A digital reference library that provides information from more than 600 high-quality reference books from the world's leading publishers. Offering access to over 1.7 million individual entries, xreferplus contains all the types of reference books that you'd want to see in any quality library: dictionaries, encyclopedias, thesauri, and books of quotations, plus numerous subject-specific titles covering everything from the arts to accountancy and law to literature. Search Tutorial | Title List
A comprehensive database of streaming audio, video, reference, and scores on the web. Music Online allows users cross search multiple music databases published by Alexander Street Press. Music Online brings together on a single cross-searchable platform.
Contains 50,000 pages that offers the first comprehensive coverage of blues, jazz, spirituals, civil rights songs, slave songs, minstrelsy, rhythm and blues, gospel, and other forms of black American musical expression. This release includes 3,171 essays and images from 80 sources.
Integrates more than 30,000 pages of essential reference materials, spanning the entire history of Western classical music, in a unified online database. Included are the authoritative reference titles Baker's Dictionary of Music, Baker's Biographical Dictionary of Musicians, Baker's Student Encyclopedia of Music, and Women Composers which are available for the first time in electronic form. This release includes 26,774 essays and images from 22 sources.
Contains 209,140 pages of the most important classical scores and manuscripts, allowing for the study and analysis of more than 15,000 scores. This release includes 11,987 scores.
A comprehensive online resource devoted to music research of all the world's peoples. More than 9,000 pages of material, combined with entries by more than 700 expert contributors from all over the world, make this the most complete body of work focused on world music. This release includes 1,210 essays and images from 10 sources and hundreds of audio examples.
Reference Titles for Music
The following are just a few of the reference titles available through Ely Library. Use the Ely Library Quicksearch to search for titles in print or online.
The print Reference Collection is located next to Reference Desk on the main level of Ely Library. These books are available for your use in the library. Try browsing the M call number area or ask a librarian for assistance.
"...the information you need about 5,500 figures in the world of music - the major, the minor, the famous, the nearly forgotten, from Bach and Beethoven to Irving Berlin, Benny Goodman, and Bruce Springsteen - capsule summaries of the lives and careers behind the music enjoyed in every era."
"...Includes entries on all the styles and forms in Western music; comprehensive articles on the music of Africa, Asia, Latin America, and the Near East; descriptions of instruments with historical background; and articles that reflect today's beat, including popular music, jazz, and rock..."
"Baker's Dictionary of Music" is an A to Z listing of musicians, famous compositions, musical terms and instruments. "Baker's Dictionary of Music" covers everything from Bach to rock music. Illustrated with more than 125 photographs and drawings, including in-depth essays on musical topics and an introduction to musical terminology makes this "Dictionary" essential for all music libraries.
his multi-volume set covers all aspects of international hip hop as expressed through music, art, fashion, dance, and political activity. Most of the entries focus on music styles and notable musicians and are unique in that they discuss the sound of various hip hop styles and musical artists' lyrical content, vocal delivery, vocal ranges, and more.
Latin American Classical Composers: A Biographical Dictionary provides a singular English-language resource for biographical information on hundreds of composers from Central and South America and the Hispanic Caribbean.
Throughout history, African-American musicians and singers have made a profound impact in music, they have given sound and voice through a wide variety of musical genres. Universally they have shared emotions and experiences of faith, passion, joy, comfort and injustice through songs that speaks directly to the heart and spirit. Many of these artist have the power to influence, inspire, and affect social change through their musical talent. Over the past two centuries these experiences have become part of a cultural identity. The incredible musicians mentioned in this book are responsible for creating some of the most iconic songs ever recorded in the history of music.
This link opens in a new window
The Harvard Biographical Dictionary of Music by 
The Harvard Dictionary of Music by 
The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians by 
Baker's Dictionary of Music by 
Hip Hop Around the World: an Encyclopedia [2 Volumes] by 
An Encyclopedia of South Carolina Jazz and Blues Musicians by 
Latin American Classical Composers by 
African-American Musicians That Changed Music Forever by