Skip to main content

Ely Library at Westfield State University

Academic CalendarA-Z Offices & ServicesClass cancellationsBookstoreTechnology supportMy WestfieldEmail - studentsEmail - Faculty & staffPlato - Online learningEmloyee self-serviceReserve spaceLibrary homeWestfield State University home pageImage Map

Westfield State University Archives: Resources

Resourses and Links to assist you with your research.

Resources

American Memory

Library of Congress

http://memory.loc.gov/ammem/index.html

 

This site provides access to many different types of materials related to the American experience.

 

Using Archives: A Guide to Effective Research by Laura Schmidt

Society of American Archivists

 http://www2.archivists.org/usingarchives

 

This is an excellent guide that provides a good overall understanding of archival practices. This guide is available to read online or you may download a PDF version of the guide using the link on the right of the screen.

 

Smithsonian Institution

Researchers Page

http://www.si.edu/Researchers

 

This is the page for researchers at the Smithsonian. There is a link to their online databases and collections in the box on the lower part of the page. The link is the first one in this box. Here, you will find links to virtual collections and tools to search the online collections. You will need to choose the collection from the list on the left. The list is arranged by topic.

 

The State Library of Massachusetts

Acts and Resolves

http://archives.lib.state.ma.us/handle/123456789/2

 

Find the Massachusetts Acts and Resolves from 1629 – 2009 here.

 

American Antiquarian Society

185 Salisbury Street

Worcester, MA  01609

phone: 508-755-5221

 

http://www.americanantiquarian.org/

 

 

 

577 Western Ave, Westfield, MA 01086

https://lib.westfield.ma.edu/home

Contact Us