Provides detailed job descriptions and growth potential for numerous careers and occupations
Researching professional and trade organizations
Trade associations are comprised of companies that have organized to promote and advocate their industry or product. Professional organizations are composed of individuals and groups that focus on professional development, advocacy, and outreach.
Many of online association and organization directories are outdated, with many broken links. A quick and more up-to-date way to locate associations is to search "trade association" or "professional organization" plus the field, or even particular position, you are interested in.
Note: Many college and university libraries have created lists of associations related to particular careers. These lists tend to be more up-to-date than the comprehensive directories referenced above. Look for "lib" and ".edu" in the url of the link, if the title of the page does not tell you it is a library guide.
You can narrow down your search to just trade journals and magazines, or use subject headings listed within an article to find the correct name for your industry. The advanced search screen also allows you to narrow your search to industry reports.
Provides full text for 3,298 business periodicals including scholarly journals covering management, economics, finance, accounting, international business and much more. Periodical coverage ranges from Business Week, Forbes, Fortune, and American Banker to journals such as Harvard Business Review, Journal of Management,and Academy of Management Review. Full text coverage begins in 1965 for many journals and includes PDF images and embedded images for many of these journals. In addition, the database provides company information for over 200,000 companies from such sources as Dun Bradstreet, Thomas Register and Disclosure. Search Guide| Video Tutorial
Use the "Get Company Info" box on the lower right hand side of the search screen to search for information on your company. Once on this portion of the site, you can click the "industry" tab to search for reports on the entire industry.