides the full text of books, images, documents, scholarly essays, commentaries, and bibliographies, documenting the multiplicity of women's reform activities. The Scholar's Edition includes 74 document projects with 2,200 documents, 29,000 pages of additional full-text documents, and 1,600 primary authors. It includes as well book, film and website reviews, notes from the archives, and teaching tools. Covers 1600-2000. The Scholar's Edition adds an important new resource: The Women's Commission Reports collection is an archive of the publications and documents of local, state, and federal Commissions on the Status of Women from 1963 to the present. The full text of 590 reports and publications issued by commissions in more than thirty states are available currently. When complete this collection will contain 75,000 pages of publications from commissions in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, Puerto Rico, Guam, and the Virgin Islands. The publications include reports, pamphlets, posters, and ephemeral materials.
The purpose of the Digital Transgender Archive (DTA) is to increase the accessibility of transgender history by providing an online hub for digitized historical materials, born-digital materials, and information on archival holdings throughout the world. Based in Worcester, Massachusetts at the College of the Holy Cross, the DTA is an international collaboration among more than twenty colleges, universities, nonprofit organizations, and private collections.
Abstracts and indexes the international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. The database provides abstracts of journal articles and citations to book reviews drawn from over 1,700 serials publications, and also provides abstracts of books, book chapters, dissertations, and conference papers. Records added after 1974 contain in-depth and nonevaluative abstracts of journal articles. Many records from key journals in sociology, published since 2001, also include the references cited in the bibliography of the source article. Each individual reference may also have links to an abstract and/or to other papers that cite that reference; these links increase the possibility of finding more potentially relevant articles. Search Guide
ProQuest Sociology provides access to the full-text of more than 310 journals in sociology and social work. This collection provides full-text coverage of many core titles included in Sociological Abstracts and Social Services Abstracts. The coverage of the international literature of sociology and social work includes culture and social structure, history and theory of sociology, social psychology, substance abuse and addiction, and many more topics. Search Guide | Video Tutorial
Provides access to a variety of social science journals. The database includes over 510 titles, with more than 280 available in full text. Coverage extends back to the early 1990s. Search Guide | Video Tutorial
A Web-based digital video delivery service that provides more than 10,000 streaming videos and more than 100,000 video clips anytime, anywhere. The videos provide than 4,800 hours of high-quality educational content in dozens of subject areas. Special features allow users to organize and bookmark clips, create and share playlists, and personalize folders. A tutorial, including step-by-step instructions on how to Create Playlists, is here.
Provides a complete overview of U.S. history with comprehensive coverage of the most-studied events, issues and current information. Coverage includes content that is 50% or more from primary source documents, including monographs, pamphlets, first-person accounts, etc. Additional content includes documents from Primary Source Microfilm's digital archives; encyclopedic articles from Macmillan Reference USA and Charles Scribner's Sons references; Gale Group proprietary content such as country and era overview information; 119 full-text periodicals and journals; a historical bibliography; and links to digitized special collections. Search Guide | Video Tutorial
These databases cover periodicals and other sources from a wide variety of disciplines.
The world's largest scholarly, multi-discipline, full text database designed specifically for academic institutions. With a collection of 4,000 peer-reviewed, scholarly full text journals, this database offers critical information from many sources found in no other database. The database includes full-page images as well as color embedded images. Scholarly, full text resources are provided for nearly all academic areas of study: social sciences, humanities, education, computer sciences, engineering, language and linguistics, arts literature, medical sciences, and ethnic studies. Search Guide|Video Tutorial
A full-text collection in PDF format of retrospective issues from 162 scholarly journals of prime importance in their fields. Subject coverage includes African-American Studies, Anthropology, Asian Studies,Ecology and Botany, Economics, Education, Finance, General Science, History, Literature, Mathematics, Philosophy, Political Science, Population/ Demography, Sociology, and Statistics. Dates of coverage: Varies depending on journal title; most have a moving wall that excludes the most recent 2-5 years of coverage. Includes Early Journal Content published prior to 1923 in the United States and prior to 1870 elsewhere - nearly 500,000 articles from 218 journals.
The largest aggregated full-text database with more than 8,400 full-text titles among the 11,500 titles covered. Over 160 subject areas are covered extensively including business and economics, health and medical, news and world affairs, technology, social sciences, sciences, etc. Search Guide | Video Tutorial
Contains more than 3,000 full text journals, including peer-reviewed journals and reference sources with extensive coverage of the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature and other subjects. Includes full-text coverage of the New York Times back to 1995. Search Guide
Provides quick and easy access to modern and historical census data and demographic information. This resource brings together a vast and growing amount of quantitative data with an intuitive visual interface and report-generation tools that make demographic research, the analysis of social trends, and comparison of neighborhoods, communities, counties, and other areas accessible and interactive. Getting Started