Reference materials generally include dictionaries, encyclopedias, directories or other specialized handbooks. The format may vary; some may be available in print, or some may be available online as eBooks or entries in databases. No matter the format, reference materials provide a quick, yet informative, overview of your subject. They are great to consult when beginning your research. Use them to learn more about people, topics, terminology, and more. Identify keywords that you can use in online searching.
A digital reference library that provides information from more than 600 high-quality reference books. Some reference books relevant to ethnic and gender studies include:
A digital reference library that provides information from more than 600 high-quality reference books from the world's leading publishers. Offering access to over 1.7 million individual entries, xreferplus contains all the types of reference books that you'd want to see in any quality library: dictionaries, encyclopedias, thesauri, and books of quotations, plus numerous subject-specific titles covering everything from the arts to accountancy and law to literature. Search Tutorial | Title List
Provides searchable full text of 200 Reference works in 11 subject areas including multicultural studies and social science. Some reference books relevant to ethnic and gender studies include:
Formerly Gale Virtual Reference Library. Provides searchable full text of 178 Reference works in 11 subject areas: Arts, Biography, Business, Environment, History, Literature, Medicine, Multicultural Studies, Nation and World, Science, and Social Science. Video Tutorials | Title List
This link opens in a new window